Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louder Than Bombs
As an ardent follwer of both The Smiths and The The I originally bought this on it's release date and it has graced my CD player for nigh on seventeen years now. I felt compelled to buy the remastered version and am very happy that I did. Mind Bomb always was a strange beast - two very different musicians, with different tried and tested methods of producing songs,...
Published on 7 Feb 2006 by Jimbo

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok
Not a bad album, but not one of the best compilation of songs/tunes from THE THE's repertoire as far as I believe
Published 15 months ago by K Szymanski-Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louder Than Bombs, 7 Feb 2006
By 
Jimbo "Jimbo L" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mind Bomb (Audio CD)
As an ardent follwer of both The Smiths and The The I originally bought this on it's release date and it has graced my CD player for nigh on seventeen years now. I felt compelled to buy the remastered version and am very happy that I did. Mind Bomb always was a strange beast - two very different musicians, with different tried and tested methods of producing songs, trying to complement each other but it works incredibly well. From the opening strains of the magnificent (faux Sweet tribute song) Good Morning Beautiful, the wonderful Armageddon Days Are Here (Again), the jaw dropping Violence Of Truth, the lovely duet with Sinead O'Connor on Kingdom Of Rain, the single The Beat(en) Generation, the excellent ballad August And September and then The Violence Of Truth with Matt screaming out the lyrics through to the final track, the dark yet strangely beautiful Beyond Love. A marvelous mixture of styles are present here and this is an album that will hopefully do what it says on the tin - enter your head and then blow you away. Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning - still in love after almost 20 years, 25 Jan 2008
This review is from: Mind Bomb (Audio CD)
This is the first and probably only review I'll ever write but after being given so much pleasure from this album I must pay it something back. When I first got it it was on my record player non-stop for a month, but the scary thing is I've realized is it's coming up for 19 years since its release (and my fervent purchase!). I'm am a fan but this album is one of the best ever made, all killer, no filler, if it gives you a tiny fraction of the pleasure it's given me it'll be money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best The The album, 9 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mind Bomb (Audio CD)
Mind Bomb, that's exactly what it is, this album is utterly overwhelming. It is hugely ambitious and basically carries it off, with Johnson mixing his big external themes of politics and religion (Good Morning Beautiful, Armageddon Days are Here, The Violence of Truth and The Beaten Generation) with personal pain and emotion (Kingdom of Rain, Beyond Love, Gravitate to Me, August and September).
With Marr and Palmer in the band, this was arguably the best line-up so far in The The's 10 year career to date. A wealth of instruments and cameos were used (clarinets, harmonicas and even Sinead O'Connor on Kingdom of Rain) to produce what is simply a vast album of stunning atmosphere, setting and mood, thereby creating a deeply personal relationship with the listener on repeated playings. Critics argue that it is overproduced and yes, the sound is tight and almost clinical, but the effects go beautifully with the instrumentation. From the fierce ballroom psychosis of Armageddon Days Are Here to the quiet guitar-strum duet of Kingdom of Rain and the mindblowing angry crescendo of August and September, Johnson's lyrics are thoughtful, original and always provocative. Here is a man with the soul and feel of Marvin Gaye but using the medium of the quintissential British cult band.
Probably one of the most original and important pop/rock works of the late 1980s. Buy it and never turn back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Johnson's finest work, 9 Oct 2009
By 
S. Hunt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mind Bomb (Audio CD)
To combine a political message with music that is catchy, memorable and beautifully crafted is a rare enough achievement.

But for both the message and the music to stand the test of 20 years, and still be fresh and (more?) relevant today, is surely a work of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless masterpiece, 15 July 2009
By 
Bill (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mind Bomb (Audio CD)
It's a sad indictment of the state of the world that this album is if anything more politically relevant today than when it was released 20 years ago. One of my favourite CDs, it's never away from the deck for long, and I'm still amazed at how good it sounds, musically and lyrically.

As well as raging against religious fundamentalism, superpower foreign policy and political misinformation, Matt Johnson also writes beautiful, aching, uncomfortable love songs which really get under the skin, literally, of human relationships.

'Mind Bomb' is the undoubted peak of The The's sporadic career; never again did Johnson and Co succeed in pulling off such a perfect fusion of artistic ambition and musicianship, fulfilling the promise of 'Infected'. The more accessible, but ultimately lightweight, 'Dusk' was to follow, succeeded by the interesting failures of 'Hanky Panky' and 'NakedSelf'.

Simply one of greatest albums of the last 30 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Brilliance, 2 Feb 2007
By 
H. A. Davis (Huddersfield, Oooop North) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mind Bomb (Audio CD)
I've had this in my collection for nigh on 18 years, and I've never tired of it. It conveys some serious messages, without being preachy, and cleverly couples this with sublime tunes, that bear repeated listening. I love the album prior to this, Infected, but have to be in the right mood for it, and that's the genius of this album, it's very accessible, with no compromise in Johnson's words. Like another reviewer, I am both a fan of The Smiths and The The, so this was like a wet dream, especially after Mozza's post Smiths output. Marr's guitar playing is the work of the genius he is, and this coupled Johnson's lyrics & songcraft, the playing of the other musicians and production, which fits the music perfectly, make this a must have. In summary, BUY THIS ALBUM, even you already own it(I own three copies), as the remaster is worthwhile update, in fact it sounds almost as good as the vinyl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Bomb, 19 Sep 2009
By 
D. Brown (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mind Bomb (Audio CD)
Having had this on Vinyl since its release its been one of my favourite albums. Having just bought it on CD and played it on my Linn digital streamer (streamers out perform CD players as does vinyl, their the way to go) it has come alive.
The The are one of the best bands of their time the music is tight, the lyrics fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louder Than Bombs, 9 Mar 2007
By 
Jimbo "Jimbo L" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mind Bomb (Audio CD)
As an ardent follower of both The Smiths and The The I originally bought this on it's release date and it has graced my CD player for nigh on seventeen years now. I felt compelled to buy the remastered version and am very happy that I did. Mind Bomb always was a strange beast - two very different musicians, with different tried and tested methods of producing songs, trying to complement each other but it works incredibly well. From the opening strains of the magnificent (faux Sweet tribute song) Good Morning Beautiful, the wonderful Armageddon Days Are Here (Again), the jaw dropping Violence Of Truth, the lovely duet with Sinead O'Connor on Kingdom Of Rain, the single The Beat(en) Generation, the excellent ballad August And September and then The Violence Of Truth with Matt screaming out the lyrics through to the final track, the dark yet strangely beautiful Beyond Love. A marvelous mixture of styles are present here and this is an album that will hopefully do what it says on the tin - enter your head and then blow you away. Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one amazing album, 21 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mind Bomb (Audio CD)
Matt Johnson always releases quality music and he I guess is his own harshest critic. You can tell he has thought about every nuance musically and lyrically. His words are just so right, they slot into place with the music whilst the intent and meaning behind them draw out such subconsciously hidden truths it can take your breath away. You need many listens to this album to begin to get a feel for the whole thing. I say this because something strikes you and you end up ruminating on it while the album plays on.
Musically there is so much to enjoy, there are many really complex and lush tracks ,'August and September' is a good example. Something I really appreciate in this album is that it is unashamedly political and looks at things on a global scale. Generally this is seen as unfashionable and critics get their backs up about it. Well what can you do if you have a brain and some integrity. However, there are also superb songs which deal with things at a very internal and personal level.
Listen to this one with the volume up and the lights off. If you like intelligent, passionate music of any genre be it hip hop, indie, jazz or folk give this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars class, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mind Bomb (Audio CD)
Well I first heard this album in the early 90s and loved it then lost my copy then purchased this this year.Timeless classic album get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xfef7018)

This product

Mind Bomb
Mind Bomb by The The (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews