Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's A High Wind Blowing
Infected is a musical masterpiece, and a joy to listen to many years after its original release date. For those of you unfamiliar with Mr Matt Johnson et. al. this is the album that you should buy first. From the opening of 'Infected' you are taken on a journey of discovery until all the tracks are your long lost friends, ingratiating themselves with ease and sticking in...
Published on 1 Mar 2004 by Jimbo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Matt Johnson's eighties meisterwerk!
Very eighties. Lots of synthetic drums and keyboards but some clever lyrics. Stand out track is "Heartland".
Delivered at break neck speed, use of the lyric sheet recommended.
Published 17 months ago by Phil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's A High Wind Blowing, 1 Mar 2004
By 
Jimbo "Jimbo L" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Infected (Audio CD)
Infected is a musical masterpiece, and a joy to listen to many years after its original release date. For those of you unfamiliar with Mr Matt Johnson et. al. this is the album that you should buy first. From the opening of 'Infected' you are taken on a journey of discovery until all the tracks are your long lost friends, ingratiating themselves with ease and sticking in your mind (and your heart).
Everything is covered - politics ('Heartland' ,'Sweet Bird Of Truth'), sex ('Out Of The Blue (Into The Fire)'), religion ('The Mercy Beat' - this song is arguably the finest of a very fine collection indeed).
Not a filler track in sight here. To quote Matt Johnson (albeit from a different album insert!):
"To obtain maximum pleasure & effect from this album please play VERY LOUD!, VERY LATE, VERY ALONE.....& with the lights turned VERY LOW!!!
Pure unadulterated genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Infected (Audio CD)
Each song is immensely strong but if Infected, Heartland and Twilight of a Champion don't immediately get under your skin, well, you're just not human. It's almost 20 years since I first heard this album, and snatches of the lyrics still pop into my head at odd moments.
The track list for this version doesn't list the extra 12 inch mixes that I have on my CD, but even if this only includes the nine original songs, you're still getting great value. This album will become part of the furniture in your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Else Mattered, 24 May 2009
By 
Olly Hibble (Cambridgehsire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Infected (Audio CD)
Infected" She was lying on her back with her legs parted sqrealing like a stuck pig, I was going through the motions rolling out emotions writhing around like a lizard on a stick" (apologies M Johnson if misinterpretation!). This album became the soundtrack to 1986, replacing the banal dronings of hair metal and clipped and equipped funksters! This album is in fact the only thing that mattered way back when we were 16, Matt taught us adoilescent angst and whe our parents and teachers said "no" Matt said "YES YES YES", as a musician one could rattle on for hours about Johnsons vocals etc etc but that just would be missing the point, this album is genre creating as well as it is destructive to the genre at the time, Matt told us to question, question and question, The The were more punk than the sex pistols and the clash........... "Here comes another winter of long summers and high hopes"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visually-stunning interpretation of Matt Johnson's work, 18 Jan 2001
This review is from: The The: Infected [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Infected--the single and album sold well in the UK in the mid-80's--but this old VHS is a real triumph in the face of 80's music videos, or, hell, even today's music videos. In fact, make that ESPECIALLY in face of today's.... The video interpretation of "Slow train to dawn" alone is worth it, but Matt's clever (okay, been done before, notably Springsteen's Pink Cadillac album) but subtle repetition of catch-phrases gives the album a thematic point of view not seen since the Pink Floyds et al of the seventies. But the sound is definitively Matt Johnson, extending the solitary despair of Soul Mining and Burning Blue Soul into more of a cumulative culture growl at the moon: "I sold my soul to pay for my dinner, my body grew fatter as my heart grew thinner," "I asked the angels for inspiration but the devil bought us all drinks--he's been buying them ever since," and "if I acted like someone else I'd be more comfortable with myself..." Wow. I at least lived it at the time--and then some. Maybe you are now... an eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GIANT, 26 July 2007
By 
C. N. Sandford "csandford2" (West Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Infected (Audio CD)
Johnson is exorcising all demons on this album beginning with a pounding industrial scale assault on topics such as HIV, AIDS, love and addiction in "Infected" before (in "Out Of The Blue") leading us through rusty gates and squalid corridors to literally end up between the legs of a prostitute (yeah!). "In Sweet Bird Of Truth" malevolent saxophones give vent not just to the anxieties of a pilot aboard a stricken US bomber, but also seem to herald the horrors of the time and that which will follow (Gulf wars, oil, religion, terror and crusades). "Heartland" the most tuneful track of the album, contains an icy melody which nods back to "Uncertain Smile" on Johnson's previous work "Soul Mining" while the devil in the bottle is the subject of a showdown in "The Mercy Beat".

The genius of these songs (along with "Angels Of Deception") is that where they should be depressing (and would be under a lesser hand) they are in fact, each and every one, exhilarating. And, when all of the discussion is out of the way, "Infected" basically comes down to that - it is an album that is exciting to listen to. I too say; turn the lights down and the volume up to experience fully!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic piece of work, 20 May 2008
By 
This review is from: The The: Infected [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I'm not a big fan of the eighties but two things that left an indelable impression on me were Infected by The The and Tin Drum by Japan.

Infected HAS to be initially listened to whilst watching the video. The combination of both is so powerful. A true pioneer of the video album. I wouldn't call it a concept album but there are definitely 'threads' and themes that give it the feel of a complete piece rather than a collection of videos.

This should be on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 5 Feb 2007
By 
Jimbo "Jimbo L" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Infected (Audio CD)
Infected is a musical masterpiece, and a joy to listen to many years after its original release date. For those of you unfamiliar with Mr Matt Johnson et. al. this is the album that you should buy first. From the opening of 'Infected' you are taken on a journey of discovery until all the tracks are your long lost friends, ingratiating themselves with ease and sticking in your mind (and your heart).

Everything is covered - politics ('Heartland' ,'Sweet Bird Of Truth'), sex ('Out Of The Blue (Into The Fire)'), religion ('The Mercy Beat' - this song is arguably the finest of a very fine collection indeed).

Not a filler track in sight here. To quote Matt Johnson (albeit from a different album insert!):

"To obtain maximum pleasure & effect from this album please play VERY LOUD!, VERY LATE, VERY ALONE.....& with the lights turned VERY LOW!!!

Pure unadulterated genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 1 Mar 2004
By 
Jimbo "Jimbo L" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The The: Infected [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Infected, the album, ranks as one of my all time favourites. This film is undoubtedly the greatest ever interpretation of any album, ever. The tracks themselves are sublime, fascinating insights into the mind of a very clever bloke indeed, and with the videos the whole thing just erupts onto your screen, weaving its magic spell and burrowing under your skin like a particularly nasty magical rash. I can promise you you are in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reissue of classic The The album., 2 April 2002
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Infected (Audio CD)
'Infected' was the great follow-up to 'Soul Mining'; originally released in 1986 it found Matt Johnson embracing the world of pop music with his atypical dark lyrics...The best version of 'Infected' is included here- the sound of synths is a cross between 'I've Been Waitin' For Tomorrow' & Foetus's 'Nail' album. This song is a dark ode to dark times- capturing the darkness instilled by AIDS & Cold-War amongst other concerns. Strange that the guitar is as funky as a Scritti Politti record & the song has a trumpet solo!...'Out of the Blue (into the fire)' is one of Johnson's finest songs- a dark poppy ode to the emptiness of sex with a prostitute- the strings at the end are heartbreaking...'Heartland' was the breakthrough single, carrying the same message (but not simplistic sloganeering) as New Model Army's '51st State'. Johnson took a look at Thatcher's Britain & saw what was to come: "the piss stinking shopping centres on the new side of town". This captures the world that Radiohead seem to protest against today- the piano is fantastic here- almost as good as 'Uncertain Smile'...'Angels of Deception' is probably the weakest track here- moving from Ennio Morricone soundtrack to the slightly overproduced...'Sweet Bird of Truth'is the classic song it always was- very sinister- like Cabaret Voltaire's 'Yashar' sung by Tom Waits circa 'Rain Dogs'. It concerns US vs. Islam notions of war- so sounds very relevant today...'Slow Train to Dawn' is a funky as Cameo duet with a then unknown Neneh Cherry (Rip, Rig & Panic weren't on the level of 'Buffalo Stance')- this takes Johnson's usual sexual concerns to an almost conventional place...'Twilight of a Champion' is co-written with Roli Mossimann (Wiseblood, Young Gods, Foetus)- & sounds like a blend of 'Enter the Exterminator' & Spear of Destiny's 'Never Take Me Alive' (apologies...). It's much better than it sounds! & a precursor of 'Good Morning Beautiful' on 'Mind Bomb'...The final track is 'The Mercy Beat'- we move from atmospheric guitar to an industrial beat & pulsing horns. Matt tells us about his Faustian-pact & one of the finest albums of the 80's is concluded (almost). Just after 'Mercy Beat' we get a short-ambient instrumental which is very Eno...The extra tracks on this used to be 12"versions of 'Infected', 'Sweet Bird' & 'Slow Train'. Now, apart from the improved sound, we get the b-side of 'Infected', 'Disturbed'- a mad barrage of percussion reminiscent of Cabaret Voltaire's 'Ghost Talk' or the conclusion of 'Giant'. Pity other b-sides like 'Flesh & Bones', 'Harbour Lights' & 'Born in the new SA' were not included...This album shows that you can write great pop songs with the darkest lyrics & refutes the cliche that the 80's were all vacuous & Spandau-esque.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old friend, 15 Jan 2001
This review is from: Infected (Audio CD)
I keep going back to this album - I've had it in various forms (vinyl, cd) since 1987 and unlike other music I liked then I still like it now. Each song stands out on its own, and it's one of those rare albums where every track is strong. This music would appeal to most people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Infected
Infected by The The (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews