Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless!
I must admit, this is probably my album of the year so far and is rarely out of my CD player. Better than any of the recent crop of new bands, Flaw have a talent and flair for song writing. In fact, they should have sued Sum 41 and pinched the title of their album, 'All Killer No Filler' as it more aptly describes the Flaw album than the lame teen metal nonsense from the...
Published on 20 Jun. 2002 by Astolath

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars an exceptional metal album? this is NOT.
I really don't know what album the previous reviewers were listening to.
"get it if you like your metal non nu-metal"
this album sounds so similar to Disturbed that it fits neatly into the category of generic post-nu-metal (how about THAT for a genre).
if you like your riffs predictable. your lyrics cheesy. your Draimen over-the-top extended vowel singing...
Published on 23 Dec. 2007 by Colm Watkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless!, 20 Jun. 2002
By 
This review is from: THROUGH THE EYES (Audio CD)
I must admit, this is probably my album of the year so far and is rarely out of my CD player. Better than any of the recent crop of new bands, Flaw have a talent and flair for song writing. In fact, they should have sued Sum 41 and pinched the title of their album, 'All Killer No Filler' as it more aptly describes the Flaw album than the lame teen metal nonsense from the Canadian would-be punks. Right from the opener 'Only the Strong', you find yourself nodding in appreciation at how good this album is. Other great tracks include 'What I have to do' and 'Best I am' but the real eye opener for me is the hidden track at the end of the album. It's reprise of the first track, with a basic piano accompaniment that really highlights the talents of vocalist Chris Volz. Sheer Class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Classic, 13 Feb. 2011
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Through The Eyes (Audio CD)
To my ears, it is a real shame that Flaw never broke big in the same way that bands like Disturbed and Linkin Park did. Perhaps there were myriad business and promotional reasons why this album wasn't a world beating success, perhaps the buying public had just become sick of this style of music by the time this record was released.

Artistically at least, this album really feels like a lost classic. The songwriting, production and powerful performances are of a caliber normally reserved for the best any genre has to offer. Sure 'Nu Metal,' became a negative term in many people's eyes but the fact of the matter is that, regardless of anything else, no matter how you choose to name it or how popular it is with the magazines, good music will always be good music.

For me, Through The Eyes by Flaw is just that, good music. An exciting collection of interesting and well written songs that have remained good in my opinion for almost a decade. Nothing on the album feels particularly dated, I don't listen to this for nostalgia or as genre fodder. I still listen to this after all these years because it is just that good.
Songs like 'Best That I Am,' and 'My Letter,' have a large emotional weight that you don't expect from a band on their debut and there are still enough hard sections to make it fun and pleasant; rather than a self flagellating listening experience, wallowing in unnecessary misery.

Singer Chris Volz has a really strong singing voice and doesn't get the credit he deserves, having talents almost unrivaled among his closest contemporaries. It is almost a shame when he has to shout, scream or rap just because his singing voice is so good. A far cry from some other singers who insist on dropping in clean vocals they aren't really proficient enough to carry off.

In terms of musical style I can't really give Flaw a big sell that will convince you to drop everything and check them out. They play that late 90s/early noughties Nu Metal/Alterative Metal with vaugely progressive tendencies that everyone decided they were suddenly to cool to listen to when metalcore thankfully brought back guitar solos and double kicks. I've never understood why people can't just like both, music constantly goes in short periods of reactionary changes and people seem to take a stand on one side or another and subsequently loose out on all the wonderful listening opportunities available to the open minded who try both sides.
Flaw may play a style you don't like, but they play it so well that they deserve a chance at least.

To summarise; this album may not make it into the history books as one of the most important albums that the noughties had to offer, but you'd be hard pressed to believe that for the forty or so minutes you spend listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CD to really get into............., 30 Aug. 2004
By 
Ms. C. B. Mead (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Through The Eyes (Audio CD)
There is not one rubbish track on this album. That fact alone means it deserves 5 stars, as there are 15 of them! There is a good range of styles such as slow, faster, melodic, shouty, deep and moshable rock tunes on this album, right through the to end. 'Only the Strong' was the first track on The Scorpion King's soundtrack. And the album doesn't send me to sleep by the way!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 8 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Through The Eyes (Audio CD)
Exceptional album, great beats, great bass lines, crunchy riffs that you can chew on. The lyrics are cool, occasionally the vocals get slightly boring but this is great to wake the neighbours up at say 3 in the morning(like i did this morning!!). Good tunes, get it if you like your metal non nu-metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best metal i have heard in a long time, 14 Dec. 2001
By 
J. L. Hart "James Hart" (Portland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Through The Eyes (Audio CD)
If you like heavy metal then this album is for u it totally blows you away with the song paypack you start to listen and its all soft and u think this is crap then it cuts in with the line "you sux!!" then the heavy gituar riffs cut in and your like "WHOA" who are these people there god damn amazing. then you go on and listen to "get up again" u just wait for the chorus to cut in its real hardcore. all metal and heavy rock fans will love this buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars an exceptional metal album? this is NOT., 23 Dec. 2007
By 
Colm Watkins (UK / Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Through The Eyes (Audio CD)
I really don't know what album the previous reviewers were listening to.
"get it if you like your metal non nu-metal"
this album sounds so similar to Disturbed that it fits neatly into the category of generic post-nu-metal (how about THAT for a genre).
if you like your riffs predictable. your lyrics cheesy. your Draimen over-the-top extended vowel singing (like Disturbed? love this.)
throw in a few moody angry nu-metal rap screams and some 'crunchy riffs'
and you've got yourself a nu-metal album that might have been big if it was released 5 years ago. another reviewer suggested:
"There is not one rubbish track on this album. That fact alone means it deserves 5 stars, as there are 15 of them!"
oh. ok. lets forget the terribly obvious radio-friendly ballad of "best I am" or the Disturbed rip-off that is "only the strong survive"

to sum up, this band is not original, not unique, and is 6 years too late for their trend music.
I expect a handful of negative responses to this review, and so be it,
if you like this kind of forgetful generic brainless tripe. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THROUGH THE EYES
THROUGH THE EYES by Flaw (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews