Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars54
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2003
From start to finish, this album contains those moments where you have to check the tracklisting to find out if what you are listening to is ACTUALLY what you think you are listening to.
From the very first (Bonus, may I add) track, there are original bootlegs of contemporary pop tunes, old skool beats and general all round merriments. The CD kicks off with a bonus remix of Can't Get You Out Of My Head by Kylie, and you actually have to search skip backwards to before the first track to hear it. It's a strange psychedelic breaks remix, but the original elements are there and you can place the tune instantly. Once the bonus track finishes, Steven Hawkin (maybe not) introduces the band to rapturous applause, which is well-deserved I feel.
Highlights include the first track of the mix, which is a strange but successful concoction of Emerson, Lake & Palmer and Basement Jaxx, a stuttering bootleg of Salt 'N' Pepa's Push It Real Good, a fusion of two Michael Jackson songs right at the heart of the mix, and a Caribbean collaboration between 10CC and Destiny's Child. All of these moments leave you wondering how the Soulwax Crew thought up such mixtures of joints, but when you see how well they work together, you can't help but be immensely satisfied with the results.
If you like your CDs to be original, funky and entertaining from start to finish, then this is definitely one for your collection.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2005
Simply brilliant. The tracklisting reads like a C90 you used to compile for your school chums, even the CD presentation looks cheeky and knocked-up. Once you press play however, your are blessed with 60 minutes of class mixing that would lift any party, any mood and launch your weekend with style. More official albums guys! Please!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2003
Everytime I come to amazon and i see this album recomended to me, i wish i had'nt of bought it 6 months ago so I could rediscover it! It is one of the finest mix albums i've heard for a long time, anyone who can flawlessly run from Basement Jaxx to Felix da Housecat then to Destiny's Child (of course mixed with 10cc), on to Dolly Parton and finishing off with New Order deserves your custom, and possibly an honorary knighthood. I personally guarantee you will enjoy this album, it's a party in plastic case!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2004
I bought this album on the back of a truely mind blowing set at Homelands 2004, in the hope that I would be purchasing something which came even remotely close to the brilliance of that night.
I wasn't dissappointed.
This is just fantastic and original and surprising and really must be owned.
Buy it - but be careful to avoid all the other bootlegged CD's claiming to be follow ups....many arent even mixed by these guys. This is the only official release.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2002
Now, I know Soulwax as the indie group that had a song on the Carling advert... Imagine my suprise when my mate lent me this CD, Blown away is an understatement! I was expecting your run-off the mill spin off mix selection, what I heard though was unexpected and quite sensational. The 2 dj's have basically taken their favourite bits from songs and mixed them into an awsome hour long piece of music... From the start with Basement Jaxx over what sounds like a blues brothers base, to the Skee-lo Breeders mixmatch. But this CD!!!
(PS Check out the hidden cheeky kylie mix as well)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Brilliant for getting you going before a night out or a perfect substitute for a set of decks at a party, the Soulwax brothers depart from their signature guitar-pop, reconstructing great classics by the likes of the Stooges and Breeders and cheesy pop such as "9 to 5" and "Joe La Taxi". By splicing old with new, kitsch with cool, this album should appeal to anyone between 15 and 35. The reggae version of Destiny's Child's "Independent Woman" alone is worth paying for this superb album.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2002
Soulwax - the Belgian duo who draw influences from INXS to Roni Size for their live sets are also rather fine DJs (on the side, like). First heard of on a promo only CD in 2000 as 'The Flying Deewale Brothers' the pair use the most unlikely tracks to mix together a frenzy of retro, throwing everything from Skee-Lo to Survivor into the melting pot and using the Technics spoon to produce a cake of many colours (and sounds). Version 2 is the first commercially available sampling of the boys' huge musical knowledge, and features a tracklisting so long you'll think you've had to shell out extra for the packaging. From MJ to Destiny's, The Breeders to Serge, it's all here and it's so pleasurable there's no way you'll want to take it off your stereo for a second!
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2002
This is one of those rare cds that you buy, listen to over and over again and will never cease to be amazed at how well it all fits together as a mix and works like a dream. Most genres of music are cleverly mixed into each other and gel into a truly unique musical experience. If you (like me) enjoy good music, not a certain type of music, you'll love this cd as it takes classics from the past and present and gives them all to you in little bite-size chunks regardless of the fact it's idie being mixed into pop into country then back into indie.
A definite buy for someone who wants to own something a bit different, but for it still to be something you'll go back to again and again.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 July 2002
You'll be outraged, entertained, and amazed. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll nod your head. Shame it isn't 'properly' mixed (they did it on a G3 Mac, somehow) but it's still a weird and worth-having hybrid. Some of these remixes take you to the very edge of incredulity, they beggar your patience, but somehow SoulWax pull if off - just about - and with panache. Not much these days is truly unique, but you won't have heard anything like this again - which is good enough for me!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2002
As soon as I heard them blend "Independant Woman" flawlessly into "Nine To Five" by Dolly Parton, I knew I had to buy this CD. Packed full of weird musical cross-overs, it's also handy if you want to check out a lot of new bands - I discovered 'Peaches' through this album, and very happy I was too. It just confirms my suspicion that Soulwax are indeed GOD (over-react? Moi?). Check out their CD "Much Against Everyone's Advice" too whilst you're at it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)