Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pushin' It Real Good
From start to finish, this album contains those moments where you have to check the tracklisting to find out if what you are listening to is ACTUALLY what you think you are listening to.
From the very first (Bonus, may I add) track, there are original bootlegs of contemporary pop tunes, old skool beats and general all round merriments. The CD kicks off with a bonus...
Published on 1 April 2003 by Mr Alex Prout

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity
When i first bought this cd i thought it was great fun, but on further listening it doesnt really live up to the quality that it promises. Some of the ideas are inspired- dreadlock holiday and destiny's child for instance, but when listenend to as a whole album it's just not seamless enough. In this genre of cut and paste I would recommend DJ Food's "Solid Steel" and...
Published on 5 Jan 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Soulwax, 8 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
As soon as I heard them blend "Independant Woman" flawlessly into "Nine To Five" by Dolly Parton, I knew I had to buy this CD. Packed full of weird musical cross-overs, it's also handy if you want to check out a lot of new bands - I discovered 'Peaches' through this album, and very happy I was too. It just confirms my suspicion that Soulwax are indeed GOD (over-react? Moi?). Check out their CD "Much Against Everyone's Advice" too whilst you're at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's a party....on a cd!, 19 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
i bought this yesterday having heard very little about it and none of it.
i was a soulwax fan already but of their band stuff....not their dj stuff, which i now know is incredible.
i looked at the tracklisting and thought it seemed interesting....but when i heard it i couldn't believe it. nothing is as it seems. there are some amazing combinations here. basement jaxx works really well when mixed with the peter gunn theme and salt 'n' pepa with the stooges has to be heard to be believed.
buy it....now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, flashy and amazing, 13 Feb 2003
By 
Rich B "dickdanpete" (On the 8th day he created Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
There is no other album out there like this. I have seen them live and realised that as i was dancing to Kylie singing 'Can't get you out of my head' over the backing track to 'smells like teen spirit' That these people were some of the most gifted men around. The cd is superb. although it is by no means 'Easy Listening' who in the world isn't bored of that by now. It is time for a change and this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most fun you can have with your clothes on!, 26 Jun 2002
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Album of the year for me. Soulwax blend dirty US garage (The Stooges, Velvet Underground) with some of the funkiest, soulful dance music (Sly and The Family Stone, Bassment Jaxx) known to man.
The result is a hugely entertaining, eclectic mix of hard beats and tongue-in-cheek references to some of the best tracks from the last 30 years - which is highly in vogue with the current trend for bootlegs.
For me the defining moment is Skee Lo's "I wish" over the Breeders "Cannonball", why on earth hasn't this been sampled before?
Rewind from track 1 for the Kylie bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the best of the best..., 16 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
i've had this album for a while now and no matter how much i play it i never get tired of it! the first time you hear it you'll be giddy as a schoolgirl as you wait on the edge of your seat to see what song they'll cut up next, and then be amazed at how good even the most bizarre of mixes sound! tip - if you ever get a chance to see them live, do it, they're one of the best acts i've seen (homelands 2004 - they rocked). enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely PHENOMENAL!!!, 29 Mar 2003
By 
StephenNY (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
I bought this without knowing anything about it, and I was totally blown away. Starting with ELP's Peter Gunn mixed with beats from Basement Jaxx was inspired and created an anticipation that was fully realized. Mixing the Stooges with Salt n' Pepa? Nena with Interstellar? Dolly Parton with royksopp?!!! Unbelievable. Each song seemed to fit perfectly with its partner. I only wish there was a pt. 1. It never leaves my CD player, is fully loaded on my I-Pod, and copies exist for the car and Discman. This is a must have for folks who dig DJ mixes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly entertaining, 10 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
I love this CD, I was drawn to it after seeing the tracklisting because I couldn't see how such diverse songs could be mixed. It works brilliantly and watch out for the bonus mix of 'Can't get you out of my head' by rewinding before the CD starts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for the ultimate album....look no further!, 19 July 2002
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
The people behind this are far more than djs or musicians, they are officially magicians! This is an album which excites, surprises, confuses and damn well near blows your mind from start to finish. The vision in some of the mixes is something more djs need to look at as we see destinys child mixed into dolly parton which in turn is mixed into royksopp - what? Indeed, yet it works like nothing i've heard before but hope to again very soon. Buy it and love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite album, 1 May 2007
By 
G. Wilkie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
this is definately the best album i own.

the mixes are fantastic, with a great selection of songs used. i especially love the destiny's child/10cc reggae-ised independant women - brilliant.

i can listen to the whole album in one sitting with no problem, it doesn't get at all monotonous. great for background music at a party, just let it play, you'll hear plenty of '"oh yeah i like that one"'s.

i lent my last album out to a friend and never got it back so have had to buy a second one - so that's my only word of warning it - keep it safe!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its really not a hard choice..., 28 Dec 2002
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
If you like diversity, love music and are not too much of a music snob to consider including Dolly Parton within your collection, this is the CD for you. The eclectic combination of tunes you would simply never consider mixing (or even purchasing in the first case come to think of it) come as an unstoppable revelation. Yes its unusual - but certainly well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2
As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 by 2 Many DJ's (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews