Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pushin' It Real Good
From start to finish, this album contains those moments where you have to check the tracklisting to find out if what you are listening to is ACTUALLY what you think you are listening to.
From the very first (Bonus, may I add) track, there are original bootlegs of contemporary pop tunes, old skool beats and general all round merriments. The CD kicks off with a bonus...
Published on 1 April 2003 by Mr Alex Prout

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity
When i first bought this cd i thought it was great fun, but on further listening it doesnt really live up to the quality that it promises. Some of the ideas are inspired- dreadlock holiday and destiny's child for instance, but when listenend to as a whole album it's just not seamless enough. In this genre of cut and paste I would recommend DJ Food's "Solid Steel" and...
Published on 5 Jan 2003


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pushin' It Real Good, 1 April 2003
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
From start to finish, this album contains those moments where you have to check the tracklisting to find out if what you are listening to is ACTUALLY what you think you are listening to.
From the very first (Bonus, may I add) track, there are original bootlegs of contemporary pop tunes, old skool beats and general all round merriments. The CD kicks off with a bonus remix of Can't Get You Out Of My Head by Kylie, and you actually have to search skip backwards to before the first track to hear it. It's a strange psychedelic breaks remix, but the original elements are there and you can place the tune instantly. Once the bonus track finishes, Steven Hawkin (maybe not) introduces the band to rapturous applause, which is well-deserved I feel.
Highlights include the first track of the mix, which is a strange but successful concoction of Emerson, Lake & Palmer and Basement Jaxx, a stuttering bootleg of Salt 'N' Pepa's Push It Real Good, a fusion of two Michael Jackson songs right at the heart of the mix, and a Caribbean collaboration between 10CC and Destiny's Child. All of these moments leave you wondering how the Soulwax Crew thought up such mixtures of joints, but when you see how well they work together, you can't help but be immensely satisfied with the results.
If you like your CDs to be original, funky and entertaining from start to finish, then this is definitely one for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album will never be off your CD player, 21 April 2005
By 
DC (Stirling, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Simply brilliant. The tracklisting reads like a C90 you used to compile for your school chums, even the CD presentation looks cheeky and knocked-up. Once you press play however, your are blessed with 60 minutes of class mixing that would lift any party, any mood and launch your weekend with style. More official albums guys! Please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU MUST BUY THIS ALBUM!, 28 Feb 2003
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Everytime I come to amazon and i see this album recomended to me, i wish i had'nt of bought it 6 months ago so I could rediscover it! It is one of the finest mix albums i've heard for a long time, anyone who can flawlessly run from Basement Jaxx to Felix da Housecat then to Destiny's Child (of course mixed with 10cc), on to Dolly Parton and finishing off with New Order deserves your custom, and possibly an honorary knighthood. I personally guarantee you will enjoy this album, it's a party in plastic case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy It, 28 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the back of a truely mind blowing set at Homelands 2004, in the hope that I would be purchasing something which came even remotely close to the brilliance of that night.
I wasn't dissappointed.
This is just fantastic and original and surprising and really must be owned.
Buy it - but be careful to avoid all the other bootlegged CD's claiming to be follow ups....many arent even mixed by these guys. This is the only official release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seamless Belgian megamix!, 21 May 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Soulwax have produced a minor masterpiece here with 60 odd mins of mixed tunes,spliced together into a great "DJ" set. From Dolly Parton to Euro-techno,Destinys Child to The Breeders, this is a superb idea and it has taken two years to get released. Soulwax do not play a note of course, this is 30 odd tunes mixed into a long playing dance record, but it works superbly. Soulwax are a rock band but this is better than anything so called professional "DJ's" like Fatboy Slim and Paul Oakenfold could manage. The pick of the mix is Destinys Child mixed with 10cc, segueing into Dolly Parton then into Royskopp.Buy this and put it in your discman/mini-discman, you will never grow bored of it!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something a little different......., 1 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Now, I know Soulwax as the indie group that had a song on the Carling advert... Imagine my suprise when my mate lent me this CD, Blown away is an understatement! I was expecting your run-off the mill spin off mix selection, what I heard though was unexpected and quite sensational. The 2 dj's have basically taken their favourite bits from songs and mixed them into an awsome hour long piece of music... From the start with Basement Jaxx over what sounds like a blues brothers base, to the Skee-lo Breeders mixmatch. But this CD!!!
(PS Check out the hidden cheeky kylie mix as well)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfectly balanced remix album to get you moving, 29 April 2002
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Brilliant for getting you going before a night out or a perfect substitute for a set of decks at a party, the Soulwax brothers depart from their signature guitar-pop, reconstructing great classics by the likes of the Stooges and Breeders and cheesy pop such as "9 to 5" and "Joe La Taxi". By splicing old with new, kitsch with cool, this album should appeal to anyone between 15 and 35. The reggae version of Destiny's Child's "Independent Woman" alone is worth paying for this superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The audio version of decolletage - sampling to the ears!, 20 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Soulwax - the Belgian duo who draw influences from INXS to Roni Size for their live sets are also rather fine DJs (on the side, like). First heard of on a promo only CD in 2000 as 'The Flying Deewale Brothers' the pair use the most unlikely tracks to mix together a frenzy of retro, throwing everything from Skee-Lo to Survivor into the melting pot and using the Technics spoon to produce a cake of many colours (and sounds). Version 2 is the first commercially available sampling of the boys' huge musical knowledge, and features a tracklisting so long you'll think you've had to shell out extra for the packaging. From MJ to Destiny's, The Breeders to Serge, it's all here and it's so pleasurable there's no way you'll want to take it off your stereo for a second!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A night out in your own home, 4 Dec 2002
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
This is one of those rare cds that you buy, listen to over and over again and will never cease to be amazed at how well it all fits together as a mix and works like a dream. Most genres of music are cleverly mixed into each other and gel into a truly unique musical experience. If you (like me) enjoy good music, not a certain type of music, you'll love this cd as it takes classics from the past and present and gives them all to you in little bite-size chunks regardless of the fact it's idie being mixed into pop into country then back into indie.
A definite buy for someone who wants to own something a bit different, but for it still to be something you'll go back to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange... but brilliant, 11 July 2002
By 
M. Harrison - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 (Audio CD)
You'll be outraged, entertained, and amazed. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll nod your head. Shame it isn't 'properly' mixed (they did it on a G3 Mac, somehow) but it's still a weird and worth-having hybrid. Some of these remixes take you to the very edge of incredulity, they beggar your patience, but somehow SoulWax pull if off - just about - and with panache. Not much these days is truly unique, but you won't have heard anything like this again - which is good enough for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2
As Heard on Radio Soulwax Vol.2 by 2 Many DJ's (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews