Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Stop The Rock and It Doesn't Matter ARE CLASS.
Dig Your Own Hole is not merely another EPD. An important album that should be recognised for bridging the gap between Rock and Techno. Block Rockin' Beats and Setting Sun are the most recognised of these tunes, as they feature twisted guitar riffs and drum loops to give something that many of us never thought could exist; Techno and Rock together. However, Tom and Ed...
Published on 29 Sept. 2001 by Rebecca Lewis

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rockin
It's got a few excellent tracks on it but one or two weren't to my liking so not a complete album
Published 17 months ago by Hardip


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, 6 May 2014
By 
D. Gardner (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (MP3 Download)
Listened to this for the first time on a long flight. As soon as it had finished, I played it again. As soon as I arrived back home I bought it! It finishes on a high, and I think it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Beauty by the Brothers, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
Just love listening to these guys over & over. My favourites are Piku, Where Do I Begin & the amazing Private Psychedelic Reel. In my mind one of the best Chemical albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative, 17 Oct. 2004
By 
Mr. C. Mullen "Matt" (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
'Dig Your Own Hole' is a masterpiece, even better than 'Exit Planet Dust'. It shows that The Chemical Brothers back catalogue can rival that of Underworld. The tracks aren't discrete, the music is continuous -- a wild gush of subgenreless dance music. Caveat: This must not be listened to through headphones. I dismissed it as mere noise the first time I played it because the headphones compressed it. It deserves the best speakers possible. You have to allow all the different elements of the song to express themselves clearly.
Best track = Where Do I Begin (wonderful musical climax).
Worst = 3 or 8 are slightly undermodulated and 11 is too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 9 April 2002
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
well i think most has been said about this album by now, all i want to say is that 'private...' is the best songs theyve every done its a great collaberation between tom and ed and jonothon donahue (mercy rev singer) and boy does JD's influence show on this track its so similar to the mercury revs work youd think you were back at home listenin to 'see you on the other side', its brilliant, as for the rest of the albuym the best collection of 'Phat' beats you'll ever hear!! i mean this albumns canny old now but i havent realy put it down for a long while!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 7 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
Comment in spanish: A pesar de que han pasado ya muchos años desde su lanzamiento, Dig your own hole continua siendo uno de los mejores cd de su genero. Además, la caja es bestial, emula la forma de las cajas de vinilos pero en versión reducida, toda absolutamente toda la caja es como la de los vinilos pero en tamaño CD, incluso el CD va guardado con la típica funda de los vinilos, es incluso el mismo material. Genial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An EXCELLENT piece of work, one of their best., 6 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
I have to say this is a personnal best 11 tracks of elegance, WOW! How could they have thought of this you only start noticing how good it is by listening to the end of track 1. An EXCELLENT piece of work, one of their best. You know how good it is when hearing the last two tracks; Where Do I Begin and Private Psychedelic Reel. Two words "Buy It."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
banging and brilliant price...turn it up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the best album dance music has produced, 20 May 2002
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
This album is, quite rightly, one of the most hyped albums of recent years. From the pounding, energetic Block rockin' beats to the sublime flow of Private psychedelic reel this album has it all. Never bettered by the Chemicals themselves nor any of their contemporaries it has still not aged and I thoroughly believe I will still be listening to this album when I'm an old man.
The album does not have any moments in it when you are bored or waiting for the next track to start, the sign of any great album.
If you do not already own this album you really should. No collection would be quite complete with out it. A classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (MP3 Download)
chemical brothers brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More 4.5 stars really..., 14 Dec. 2000
This review is from: Dig Your Own Hole (Audio CD)
I own all three Chemical Brothers albums, and I personally think this is the best of the three. The best track here would have to be "The Private Psychadelic Reel" for the way it holds you in suspense before letting rip with amazing force. 9 minutes of pure class. That's not to say the rest of the album isn't excellent, but it does raise a question: why oh why oh why did "Don't Stop the Rock" and "It Doesn't Matter" ever make it onto this album? They let it down badly, and inspire reaching for the forward skip button. The other tracks are absolute class, hence I can't give it 4 stars, but skip the tracks I've just mentioned knock it down off 5. They're awful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dig Your Own Hole
Dig Your Own Hole by The Chemical Brothers (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews