Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD...
It's Double Impact without Jean-Claude Van Damme.(Thank God) =) While that's probably an unfair analogy, it's nonetheless accurate. Jackie Chan plays twins who were separated at birth. Ma Yao (Chan) goes to America with parents Sylvia Chang and James Wong, where he grows up to be a famous composer/conductor. Meanwhile, Tramp (Chan again) remains in HK and becomes a...
Published on 22 Sep 2006 by SILENT_TEAR

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Jackie Chans, half the fun and only 89% of the film
What do you get when you take two of the best action directors in Hong Kong near the peak of their powers - Tsui Hark and Ringo Lam - add two Jackie Chans and throw in his Police Story co-star Maggie Cheung? A load of rubbish, unfortunately. Made as a fundraiser for the Hong Kong Directors' Guild, Twin Dragons was painful enough in its original 100-minute version, but...
Published on 21 Nov 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD..., 22 Sep 2006
This review is from: Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
It's Double Impact without Jean-Claude Van Damme.(Thank God) =) While that's probably an unfair analogy, it's nonetheless accurate. Jackie Chan plays twins who were separated at birth. Ma Yao (Chan) goes to America with parents Sylvia Chang and James Wong, where he grows up to be a famous composer/conductor. Meanwhile, Tramp (Chan again) remains in HK and becomes a mechanic/henchman to a lowly midget played by famous midget Teddy Robin Kwan. The Prince and the Pauper-like switch occurs when Ma Yao comes to Hong Kong for a concert. Comedy and action hijinks ensue. While there's an abundance of shtick that can either tickle the funny bone or annoy like hell, the real reason why anyone would watch this movie is for one thing: action. In that case the film delivers, thanks to the work of action directors Jackie Chan and Yuen Woo-Ping. The set pieces are all fun, with some good fighting and acrobatic stunt work.

The comedy isn't too bad, either--it's just your typical Big Business/Multiplicity twinning stuff. The situation hijinks occur when the two switch women. One hooks up with club girl Maggie Cheung, while the other ends up with buxom Nina Li.MMMM LOL Both perform admirably, and Chan manages to play two people more convincingly than The Muscles from Brussels ever could. All In All a very good movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 of em?, 5 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Twin Dragons is basically about two identical people who switch lives. One is a music composer, and the other is just an average guy (although he can certainly do some awesome moves to fight). The story is quite funny, as you can find scenes which are unbelievably hilarious, and it proves to be an entertaining film.
Futhermore, we have the comedy, the gag-i-ness of it all, and the earlier stunts performed by the King of Kung Fu. I expect no less from Jackie, as the movie is sucessful in the suspense, the action and its other qualities that make it a satisfactory watch. Definately one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackie does it again - twice!, 5 Dec 2004
By 
F. Lane "franl155" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I only discovered Jackie Chan early this year (don't ask what took me so long!) and Twin Dragons is, in a quiet sort of way, one of the best of the fifteen I have so far.
The plot's not a new one - twins separated at birth who find each other as adults - but as usual, Jackie has his own take on it.
I can never watch a Jackie Chan film for the first time all the way through; there are "WHAT did he just do??" moments when I have to rewind and watch it again. There are several of these moments in this film, not all of them action ones, though there are those, too.
There are several instances when one twin touches the other; on the shoulder, for instance. Normally these are done with one with his back to the camera, so that a stand-in can be used. Jackie does it with "both of him" facing the camera, so you can clearly see it's him both times; these have to be split-screen, but they're perfect, absolutely seamless. In fact, it was several moments after watching the first of these that I suddenly realised what I'd seen and went back to check. And in one scene, both twins are facing the camera and one walks across the screen in front of the other - I've no idea how that was done, for surely split-screen wouldn't account for that.
There's plenty of action, with an opening fight sequence, a boat chase (during which the other twin gets seasick in a restaurant), assorted fights and car chases, culminating in the final set piece of a running fight in a vehicle testing centre. As usual, Jackie makes full use of his surroundings.
The sequence actually starts in Chapter 21, but there are a couple of truly "WOW!" moments in Chapter 23. In the first, Jackie takes a flying leap, feet first, at the open side window of a car: he goes through without even touching the edges, folds in midair, and ends up sitting in the seat, all in one smooth flow. They show it in slow motion, but I still had to replay it about four times! (I did try to play it speeded up, to see how fast he actually did it, but I must have blinked.)
The second one happens just after. He's at the foot or a ramp where they run cars down to crash into a wall, to test safety. A car is let loose on him - and he reaches up to the top of the wall, lifts his legs up and does a backward somersault as the car crashes into the wall. They show that in slow motion, too; it looks an *awfully* close thing! That one, too, I had to play several times.
And this is the first Jackie Chan film I've seen where he gets more than a kiss from the leading lady!
It might be gathered that I thoroughly enjoyed this film even though there's no extras, not even his usual end-credit out-takes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Jackie Chans, half the fun and only 89% of the film, 21 Nov 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
What do you get when you take two of the best action directors in Hong Kong near the peak of their powers - Tsui Hark and Ringo Lam - add two Jackie Chans and throw in his Police Story co-star Maggie Cheung? A load of rubbish, unfortunately. Made as a fundraiser for the Hong Kong Directors' Guild, Twin Dragons was painful enough in its original 100-minute version, but rescored, redubbed and shorn of 15 minutes by scissor-happy Miramax offshoot Dimension Pictures it's gone from being a vaguely comprehensible bad picture to an almost completely incomprehensible even worse one.

It's the usual Corsican Brothers/mistaken identity plot (separated at birth, one twin grows up to be a streetwise hustler with an irritating sinus problem, the other an acclaimed conductor and concert pianist until - well, you know the rest), but thanks to perfunctory writing and tired unimaginative staging it's a bit of a chore to watch. Despite some good opening stunts it's mostly a rather inept comedy with a leaning towards bedroom farce, not helped by some variable special effects - at one point Chan walks through his brother's arm in a muffed process shot that really should have stayed on the cutting room floor but which typifies the "It'll do" spirit of the enterprise. As for the truly irritating vertically challenged sidekick - Randy Newman's Short People could have been written with him in mind.

There is one good (not great, just good) fight scene in and around various cars in a test laboratory, as well as a neat cameo by the two directors as cheating card players (John Woo also turns up in one shot as a priest), but it's definitely not enough for any but the Chan completists. As with all of Buena Vista's back-catalog of dubbed and re-edited HK releases there are no extras (though Chan does dub himself in the English-language version, whereas in the Hong Kong cut he's dubbed into Cantonese by another actor), but after seeing this, the only extra you'd be interested in is an apology. Of course, as you would expect with a turkey, the 2.35:1 transfer and sound are both very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but still has the JC flaws, 12 May 2003
By 
Tea Tango (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Its usually the story that is poor in a jackie chan movie.
Of course the action scenes are always great, but when you thing about it the story some times doesn't make sence.
This movie is great, you can watch it with all your kids, as with all jackie movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 23 Jun 2014
This review is from: Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
love Jackie chan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars that man chan again !!!, 4 Mar 2013
By 
E. Reay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
soon as i saw those eyes i knew they where Chans, and i knew i was in for one hell of an epic film, must buy for any Chan film 5 * CHAN-TASTIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 20 Jan 2011
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
It's a good fun movie. If you've seen the Jean Claude movie then you do get a strange feeling watching this that you have seen this before.
Jackie Chan I have to say for me is one of those actors who nearly always delivers an entertaining movie, and this is no exception. For the price of this movie it's a no brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 13 Mar 2009
By 
M. Mathieu Nicolas "un client" (Strasbourg, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Action, comedy, and two Jackie Chan for double fun! A perfect entertainment! It's the best recent Jackie Chan's Hong Kong movie I' ve ever seen! If you are a real fan of J. Chan, purchase it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding., 23 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
It was a great movie but a big chunk of guys are pointing out
negative aspects. I am a die hard J-Chan fan and I will not
forgive people who intimidate him. Guys, enough of the nonsense
and shut your mouths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999]
Twin Dragons [DVD] [1999] by Hark Tsui (DVD - 2002)
9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews