Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourtie Film
This is my favourite film, and has been for years. I've seen it at least 200 times and can repeat all the lines and the songs throughout the film. I know, really sad! I can't help it though. It's such a feel good funny film with a great soundtrack. If you haven't seen it, you're missing out!
Published on 8 Nov 2008 by Nl Latham

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD not in true 1.85:1
This is a warning that this movie is not correctly encoded as 1.85:1 when playing back on a widescreen TV - you may experience both letterbox AND pillarbox bars on the screen resulting in the movie playing in a small window in the centre of your TV.

It appears that the initial Language Selection and Play/Scene Selection screens are in 4:3 format so display on a...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Daniel and Su Coffey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Made by People Who Couldn't Put a Foot Wrong Musically, 17 July 2013
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
"Sister Act,"(1992), a big hit in its time for Disney's Touchstone Studio, is now more than 20 years old, and surely worth a closer look. Its plot -- script by Joseph Howard--is, of course, lighter than air, concerning one Deloris Van Cartier, second rate Reno lounge singer (Whoopi Goldberg, Ghost), who is unlucky enough to catch her married, mobbed-up boyfriend Vince La Rocca (Harvey Keitel, Bad Lieutenant ), committing an execution-style murder. If she wishes to live to testify against him, she's got to go on the run, and she does -- to a failing, out-of-touch San Francisco convent run by multi Oscar-winning Dame Maggie Smith, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Downton Abbey - Series 1-3 / Christmas at Downton Abbey 2011 , as its Mother Superior. The first thing to say is the script's not only funny, it's also witty -- particularly in the battles of wits between Goldberg's character, rechristened Sister Mary Clarence for convent purposes, and Maggie Smith's Mother Superior. And the wit has held up. The second thing to say is the movie's celebrated Motown musical interludes have held up even better, and that's no accident.

To begin with, the movie was produced for Disney by New York-born Scott Rudin, who has a sure hand with a light film. You could easily think the lead part was written for Goldberg, as it fits her like a glove, but in fact, it wasn't. It was written for Bette Midler, then the studio's favorite musical/comedy star: the New York-born Goldberg just made it hers. Furthermore, Keitel is frequently accused of a lazy performance in this movie: but when the Brooklyn-born actor gets a chance to sink his teeth into a line like "bupkis--" that's Brooklynite/Yiddish for "nothing" to you, he delivers it with gusto. And the picture introduced the winning Kathy Najimi, as Sister Mary Patrick, to the audience.

But Disney's greatest luck, in regard to this film, has to be the trio of talented men, all born in the greater New York area, who made the musical interludes as infectious as they are. Its director, Emile Ardolino, born in 1943 in Maspeth, Queens, unfortunately passed from us, in 1993, in Bel Air, of AIDS. But it was well-known that he could do magic with musicals. He won an Oscar in 1984 for a documentary, HE MAKES ME FEEL LIKE DANCIN'. And he's further credited with direction of Dirty Dancing , and Gypsy , two multiple award-winning musicals that also haven't lost their appeal. To arrange the music, the studio kept the musical director of Bette Midler's stage shows, the New Jersey-born Marc Shaiman. We now know that he, too, is extraordinarily talented musically: he's recently written Hairspray , that's won Oscar, Grammy, Tony, and Emmy Awards. Finally, the musical scenes were choreographed by Lester Wilson, an experienced man with a Motown connection: among his other triumphs, he choreographed Saturday Night Fever. You just gotta say that these guys couldn't put a foot wrong, musically-speaking, and it shows -- will continue to show-- on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gr8 Film, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Obviously got this for my library to watch at my leisure. Whoopi's great and very good viewing. A good story line just fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff and very clear, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I found it very funny, I love watching Whoopi Goldberg a very good actress, I love everything about it, the music. singing the children being involved its all great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic service, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I purchased this item as part of a birthday present for my special needs daughter who loves it I would not hesitate to recommend using this site as the service was fantastic the follow up equally as good it has made one girl very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived in good time, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Arrived in good time - ordered two other DVD from same company at same time. Would have been nice to save on postage if all sent in same envelope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I really liked this movie and the characters. Whoopi Goldberg is very good and
the other people do a wonderful job of supporting her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
arrived when said it would. whats not to like about Whoopi in high heals and a nuns habit! good product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SISTER ACT, 24 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I really like this film. Whoopi Goldberg is brilliant as ever and its a better story than you think its gonna be. Quite an old film now but a good classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sister Act, Whoopi at her best, 15 May 2009
By 
Mr. J. W. Rissbrook "Barnowllover" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Sister Act was by far the better story than the sequel. A feelgood factor film with the highest credit going to Whoopi Goldberg who was sensational throughout. Great story line, fine acting, and music that gets your feet tapping. Still a fantastic film that can be watched again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nun of that, now..., 25 Jan 2006
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
In watching Sister Act again recently, there was a particular scene that reminded me of the power of the clericals -- the thugs in the final chase refused to shoot Delores because she was dressed as a nun; they couldn't shoot, in case she was a nun. Even though they were fairly confident that she wasn't a nun, the image she presented was one of being holy, and thus they couldn't bring themselves to do it. The combination of that scene with the nuns running through the casino, and working their way onto the flight, reminded me of my recent experiences in my collar.
I've loved this film since the first time I saw it. From the beginning transition of Delores as a schoolgirl to Delores (Whoopi Goldberg) the casino show girl, to the exciting chase of nuns and villians throug the casino, and the 'happy ending' packaging, it all works.
Delores van Cartier (as anyone of that name probably should be!) is a showgirl in a casino. She has had the misfortune to fall into a love affair with a casino-owner being investigated by the police for various crimes, including murder (I know, unheard of, surely, but hey, this is fiction!).
Delores is an eye witness to one murder, and thus goes on the run. She contacts the police, and one particular policeman places her in a convent in another city, where she, masquerading as a nun, would live a quiet and cloistered life, out of public view, and safe from the criminals who are by this time scouring the country looking for her, dead or alive.
When Delores arrives at the convent, it is as much of a culture shock to her as she is to the culture of the convent, especially as that is envisioned and embodied by the Reverend Mother (played astutely by Maggie Smith). After a period of 'adjustment', the Reverend Mother finally decided that there is no place in the convent that 'Sister Mary Clarence' really fits into well, but perhaps she could, given her musical career, do something with the rather disastrous choir at the convent.
Delores/Mary Clarence does so reluctantly, but after a few false starts, instills confidence in the choir members, and introduces a 'showtune' element into their repertoire as well (much to the amazement, nay, horror of the Reverend Mother). It has the side effect, however, of drawing people and attention to the church. The church grows, and the choir continues its ascending popularity, while the Reverend Mother grows increasingly worried over the changes in her convent and the jeopardy such attention may bring to Delores' need for a safe haven.
The musical variations, combinations of hymnody and popular songs, really helps carry the story through its hilarious stages. 'I will follow him' is perhaps my favourite combination piece. According to the promotional material, she turns the nuns' tone-deaf choir into a soulful chorus of swingin', singing sisters. In the end, the music draws such attention to the church of St. Catherine that the Pope decided to visit.
Supporting casts members include Havey Keitel as the casino-owner; Kathy Najimy as Sister Mary Patrick; and veteran actress Mary Wickes as Sister Mary Lazarus.
A happy ending is assured, as indeed is a sequel, with yet more nunnery nonsense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sister Act [DVD] [1992]
Sister Act [DVD] [1992] by Emile Ardolino (DVD - 2001)
3.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews