Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still hasn't lost it's charm after all these years
I must have first seen this film when I was 4 or 5, and remember loving it at the time. 14 years later I can happily say that 'Sister Act' still hasn't lost it's charm. I could understand far more of what was going on this time round (the story is follows Deloris Van Cartier - hilariously played by Whoopi Goldberg - who is forced to go into hiding for a few months after...
Published on 17 Aug 2008 by Marly Z

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD not in true 1.85:1
This is a warning that this movie is not correctly encoded as 1.85:1 when playing back on a widescreen TV - you may experience both letterbox AND pillarbox bars on the screen resulting in the movie playing in a small window in the centre of your TV.

It appears that the initial Language Selection and Play/Scene Selection screens are in 4:3 format so display on a...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Daniel and Su Coffey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still hasn't lost it's charm after all these years, 17 Aug 2008
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I must have first seen this film when I was 4 or 5, and remember loving it at the time. 14 years later I can happily say that 'Sister Act' still hasn't lost it's charm. I could understand far more of what was going on this time round (the story is follows Deloris Van Cartier - hilariously played by Whoopi Goldberg - who is forced to go into hiding for a few months after witnessing her boyfriend commit murder. This is all fine and dandy, until you discover that her place of hiding and secret identity would be to become a nun).

This really is all round family fun. The singing (once Deloris has trained them up a bit) is actually quite beautiful at times, the acting is infallible, and the story a classic. Brilliant all round, and thoroughly deserves those 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourtie Film, 8 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This is my favourite film, and has been for years. I've seen it at least 200 times and can repeat all the lines and the songs throughout the film. I know, really sad! I can't help it though. It's such a feel good funny film with a great soundtrack. If you haven't seen it, you're missing out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whoopi: "ARRRGHHH I LOOK LIKE A PENGUIN!!", 11 Jan 2008
By 
marky77 (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
LOVE Sister Act, a brilliant movie. Clever and funny and so good at chearing you up when you are down! You cannot watch this movie and not smile! Brilliant!

Vegas singer Delores (Whoopi Goldberg) walks in on her boyfriend shooting a man and subsequently must be placed in the witness protection programme. She is put in the last place anybody would ever look for her...a nunery! At first she hates it but eventually makles friends with some of the eccentric nuns and leads them in singing (with her jazzed up hymns).

A great movie, light-hearted and makes you feel good and as always Whoopi is great and funny! One of my favourite movies. Very highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant is the word I sang at the end of the movie, 5 Jan 2006
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Whoopie Goldberg is the only actress to actually make me seriously laugh and she does an amazing job in Sister Act. This movie is full of laughs, has an entertaining story, action and plenty of good music. You dont have to be a fan of these kind of films to love this movie. Most movies I'm into are horror films but I love Sister Act so that shows how good this movie is if it can win me over like that. Brilliant music, very fine acting and a delight to watch. This is one of the best family comedies I have seen and is a good example of how good and magical films are in the 90s.

I find it very hard to find one thing bad about this movie so I'll say it. Sister Act is a brilliant movie that is just as entertaining as it is funny. Buy it without hesitation. The sequel is good but isnt as good as the 1st so I recommed you watch the 1st one before the sequel. Dont pass on this classic comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Fun, 7 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sister Act [VHS] [1992] (VHS Tape)
Sister Act is one of those films that can never grow old and is great all round family fun!! It makes Christmas much more easy, when the kids, adults and even the grandparents can all still enjoy this family classic!! I've lost count of the number of times I've seen it, yet the jokes and story line can never grow old.
A classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
many thanks for my dvd sister act with whoopi goldberg this is a great classic funny comedy great value thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
arrived on time.
was in perfect condition
such a funny film, if your into a bit of singing, nuns, crime and one naughty nun(showgirl) lol

old but definately a classic to be bought ! followed by sister act 2 which is not quite as good but still amazing where she appears in that to be a teacher and helping the nuns of the old church out yet again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No complaints, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Hannah (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Perfect really, no hiccups or problems with the DVD itself and the movie is a classic. Great value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Act on and buy now, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
When I first watched Sister Act, I believe it was after I watched Sister Act 2 and I wanted to see what had happened before and loved it. The type of film you can watch over and over again and doesn't get boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Made by People Who Couldn't Put a Foot Wrong Musically, 17 July 2013
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sister Act [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
"Sister Act,"(1992), a big hit in its time for Disney's Touchstone Studio, is now more than 20 years old, and surely worth a closer look. Its plot -- script by Joseph Howard--is, of course, lighter than air, concerning one Deloris Van Cartier, second rate Reno lounge singer (Whoopi Goldberg, Ghost), who is unlucky enough to catch her married, mobbed-up boyfriend Vince La Rocca (Harvey Keitel, Bad Lieutenant ), committing an execution-style murder. If she wishes to live to testify against him, she's got to go on the run, and she does -- to a failing, out-of-touch San Francisco convent run by multi Oscar-winning Dame Maggie Smith, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Downton Abbey - Series 1-3 / Christmas at Downton Abbey 2011 , as its Mother Superior. The first thing to say is the script's not only funny, it's also witty -- particularly in the battles of wits between Goldberg's character, rechristened Sister Mary Clarence for convent purposes, and Maggie Smith's Mother Superior. And the wit has held up. The second thing to say is the movie's celebrated Motown musical interludes have held up even better, and that's no accident.

To begin with, the movie was produced for Disney by New York-born Scott Rudin, who has a sure hand with a light film. You could easily think the lead part was written for Goldberg, as it fits her like a glove, but in fact, it wasn't. It was written for Bette Midler, then the studio's favorite musical/comedy star: the New York-born Goldberg just made it hers. Furthermore, Keitel is frequently accused of a lazy performance in this movie: but when the Brooklyn-born actor gets a chance to sink his teeth into a line like "bupkis--" that's Brooklynite/Yiddish for "nothing" to you, he delivers it with gusto. And the picture introduced the winning Kathy Najimi, as Sister Mary Patrick, to the audience.

But Disney's greatest luck, in regard to this film, has to be the trio of talented men, all born in the greater New York area, who made the musical interludes as infectious as they are. Its director, Emile Ardolino, born in 1943 in Maspeth, Queens, unfortunately passed from us, in 1993, in Bel Air, of AIDS. But it was well-known that he could do magic with musicals. He won an Oscar in 1984 for a documentary, HE MAKES ME FEEL LIKE DANCIN'. And he's further credited with direction of Dirty Dancing , and Gypsy , two multiple award-winning musicals that also haven't lost their appeal. To arrange the music, the studio kept the musical director of Bette Midler's stage shows, the New Jersey-born Marc Shaiman. We now know that he, too, is extraordinarily talented musically: he's recently written Hairspray , that's won Oscar, Grammy, Tony, and Emmy Awards. Finally, the musical scenes were choreographed by Lester Wilson, an experienced man with a Motown connection: among his other triumphs, he choreographed Saturday Night Fever. You just gotta say that these guys couldn't put a foot wrong, musically-speaking, and it shows -- will continue to show-- on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sister Act [DVD] [1992]
Sister Act [DVD] [1992] by Emile Ardolino (DVD - 2001)
£5.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews