Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars53
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2007
This biographical film of the early part of the 14th Dalai Lama's life. I found the film moving and thought provoking and beautifully shot. Other reviewers have said that the film comes from a slanted perspective, but i disagree. It is historically very sound and only slips at a couple of points. I didn't feel that Scorcese had any political bones to pick through the film either.

Watch it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
This film was lovely. I had to do some very quick research on Tibet prior to meeting the Dalai Lama and this helped enormously. Not only was the film fascinating from an historical story-telling perspective, but it was also beautifully filmed, with the Tibetan backdrop enhancing some incredible acting. The young Kunden was particularly impressive and, having now met His Holiness, it brought home to me just how important this film is in a global context.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2000
This is a visually sumptious and compelling portrait of the early life of His Holiness the Fourteenth Dalai Lama. The film takes us from the time of his discovery as a young child, up until his departure from Tibet for a period of self-imposed exile which has yet to end. Made with the participation and co-operation of His Holiness, it is a thoroughly sympathetic account of his personal journey as he grew into the role. The story is told clearly, with great affection and many touches of humour, and the spectacular scenery of Tibet forms a thrilling backdrop. All the actors (including several portraying His Holiness at different ages) are highly believable in their roles, and Robert Lin as Mao Tse Tung is an astonishingly acurate likeness. All-round, an excellent film!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
I love the fact that the video was delivered to me only two days after I ordered. What a great service! Love this video - the life of Dalai Lama is told here from when he was a child to when he's gone into exile in India... What a beautiful country and culture they had, just wish the UN did their job at the time rather than letting a country being disappeared like that - very sad!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
This is a beautifully filmed biopic of the early life of the Dalai Lama including the Chinese invasion up until his flight to India. The DVD is not "anamorphic" so I found I had to zoom in as far as possible to get the 2.35:1 format. Nevertheless the picture quality is good, as is sound quality (Dolby 5.1). I am sure this title would look particularly good on blu-ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2007
Martin Scorsese's Kundun serves the gap between Casino and Bringing down the dead. Melissa Mathieson's screenplay was based on the early chapter of the 14th Dalai Lama's life from his birth until his exile into India in 1958 where for the fear of his life-withdrawing the power and tradition bestowed upon him of the duty to serve the Tibentan people.

Scorsese has on this case, used an Eastern approach when directing Kundun-which has been hard for some to disgest. The long, slow and drifting days of when the Lami grows into a modest man of bold, complex, patient and of great wisdom qualities. The struggle to find his identity in isolation as well as questioning his beliefs such as putting others before his own safety makes him wonder-what is really expected of him as a role model?

Kundun is presented with awash of vivid colours especially a piercing red to highlight blankets-emphasising a shield of protection; the Chinese flag-promotes the poison of murder of one's hands like the image of a bull storming out of control contagious. Kundun focuses entirely on the Dalai Lama, admist the Tibetant struggle, curious about his new found life, the struggles trying to balance his judgement of how he should serve his people, communication difficulties and family enstrangement which take his toll, when he realises himself that he can't always be force fed to. The strength of the final scene when he notices the guard on the Indian border of his strong feelings when he has been denied of his freedom of speech from his heart- both miserable, tired and cold is such a powerful five minutes and then seeing him gently deal with being virtually powerless as well as reclusive with his telescope, always vigilent and always passionate about others is rather sad.

The story of the Dalai Lama should serve approximately as a reminder to think for yourselves and never give into temptation when basic human rights such as his were violated. Scorsese who took the risk was punished for doing so when some didn't think his story was appropriate. Kundun became misunderstood as a result and is now his most under-rated piece of work to the present date. If you are patient enough to see the story unravel before your eyes, including being familiar with an Eastern film style, then you will be rewarded.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Absolutely loved this film. It has amazing visuals and everything about this film is descriptive, honest, enjoyable. I would recommend Kundun to anyone who may have an interest in meditation, Buddhism or Tibet, as it encapsulates everything you could sish to know about those subjects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
A personal view of the Dali Lamas birth family and his early years and how he was found by the monk looking for him. The acting is superb and costumes truly amazing. The quality of this film is good as is the sound. I would recommend this to anyone who is curious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
This dv is very interesting --shows totally different way of life and belief to anything I have known.
Also interesting to see how the family and child adapt to the spotlight of their new situation
and how the boy is trained into being his unique person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Loved the detail. I saw this in the cinema initially when it was released. I now have more knowledge of the Dalai Lama and his teachings and it was much better particularly the burial of the father. This was as it is in Tibet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)