Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shaw's Egypt
I am a great admirer of Shaw -and of this play in particular. The film, it is true does have it's flaws - for one it is quite old - and even this brilliantly remastered version can't entirely compensate for that. The screenplay is by the author and retains its wry wit, its intelligence and a slightly verbose 1930s theatricality.
But it is a joy to watch Vivien...
Published on 7 May 2010 by Mr. David Titley

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the carpet?
This is a wonderful film of a wonderful play pleading for tolerance and charity in the affairs of state. "And so, to the end of history, murder shall breed muder, always in the name of right and honour and peace, until the gods are tired of blood and create a race that can understand." Highly recommended....
BUT... inexplicably, the famous scene from Act III of the...
Published on 23 July 2003 by William Tobin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the carpet?, 23 July 2003
By 
William Tobin (Brittany, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film of a wonderful play pleading for tolerance and charity in the affairs of state. "And so, to the end of history, murder shall breed muder, always in the name of right and honour and peace, until the gods are tired of blood and create a race that can understand." Highly recommended....
BUT... inexplicably, the famous scene from Act III of the original play where Cleopatra is smuggled to the beseiged Caesar rolled in a carpet has been cut out, despite the DVD having a scene entitled "A gift for Caesar"! This is like Macbeth without "Out damned spot" or Gone With the Wind without "Frankly my dear, I don't give a damn!"; and it is for this reason that I award 3 stars rather than 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shaw's Egypt, 7 May 2010
By 
Mr. David Titley (Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
I am a great admirer of Shaw -and of this play in particular. The film, it is true does have it's flaws - for one it is quite old - and even this brilliantly remastered version can't entirely compensate for that. The screenplay is by the author and retains its wry wit, its intelligence and a slightly verbose 1930s theatricality.
But it is a joy to watch Vivien Leigh's sexy and spoiled child of a Cleopatra, alongside Claude Rains' gently wise and cynical Ceasar as they play out Shaw's view of what life should be like. The big surprise was Stewart Grainger - A big bold athletic part clothed in the most camp costumes imaginable!
Sets and filming all to the highest standards with no expense spared. Egypt was never quite so vast and gorgeous as it is here, even in the time of the Ptolemys. The Film is a delight, but don't expect Gladiator!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. A. Davison (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
Wonderful film. Excellent transfer to DVD. Vivien Leigh easily outshines the later portrayal by Elizabeth Taylor. Claude Rains is superb as Caesar. Easily Flora Robson's best performance as well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterly adaptation, 30 April 2014
By 
Dr. Peter D. Wilson (Seascale, Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
The film is a remarkably faithful and effective presentation of George Bernard Shaw's impossible-to-stage play. In contrast with Shakespeare's (or Kenneth Williams's!) portrayal, it shows Caesar as a philosophical but charismatic leader who has learned wisdom through his earlier mistakes, and imparts it readily to others. We know his eventual fate, of course, but on departing from Egypt he makes clear his preference for an assassin's knife rather than a natural death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "by george" bernard shaw, it's cleopatra, 5 Dec 2002
This review is from: Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
i came across this DVD after seeing "cleopatra" (taylor, burton et alia) + so bought it out as a curio. based on the george bernard shaw play of the same name it is theatrically based ~ as opposed to cinematic.
there is much artistic licence with the script vis-a-vis reality ~ "cleopatra" the DVD is nearer the truth. but this DVD has its merits. its sets are pared down allowing you to concentrate on the dialogue ~ and its damn good too. vivien leigh plays cleopatra as a coquettish young girl, growing in stature as the film progresses towards it inevitable conclusion. and although i dont find her 'cleopatra' authentic enough, its true to the GBS script.
claude rains is a kindly patrician and this too has its comic moments and is certainly emblematic of the caesar, as played by rex harrison 18 years later in the definative "cleopatra"
it is unfair to compare the two films. suffice to say the "caesar and cleopatra" is most definately in the genre of british theatre making it to the big screen, whilst "cleopatra" is most definately epic.
my recommendation is get both and judge for yourself. each has its place and both are deserving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully directed, classic film., 7 April 2002
By A Customer
As Cleopatra, Leigh is, as always, wonderful. This film is very enjoyable, however cannot be considered on the same level as the later 'Cleopatra' starring Liz Taylor, which goes deeper in its more epic proportions. However, standing apart from this later film, 'Caesar and Cleopatra' is a wonderful film and will be enjoyed by all those who are interested in older films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
By 
Mr. Colin Fox (queensland AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
I enjoyed these discs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars re: caesar and cleopatra, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
thourghly enjoyed this film would highly recommend it , one that you will want to watch over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A rich production for a lovely story, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Troiero Enrico (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
Vivien Leigh at het best, more beautiful than ever and very sexy, shows his talent once more. I appreciated Claude Rains as well, and this film is definitely worth watching. As a long time Vivien Leigh fan, I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historic, 5 Dec 2012
By 
William Anderson "Will Anderson" (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
A fun film that covers the general bits nicely, Cleo the 7th meets J.C. Historically sort of correct with trimmings missing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946]
Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] [1946] by Gabriel Pascal (DVD - 2007)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews