Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rip-roaring entertainment at its best!
I'd heartily recommend this title to anyone. This is the special feature length drama first shown on BBC at Christmas 2001. Far better than the disappointing Jurassic Park sequel with which it shares its title, instead this "Lost World" is a marvellous and intelligent reworking of Conan Doyle's classic adventure story. It has a host of exemplary performances...
Published on 11 Jun. 2002 by Mr. R. MacFadyen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the definitive Lost World by any means, but not at all bad
The BBC's 2002 version of Arthur Conan Doyle's oft-imitated The Lost World is better than most (not saying much considering the low budgets and abysmal special effects of most versions over the past half century) but it still takes plenty of liberties with the source material. Bob Hoskins' irritable Professor Challenger and James Fox's Professor Summerlee are faithful...
Published on 21 Nov. 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good film!, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I love this film from the history of the dinosaurs to the period it was made in and is one of my favourite films.
The packaging for DVD of postage was good even though it didn't come in a plastic film but still played perfect and had no issues with the picture and sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Bought it originally so my son and I could watch it,having read the Ladybird book to him!But not quite appropiate for a 5 year old but I enjoyed it and the DVD will wait til my son is old enough to watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD just what I wanted, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I found it difficult to find a version of this film. This seller was prompt and the DVD was as described in excellent condition. I would highly recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good BBC production, 23 Oct. 2008
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Somehow I missed this first time around, and tuned in to see it on BBC3, however missed a lot of that as well, so time to buy the DVD. Have to say this was an excellent DVD, well shot, good special effects and an outstanding cast list. Also, for once, this was pretty faithful to the original unlike many Hollywood remakes. Well worth a purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fab, 28 May 2014
By 
L. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
made even better by our parrot sitting behind us and saying "woooooo-oooooooo" at the scary bits! the BBC dino puppets were very realistic too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars grinder, 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
very good
I like the fact that it is light to handle
very good, just what l wanted
even the wife can use it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable entertainment., 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The series was enjoyable on tv so it was surprise when I saw it on Amazon.
The dvd was a used item but perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rip-roaring adventure!, 13 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A really great BBC production of the classic novel. Brilliant casting and dialogue, well acted and directed. CGI effects are top notch. I remember watching this production one Christmas on TV and thinking at the time it was excellent, and indeed it is. Can't quite fathom why this doesn't get more airings on TV - TV schedulers are a law unto themselves!! One gripe - the all too common issue (esp with BBC productions) of having the music drowning out the dialogue, argh so annoying, it's inexcusable and extremely frustrating. It's a curse of contemporary TV! I still give this film five stars though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars decent, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
nice film, but less to do with dinosaurs than i thought when i saw this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost World [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
love this one cant wait to see it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost World [DVD] [2001]
The Lost World [DVD] [2001] by Bob Hoskins (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: £6.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews