Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frasier: top quality comedy every episode!
The thing you'll undoubtedly find when watching any Frasier Series, is the quality of the writing. The show changed writers or introduced fresh writers throughout the years to keep things interesting and original. And God knows it's worked. Each episode is cleverly written and authentically funny. I can honestly say I haven't seen a bad episode. In series one we see...
Published on 18 Aug. 2004 by andrewjames2004

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars is this amazing tv show no longer on prime
really!!!!!!!! is this amazing tv show no longer on prime. I've just started watching it for the past couple of weeks and now its been taken off. I'm stopping my membership. What bulls***...
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frasier: top quality comedy every episode!, 18 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Frasier: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The thing you'll undoubtedly find when watching any Frasier Series, is the quality of the writing. The show changed writers or introduced fresh writers throughout the years to keep things interesting and original. And God knows it's worked. Each episode is cleverly written and authentically funny. I can honestly say I haven't seen a bad episode. In series one we see the introduction of each character and during the episodes, the growth of each character within themselves and with each other, their strengths and weaknesses become apparent as they encounter many a hilarious situation. You'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan Frasier Tastic!!, 2 Feb. 2004
By 
McGillfan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frasier: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have followed Frasier since day one, and although have seen every episode umpteen times over on the Paramount channel, it is so brilliant and so deftly played out by the entire cast in their respective roles, it never fails to have me chuckling with delight! The actors give polished performances, are totally believable and their timing top notch. This is one show that doesn't rely on cheap smut to get a giggle - it is sheer class and puts other comedy shows to shame. The writing team is impeccable and their ideas forever fresh. It is comedy heaven! When it finally comes to an end I shall feel as if I have lost family members as I love them all to bits! Thank goodness I have the dvds to keep these treasures forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Jan. 2002
I hate to sound like a commercial, but this really is the best at its best. Its not just a funny show but a look into the some of the most analytical, perceptive people in television. This perception coupled with their talent for writing and structuring programs gives you a sophisticated comedy that is still layed back, that is not easy thing to accomplish. Anyone who thinks they appretiate good television and dosen't appretiate this, thought wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb character-led sitcom, 29 Aug. 2007
By 
Pismotality (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frasier: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Ah, dear, dear Kelsey, his voice so often inflected with that Bette Davis-style hauteur which made you love him even as you laughed. Whatever the faults of late-period Frasier (why, why, why let Niles marry Daphne? Or was that to prepare us for the long goodbye? And let's not even mention that Dick Van Dyke brother - who was meant to be Mancunian anyway), it was, for a long time, a superb sitcom, moving from farce to pathos in a heartbeat: key to its success was trusting the audience to stay with the characters for those pages when the cast weren't cracking wise.

At the core of the show is the relationship between Frasier and his dad, and the melancholy fact that whatever they feel about each other, they can never share that much. One of my fave moments (not in this series) was when Martin's relationship with the cheerful vulgarian, banjo-playin' Sherry, ended. Frasier meets his dad in a bar and seems to want to reassure him, tell him he'd find someone else. But both men know that at Martin's age that's unlikely - and eventually, rather than insult his dad with platitudes Frasier does the only thing he can : he pretends to take an interest in watching the sports on TV with his dad. It's a beautiful scene because, for all their differences, they are offering each other something simply in spending time together. Incidentally Niles, the brother, is really Frasier mk.1 - ie the super-neurotic shrink in Cheers. The new sitcom's creators realised if Frasier was to be at the centre he'd have to be more three-dimensional than his earlier persona allowed. And the happy coincidence that David Hyde Pearce resembled Kelsey Grammar when young swung it. Of such chances are great sitcoms made.

Why did it eventually run out of steam? My friend Mr Bennett said that it was that all the permutations had been tried - there was nothing new to say. I don't know; but I do know that the freshness and verve here is worth cherishing. And if you have been, thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars is this amazing tv show no longer on prime, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really!!!!!!!! is this amazing tv show no longer on prime. I've just started watching it for the past couple of weeks and now its been taken off. I'm stopping my membership. What bulls***...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not on prime anymore. £1. 89 for a ..., 27 Jan. 2015
Not on prime anymore. £1.89 for a 20 minute episode of a show that's been in syndication globally for a decade? No thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rip off, 27 Jan. 2015
It was great when you were able to watch this for free on prime. Not anymore.won't be renewing my subscription.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb character-led sitcom, 29 Aug. 2007
By 
Pismotality (London, England) - See all my reviews
Ah, dear, dear Kelsey, his voice so often inflected with that Bette Davis-style hauteur which made you love him even as you laughed. Whatever the faults of late-period Frasier (why, why, why let Niles marry Daphne? Or was that to prepare us for the long goodbye? And let's not even mention that Dick Van Dyke brother - who was meant to be Mancunian anyway), it was, for a long time, a superb sitcom, moving from farce to pathos in a heartbeat: key to its success was trusting the audience to stay with the characters for those pages when the cast weren't cracking wise.

At the core of the show is the relationship between Frasier and his dad, and the melancholy fact that whatever they feel about each other, they can never share that much. One of my fave moments (not in this series) was when Martin's relationship with the cheerful vulgarian, banjo-playin' Sherry, ended. Frasier meets his dad in a bar and seems to want to reassure him, tell him he'd find someone else. But both men know that at Martin's age that's unlikely - and eventually, rather than insult his dad with platitudes Frasier does the only thing he can : he pretends to take an interest in watching the sports on TV with his dad. It's a beautiful scene because, for all their differences, they are offering each other something simply in spending time together. Incidentally Niles, the brother, is really Frasier mk.1 - ie the super-neurotic shrink in Cheers. The new sitcom's creators realised if Frasier was to be at the centre he'd have to be more three-dimensional than his earlier persona allowed. And the happy coincidence that David Hyde Pearce resembled Kelsey Grammar when young swung it. Of such chances are great sitcoms made.

Why did it eventually run out of steam? My friend Mr Bennett said that it was that all the permutations had been tried - there was nothing new to say. I don't know; but I do know that the freshness and verve here is worth cherishing. And if you have been, thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no longer on prime, 27 Jan. 2015
I can't watch this on prime any more. Without any notice I am asked to pay 1.89 per episode. A disgrace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, right from the off, 11 Sept. 2008
By 
KN (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Frasier - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Most sitcoms need at least one season to introduce the characters and then another to develop them, after which things take off - Seinfeld is a classic example. However, Frasier hits its stride in the first season, with clever, insightful and often farcical comedy - virtually from the first episode. This is a clear sign of things to come as it went on to become arguably the greatest sitcom to date.

The show looks like its from another period (remember it is 1993) as Frasier has his originally long hair (like in Cheers) and there are no mobile phones, which are used to much comic effect in later seasons. However, the comedy isn't dated at all. The Crane brothers are witty, desperate, pompous yet lovable, and dad Martin keeps them down to earth in that way we are all used to. Daphne is probably at her wackiest in this season as we see her in her psychic mode more often than not.

The episodes were mostly top drawer with a number of outstanding ones:

'The Good Son' - the first episode introducing Frasier to his new Seattle surrounds, which won an Emmy award; that must say something!
'Space Quest' - Frasier struggles to read his book in peace living with dad Martin and therapist Daphne.
'Selling Out' - introduces the agent from hell; Bebe Glazier.
'Here's Looking at You' - Frasier gets his dad a telescope, which helps him get a date.
'Call Me Irresponsible' - Frasier dates a caller but this conflicts with his ethics.
'Miracle on Third or Fourth Street' - Frasier eats at a local diner on Christmas Day, without his wallet.
'A Mid-Winter Night's Dream' - Niles has his first close encounter with an unsuspecting Daphne.
'Travels with Martin' - on a road trip in Martins Winnebago (caravan), they all end up in Canada.
'Frasier Crane's Day Off' - Frasier falls ill and asks Niles to cover for him on the radio. Niles quickly gets the hang of it causing Frasier much angst.

If you are new to Frasier - start at the beginning and watch this series. You will enjoy comedy of the highest order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frasier: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [2003]
Frasier: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [2003] by Kelsey Grammer (DVD - 2003)
£13.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews