Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ever wanted to be a Barman?
This is one of my favourite 80`s films. It`s a bit under-rated in my opinion. It`s got plenty to keep you interested, and great performances, from the co-stars Bryan Brown and especially Elisabeth Shue, playing Cruise`s girlfriend. It`s got some fanatastic scenes where Cruise and Brown, are doing tricks with the bottles behind the bar - if you ever wanted to be a...
Published on 11 July 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average...
Cocktail' is at best an average watch. A stereotypical affair.

Cruise plays a talented and ambitious bartender who aspires to working in business and finds love while working at a bar in Jamaica.

Cruise is fantastic throughout. He carries the film on his shoulders, and is the prime reason why this film doesn't bore. Bryan Brown's character &...
Published on 10 Nov. 2011 by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ever wanted to be a Barman?, 11 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cocktail [VHS] [1989] (VHS Tape)
This is one of my favourite 80`s films. It`s a bit under-rated in my opinion. It`s got plenty to keep you interested, and great performances, from the co-stars Bryan Brown and especially Elisabeth Shue, playing Cruise`s girlfriend. It`s got some fanatastic scenes where Cruise and Brown, are doing tricks with the bottles behind the bar - if you ever wanted to be a barman watch this! A good soundtrack, and definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business Owner Tom Cruise, 14 May 2014
This review is from: Cocktail [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I originally purchased the rental of “Cocktail” (starring Tom Cruise) on April 11, 2014 to complement my purchases of two other movies starring Tom Cruise (Top Gun and Jerry Maguire). Tom Cruise stars as a former military veteran named Brian Flanagan who is determined to transition into a successful and prosperous man on a professional scale. Things do not initially go as planned in his job search and educational efforts. He bounces back through trying his hand at employment in a bar after initially making an impression on Dough Coughlin (played by Bryan Brown). Flanagan and Coughlin team up together in the bar and impress some of the most influential people in New York. What sets the tone for the movie is that Flanagan is serious about eventually opening his own business and encourages Coughlin to partner up with him. Obviously, I must avoid saying more to keep in mind those who have not seen the film. However,what also shapes Flanagan’s journey is when he unexpectedly falls in love with a woman who feels the same way about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He poured, he reigned; at the box office at least., 31 Mar. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cocktail [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Tom Cruise stars as Brian Flanagan, who is fresh out the army and finding that landing an executive job in the big city isn't as easy as he thought. Taking on a course for a business degree, he winds up working part time at a cocktail bar under the tutelage of bar tending philosopher Doug Coughlin (Bryan Brown). A new world is about to open up for both of them.

Right, I have the softest of soft spots for this movie. That doesn't mean I'm not aware of its many failings, most notably the heavy weight of predictability that pounds down on the head from the very first frame. But as simple as it may be (oh this is plot line simplicity decorated in flashy booze bottle twiddling), and the obvious cash in on Cruise's box office appeal that it was (note that his next film was the considerable shift to Rain Man), it's fun (thanks to Bryan Brown's mugging) and sweetly romantic (thanks to Elisabeth Shue being sweetly romantic). Yeah it's a hard sell I know! But Cruise charms in a way that has his haters swigging the Alabama Slammers by the dozen, and guys! Kelly Lynch pops up wearing a thong. Yeah I'm pretty shallow where Cocktail is concerned, sue me...

All together now, "This magic moment" 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "it's in, now it's out, wait a minute it's back in again", 18 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Cocktail [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
On the face of it Cocktail is an 80's cheesy chick flick with corny music and dialog. But take a second look and you will find that this film is a bloody good romantic drama which tackles some serious issues. And Tom Cruise gives a fine performance as Brian Flanagan trying to get through college and bag himself a high flying job. His character could be an older version of the one in Risky Business or a younger version of the one in The Firm. We see Flangan go from a cocky young man to a serious businessman taking on a lot more than he had bargained for.

Flanagan ends getting a bar job which becomes a success with his business partner played by Bryan Brown. However their relationship is tested and Flanagan goes off to Jamaica to run his own beach bar. Flanagan ends up teaming up with his old partner again after their personal issues with each other are laid to rest. This is where the story takes a significant turn. We see Flanagan meet a girl who becomes a significant part of his life and we find out that his once business partner is now a boozer and flat broke because of his gold digging slag wagon of a wife. We see her prancing around the beach with nothing but a bikini top the size of a stamp covering her massive fun bags and a g-string that looks like it would slice her in three.

Flanagan goes through loads of ups and downs and you do really feel for him because of Cruise's superb acting. This is mainly a feel good film but there are some tear jerking moments with suicide and the chemistry between Cruise and Elizibeth Shue. When I was watching it the last time I noticed that when Flanagan is going from job interview to job interview his hair style changes with the intercuts in the same scenes. I also remember when this film came out, I was 12 and the movie was a 15 at the cinema. Now the dimwits I went to school with were all trying to say they went to see it and bragged about it at school trying to be all hard and cool. They made reference to the love scene at the waterfall and went around saying you actually see penetration shots! What a load of dicks there were at my school!

Hey here's a thought, they could remake Cocktail and set it in Whitby but instead of having bartender the story could centre around a mobile seafood stall. Instead of calling Cocktail it could be called Cockellstail. And instead of the romantic setting of the waterfall in Jamacia we could have out star nipping over to Scarbourgh back scuttling a bird in a disabled bog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hollywood Fantasty On Real Life., 11 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Cocktail [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Movies have a way of glamourising even the most mundane of jobs. I have a friend who's been a bartender most of his working life and I know for sure he would write this film off as total fantasy. Tom Cruise delivers a typical trademark Cruise performance that is in my humble opinion vastly overshadowed by Bryan Brown who seems more of a natural on screen to me. I've always got the feeling from Cruise that he is acting whereas Brown you can almost believe is like that in real life. I'll admit I'm not a Cruise fan and this film makes him just about bearable for me. There are some classic lines here eg Cruise: "They all Hate me", Brown: "Wait till you've given them crabs, then you'll know real hate". At some point in the Jamaica scenes there is a total waste of expensive film footage on some of the longest kissing scenes I've ever scene. I presume this was put in as Cruise was at the peak of his heartthrob days but to me it's just annoying and I end up skipping through it to get back to the story. I do like this film because, as noted by somebody else "it makes you want to be a bartender". I refer you to my first and second sentence in this review. Despite its flaws it is without a doubt a classic with some great music, and some good escapism. I give it Four stars, without Cruise it would have been Five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocktails & Dreams, 13 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Cocktail [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
The ultimate Tom Cruise film. This has everything you expect from a Tom Cruise film and more. A young Cruise in a familiar role as a character who struggles to acheive a dream and surpasses insurmountable odds to make it. A dramatic surprise twist at the end to a great and inspriring ending. His character in Cocktail is a great follow up to his previous success at that time in Top Gun. Although more grounded in the real world and making it on the streets, a 1988 classic. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does for bar work what road house did for bouncers and point break did for surfers, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great film a timeless classic that is still as good now as it was then when it first came out made all the better with the blu ray treatment. That said the picture could have done with a bit more tweaking but with a film this age it really don't matter. I watched it and some of the detail that shines through makes it seem like a new movie. I highly recommend this to anyone especially those of you who love a bit of nostalgia and are now In there mid 30s it'll take you right back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The little guy's finest hour!, 15 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Cocktail [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Brian heads to the big apple in search of fame and fortune by pushing cocktails onto the city's rich and beautiful. Besides his wonderfully cheesy ode to the cocktail at the swanky nightclub, the best scene is when Brian and Doug artfully toss liquer bottles to the tune of Robert Palmer's classic 'Addicted to Love'. Pure unadulterated 80s pleasure! Some might object to the movie's allusions to souless lifestyles motivated by the pursuit of money and gorgeous women, and this certainly parallels similar patterns in movies such as 'Pretty Woman' and 'Born Yesterday'. This is partly symptomatic of the era in which the film is set, so rather then hissing and booing at the movie's premise it is more realistic to regard its sentiments within context. Furthermore, ultimately just like Melaine Griffith's character in 'Working Girl', Brian rejects the lifestyle ex-business partner Doug succumbs to. 'Cocktail' flirts with serious topics such as alcoholism, over indulgence and the rich/poor divide however at heart it is a feel good movie about triumph over adversity and getting the girl! Make yourself an Old Fashioned, and sit back and enjoy a young and handsome Cruise. They just don't make movies like this anymore and although it is somewhat of a guilty pleasure, it is a pleasure none the less!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocktail, 17 Mar. 2011
By 
Paul Herring (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cocktail [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
As its got Tom Cruise in it, its bound to be good! I bought this as I have been reliving my youth a bit. Tom doesn't disappoint... well recommended, story line a little predictable toward the end but it does keep you watching. If you're a romantic you will enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love 80's films, 15 Mar. 2000
This review is from: Cocktail [VHS] [1989] (VHS Tape)
Great film to watch if are in the need for some classic 80's nostalgia. Tom Cruise plays a cocktail waiter with all the great pick up lines. As with a lot of 80's films the story is predictable but hey the great music and bad hairdos make it a must see and a must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cocktail [DVD] [1989]
Cocktail [DVD] [1989] by Roger Donaldson (DVD - 2002)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews