Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Fantasy films ever!
May I suggest that 'surround sound' is turned off???
As all the other reviewers seem to be concentrating on the presentation and not the content of the film, here's my twopence worth.
Definitely not a kid's film, this is a dark, sensual adult film of the age-old theme of the devil wanting darkness to take over the world - requiring the services of a virgin and a...
Published on 13 Jan 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once. Twice. Three times a Legend.
There is only 1 reason to buy this blu-ray release. For the EUROPEAN THEATRICAL VERSION, which gives us yet another version of the film, from a Director who seems to like two, three, and in some cases even four versions of one film. It is presented with better sound, than we've had before, Jerry Goldsmith's score can be heard clearly and the dialogue and sound effects are...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by N. Witton


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Once. Twice. Three times a Legend., 9 Feb 2012
By 
N. Witton "Dnez" (Darlo. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend [Blu-ray] [1985] (Blu-ray)
There is only 1 reason to buy this blu-ray release. For the EUROPEAN THEATRICAL VERSION, which gives us yet another version of the film, from a Director who seems to like two, three, and in some cases even four versions of one film. It is presented with better sound, than we've had before, Jerry Goldsmith's score can be heard clearly and the dialogue and sound effects are crisp and sharp, giving the listener an all round balance of sound. The picture is the best I've seen it, it's rich in color and sharp in detail, the quality is not lost in the darkness, like the Director's Cut.

My main problem with this release, is the lack of, or NO special features. You get two versions of the film and that's it. Unlike:

Legend [DVD] [1986] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]

This has two versions of the film, US THEATRICAL RELEASE / DIRECTOR'S CUT. A Director's Commentary, and a shed load of extras. The disc's themselves have the original posters printed on them, unlike the blu-ray disc, the menu's are better, beautiful, atmospheric images animated to catch the eye, and the packaging is beautiful, not just publicity photo's layered together in Photoshop. So why couldn't all of these, be incorporated in the blu-ray release too????????????????????

For the true fan, you must get BOTH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Fantasy films ever!, 13 Jan 2003
By 
Amazon Customer "Bones" (Newcastle-on-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
May I suggest that 'surround sound' is turned off???
As all the other reviewers seem to be concentrating on the presentation and not the content of the film, here's my twopence worth.
Definitely not a kid's film, this is a dark, sensual adult film of the age-old theme of the devil wanting darkness to take over the world - requiring the services of a virgin and a unicorn. The visual effects and photography are just brilliant, given the era this was made in - you can see Ridley Scott's influence and imagery in the latest Lord of the Rings films.
The acting is superb;
young Tom Cruise (as Jack) brings off the young lad charged with the task of rescuing the Princess and destroying Darkness with a grace and style that belong to a veteran;
Tim Curry is in his best-ever role here, (even better than Frankenfurter!); the stifled undercurrent of rage is barely held in check as he woos the slightly-willing princess; one is almost convinced by him as he declares his philosophy and aims - "No Good without Evil; no Love without Hate; no Innocence without Lust..." in that rich chocolatey voice; and his laughter and dismissive tone as 'the BOYY!' Jack confronts him sends shivers down one's spine;
and Mia Sara (whatever happened to her?) is both innocence and seduction, and believable in both roles, but her forceful rejection of the Lord of Darkness is as powerful a piece of acting as you will ever get.
Altogether a classic of film-making - seeing it again after several years makes one realise what a masterpiece this is!
Unreservedly recommended. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it even more after 16 years...!, 17 May 2003
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this movie on tv over 16 years ago and fell in love with it. And even still, at age 20, it is my favourite movie. I believe I am this movie's biggest fan and critic. I have 7 veriated versions of this movie, and have easily seen Legend close to 4000 times (no, it's not a sickness, it just spoke to me in different ways everytime i saw/see it).
It's still so sad that the dance scene had not been rightfully placed back into the movie after all these years.
If it had been, then the movie would finally be complete.
There are so many funny little changes in each version; between misplaced lines, scene sequences, dubs, etc... There's no wonder why I just keep watching it.
I still haven't fulfilled my goal of taking every extra little bit and piece that all the movies have and lack and create my own version with every single line and scene possible to match the complete script as closely as possible.
Sounds disturbing, but if ridley can't do it, I will!
They say a great book can be identified when it entices you just as much/or even more after you read it as a child, adult, and grow old.
That's precisely how I view Legend.
;) CHEERS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Legend & Ultimate Confusion, 7 Jan 2009
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly to point out i'm not going to review this film , i'll leave that task to others - just to clarify some version confusion.
There are actually 5 versions of this film although to try and clarify rather than confuse , i'll concentrate on the 3 that have been released on DVD , leaving to one side the VHS version and the TV version.
In the US there are 2 main versions - the new director's cut which is 113 minutes long and the US theatrical version which is 89 minutes. The UK and European Theatrical release is 94 minutes, however, the dvd uk release on the amazon pages is the edited UK TV version running at a further chopped 89 minutes.
The differences are largely in the beginning , middle and end sequences and most obviously, the musical scores.
The original musical score for the film was by Jerry Goldsmith but was discarded before general US release in theatres because the film was considered too long and cut down from 119 minutes to 89 minutes before release. For this reason a new musical score by Tangerine Dream was used for the US theatrical release.
In the UK and Europe, the movie was slightly less edited and included 5 more minutes ( probably even longer if you consider the difference in frame speed between NTSC and PAL ) and the original Jerry Goldsmith score was re-edited and used.
Ridley Scott also used almost the complete Goldsmith score for his director's cut ( only available in the USA ) which extended the film back to its almost original length, only missing the alternative beginning with the 4 goblins finding the unicorn hair and the faerie dance featuring Tom Cruise dancing with the fairys ( no laughing please )

Music aside - the other main differences are

1) beginning - the Director's Cut has the macabre torture and body hacking scenes from the Castle Dungeon of darkness as well as the full body silhouette of Darkness on his throne. The two other versions have the same cut of Blix making his way through the forest upon being summoned by darkness.

2) middle - most famously , the Meg Mucklebones scene - this was hacked to a totally confusing and wasted 51 seconds in the US Theatrical release leaving most people wondering what it was all about ! the director's cut restores most of it to a 2 minute 20 second session that includes a lot of the banter between Jack and Meg but the fullest version is surprisingly in the UK theatrical release ( at over 3 minutes ) which does Meg her full justice and is the only one of the 3 that includes the dialogue " what a fine meal you'll make if the rest of you be as sweet as your tongue " - this line although included in the UK dvd release, has been included in a further edited "Meg" scene making the running time of this sequence a paltry 1 min 40 sec.

3) end - in all 3 versions the end monologue by darkness before he disappears is different and extended in both the US versions ( no idea why as none of the 3 either add or take away from what the other 2 say ) - the US versions only show 1 of his hands being severed by Jack before he disappears whereas the UK version shows darkness clawing at the rock walls, finger nails sparking and howling as he is sucked to the edge of the precipice - before you also see jack hacking both his hands off although no monologue is given by darkness before this happens. The UK dvd release also edits the sequence showing only one hand being removed, you'll need to get the original VHS version to see all of it.

There are of course other differences , mostly all minor and cosmetic but too many to list here and obviously most notable in the director's cut- hope this helps clear any confusion out there.

As a final comment - all 3 versions have their strengths and weaknesses - the director's cut has added a lot of good stuff whilst also confusingly eliminated or reduced other good stuff - I would love tog et my hands on all 3 master tapes and make my own "ultimate fan's version" as there are bits and pieces from both theatrical releases that I would like to extend into the director's cut - I'd also like to use the full Tangerine Dream soundtrack for the finished version , currently only available as a soundtrack on the US ultimate dvd edition ( it was also edited for the US theatrical release )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring Back Tangerine Dream Soundtrack!!, 14 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with the other reviews. This is a fantastic film, but to me what made it as a child was the Tangerine Dream soundtrack. I was SOOO disappointed when I bought the DVD and found that the soundtrack was different. I have been holding out for a couple of years for the other version but so far no luck. The film is defintely still worth watching, but I much prefer the Tangerine Dream soundtrack. I guess we'll just have to keep on waiting!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Legend UK Blu-Ray, 14 Mar 2012
By 
D. Rodgers "Frodo" (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend [Blu-ray] [1985] (Blu-ray)
Very disappointing release of Legend on blu-ray for the UK. I have since returned it and bought the US blu-ray version (region free). The differences are just to big to opt for the UK version. First of all the UK gets the European Cut and Director's Cut, these both carry the Jerry Goldsmith music score. I personally prefer the US Theatrical Cut with the Tangerine Dream score, so on that score (no pun intended) the US disc for me. The second point is the UK gets the Director's Cut in lossly DD5.1, whereas the US disc gets DTS-MA5.1 for both cuts....another win for the US disc. And finally, the UK gets a bonus feature of....a trailer. The US gets all the documentries, audio commentary and the rest of the bits and bobs from the Ultimate Edition DVD release....again another win for the US disc. So basically the one thing the UK disc has over the US disc is the European Theatrical Cut (running approx 4 mins longer than the US Theatrical Cut), however I would personally opt for the US Theatrical Cut as the complete change of music score from Jerry Goldsmith to Tangerine Dream makes a huge difference.

It's a shame the UK gets inferior releases sometimes (a la Legend, Scream 4, etc).

D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its no blockbuster but it's a hell of a good watch, 14 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of people criticise the 'wooden' acting and general unrealness of this film, but personally I don't believe that any of that ditracts from the film as a whole. The film was not going to gross millions and millions, but it's still a masterpiece. It's a fairytale, and is true to the surreal and exaggirated nature of those old stories. I suppose watching this film you feel more as if you are watching a play than a realistically acted film, but there is nothing wrong with that.

On the other hand I cannot pass comment on the replaced score. Fortunately for me this was the first version I saw (I think. It was so long ago that I watched it first) so I was spared the experience of missing the Tangerine Dream music that everyone seems to love so much. Personally I don't have a problem with the DVD version score, but that's just me.

In short, the film is definately worth it's price on Amazon, if not any other, and if you have never seen this film before then trust me, it's worth buying it without checking it out before hand. It is a beautiful and engaging masterpiece with a captivating story that you really need to have experienced if you like this film genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great fairy tale but where are the DVD extras??, 1 Mar 2002
By 
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Legend is a great fantasy/fairy tale movie. As usual, Ridley Scott produces a total atmosphere of adventure and wonder and Tim Curry was a great choice for the role of Darkness (minus the suspenders of course).
Die hard film buffs will recognise the Unicorn dancing scene as that included in the Directors Cut version of Blade Runner. The sequence was used to show one of Deckard's dreams and leads us to believe that he is a Replicant.
Where Legend falls down is the DVD features, as is the case with most UK releases. I remember owning the video of the film and then saw a completely different version on the television. Yet again another Ridley Scott directors cut.
But why aren't the two versions included on the same disc? Wouldn't be because this is due for release sometime in the future would it? Hmm....
If you enjoy Ridley Scott's work, then this is one for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This film is a must, 18 Sep 2006
By 
Ms. R. L. Spencer "Spencer" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is (as the title suggests) absolute LEGEND! I first watched this as a little kid and fell completely in love with it!It's definately one of those classics to put in your DVD collection. If you loved films like Labrynth, Dark Crystal and The Goonies..you'll love this..an absolute must have! Does anybody know where to get the original film soundtrack?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "No Good without Evil. No Love without Hate. No Innocence without Lust. I am Darkness.", 4 Jun 2012
This review is from: Legend [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
-THE FILM-- Tom Cruise stars in this visually-stunning fantasy adventure in which pure good and evil battle to the death amidst spectacular surroundings. Set in a timeless mythical forest inhabited by fairies, goblins, unicorns and mortals, this fantastic story has Tom Cruise, a mystical forest dweller, chosen by fate to undertake a heroic quest. He must save a beautiful princess, Mia Sara, and defeat the demonic Lord of Darkness, Tim Curry, or the world will be plunged into a never-ending ice age. Co-starring Billy Barty and Alice Playten and directed by Ridley Scott, famed for his remarkable settings and unparalleled imagery, the incredibly realized fable is the stuff movie legends are made of.
WHAT CAN I SAY?
the story though a simple tale of good versus evil, has spectacular cinematography, and the score and soundtrack flow with the movie in perfect synchronicity, the imagery gives the full impression of an epic fantasy world, filled with interesting and unusual characters, Tim Curry gives a wonderful portrayal of the personification of Evil. Though not a movie for young children The movie has absolutely amazing cinematography to bring the wonderful scenes to life. Watch the movie
it will transport you into a world full of fantasy and love!
it's beautiful,
it's magical and full of meaning!!
it's one of the first fantasy,
it's good versus evil stories,
it's long long before Harry Potter and Lord of The Rings.
it's such stuff as dreams are made of. This is Legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend [1985] [DVD]
Legend [1985] [DVD] by Ridley Scott (DVD - 2002)
£3.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews