Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dated Graphics, yet Best of the Series
Final Fantasy VI (6) finally on PSOne, will now allow all the recently converted Final Fantasy fans to experience the Final Fantasy game that was, and in some aspects still is, the best Final Fantasy in the series. While it was only originally published on the Super Nintendo (known as Final Fantasy III), Square have taken the game and ported it to the PlayStation.
If...
Published on 24 Feb 2002 by Dave Morris

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great game ruined by a terrible conversion
Final fantays VI is my second favourite game in the series. It has a brilliant story, the music is the best I have ever heard in any game, the characters are great, its got a relatively long lifespan (though not as long as the newer Final Fantasies) and most importantly a great fun batle system. Why have I given it just 3 stars you ask? I am used to playing this game on...
Published on 28 Mar 2002


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dated Graphics, yet Best of the Series, 24 Feb 2002
This review is from: Final Fantasy VI (Video Game)
Final Fantasy VI (6) finally on PSOne, will now allow all the recently converted Final Fantasy fans to experience the Final Fantasy game that was, and in some aspects still is, the best Final Fantasy in the series. While it was only originally published on the Super Nintendo (known as Final Fantasy III), Square have taken the game and ported it to the PlayStation.
If you already own the original version from the Super Nintendo, there is little different, as the entire game has been left intact, complete with its original SNES graphics. However, Squaresoft have taken it upon themselves to include a whole set of CG videos such are like all those present in all later PlayStation Final Fantasies, giving a breathtaking view on the story.
The game itself contains the largest set of characters in ANY Final Fantasy game (over 12 of them) and is regarded as the best piece of work in the series, as it manages to flex the story to make every one of them important to the story in some way. This is unlike the later games that always have characters that have little reason for being in the party story wise (Such as Yuffie (VII) or Quina (IX)). In the game, you start as a group of rebels against the Emperor and Kefka (his general, and a brilliant working of evil lunatic). The game is huge and provides hours of gameplay, and just when you think it is over after reaching the climax of it all, you will find out your only half way though!
The battle system shows where most of everything has come from in the later Final Fantasies, including the Espers (that you may know as Summons, G.F.s, Eidolons, and Aeons). With a mixture of the VII, VIII and IX ability systems to have party members with unique abilities that can ALL learn magic and summoning, using the 4-character battle system present in IX.
You will love this game as a fan, it is a pure Final Fantasy and you will not be disappointed with the game itself. If, however, you are someone who does not like dated graphics regardless gameplay, you may be cautious, as the game has had no real update in the games own graphics department (apart from the CG work) even though these graphics were top-notch for a Super Nintendo at the time.
There is also a little extra for people who purchase this game, as you will be presented with a playable demo of Final Fantasy X (PS2 Only), where any European players can finally get a try with Squares latest for the first time. The demo is to include two separate areas for you to explore in, it may be a small demo, but if you have been waiting forever for this game to be released, now is your chance to try it early.
If you are a Final Fantasy fan, and do not already have the SNES version, you should get this game. If you had/have the SNES version, you might want it for nostalgia or just to see the new CG work. but you will already know what the entire game will be like. If you are not strictly a fan, then its dated graphics may be enough to keep you away, although the Final Fantasy X demo might just be enough to justify a purchase. Final Fantasy VI is a game I have completed many times, yet still believe to be the best of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... Don't think! Just buy it!, 23 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy VI (Video Game)
Final Fantasy III, one of the most loved Final Fantasies ever. It was also one of the most revered Super Nintendo games. Sadly, times have moved on and the next generation of gamers cannot experience this wonderful game with the obselete Super Nintendo. Luckily, it has come back to us on the Playstation as Final Fantasy VI.
The gameplay for this game is pretty good. It has no analog control, as we have all come to love. But that really doesn't matter. Another interesting feature about this game is that you can use two players. One of the players gets to control the character, but the second only gets to control two of them in battle. Each character has four abilities in the menu during battle. All of them have attack, as always, then they all have Item as well. There are two more spots for commands. Each character has a special ability uniqe to them. Terra has Magic, which enables her to use powerful magic spells, which is an attack you may find essential early on. Locke has Steal, considering he is thief. He likes to refer to himself as a "treasure hunter," although some of the treasure he hunts is in other peoples' belongings. There are many other characters with special abilities, but I won't let you know about these just yet. This leaves one more slot for a command. This is reserved for magic. Yes, your characters, besides Terra, will be able to use magic eventually. They can't use magic unless granted so by the Espers, which you will gain control of later on. Each Esper has its own magical spell. Each character has can equip one Esper at a time. As a character fights, he gains AP (Ability Points). Each magic spell has its own learning rate. I can be from X1 to X5. Each Ability Point a character gains from a battle is multiplied by the spells learning rate. For example, if a spell has a X5 learning rate, and a character gained 1 AP from a battle, that character learns 5% of the spell. Once the percent of the spell learned reaches 100, the character learns that spell perminately. During battle, the character can also summon the Esper equiped. However, you can only use the Esper once. This may seem like a drawback to some, but it really makes battles more interesting and much more challenging.
Overall, this game was great. I highly recomend you play it. I normally suggest that you rent a game before you decide to buy it. But this game is an exception, it is a 100% like if you're a lover of RPG's. I have never, not even once, come across someone who liked to play RPG's that didn't absolutely love Final Fantasy 6. If you play this game and do not like it, please let me know because you're a phenomenon. This is one of the few games they should keep remaking over and over for newer game consoles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 1 Oct 2006
By 
J. Lynch (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy VI (Video Game)
Living in the UK I never got the chance to experience Final Fantasy III when it was released on the snes in america way back in 1993. So when Final Fantasy VI arrived in england before FFX on the PS2 I immdeiately purchased the game with the intention on playing the demo of FFX and not FFVI, but being a fan of the series it didn't take long to pop that disk in and start playing.

From the first scene to the last I was overwhelmed with nearly every aspect of the game, here is why.

The grapics by todays standards are very ordinary but still makes the game what it is. For 1993 this was speical stuff, with little animations from each character and detailed backdrops including the world map you can't help but be amazed on what square have achieved in this cartridge with tiny little space.

The music and sound for this game are outstanding. With hardware restrictions Nobuo Uematsu (Composer)has done an incredible job. The songs really fit the mood of each character and scene par a few which really do little to discredit how good this is. Personal favs are terra's theme, boss battle and shadow's theme.

The Battle system is something all modern day final fantasy players can get stright into with menu driven tactic commands. Attacks, spells and summons (Espers in this game)are all part of what makes this game great from the get go.

The time spent on this game took a big chunk out of my life with about 20-25 hours to complete and additional 10-15 hours to collect and do everything which means you should be in for the long haul, but don't be worried because by the time you finish you will want more.

To finish I would like to say that most people are put of from RPG's because of time length and the genre in general but hey this is one game you never want to miss. EVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FF fan? BUY IT!, 28 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy VI (Video Game)
After a long wait, we get one of the best FF's made.Originally for the snes, only released in Japan and America it was acclaimed as one of the best Final Fantasy's yet,pushing the super nintendo's power.The graphics may not compare to recent rpg's, you have to remember it is from 1994.The story follows Terra, a young girl with the gift of magic. Not knowing who she is because of the empire (the bad guys!)slave crown.You fight with her 13 friends to beat kefka,one of the empires generals, who actually has his own plans to overcome the empire and take over the world.Your skills vary,Sabin as a Zell style blitz move and Edgar can use different tools (look out for sound blaster! its very funny).This is one of my favourite games, so do yourself a favour and BUY IT NOW!...Graphics: 4 Gameplay:5 lastability:5 OVERALL:5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, what can you say?, 13 Oct 2002
By 
Benjamin Wilson "dd528" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy VI (Video Game)
This game is wonderful. There are very few games that are better than Final Fantasy 6 (although IMO Chrono Trigger and FF7 are).
The story is wonderful and incredibly involving. Although Terra is the main focus of the story, other characters such as Locke and Celes are wonderfully developed. The game world is the best of the fantasy-oriented games in the series. Also ther errr... world-shattering event that takes place part through the game truly changes your perception of how epic a story can be.
A special mention must be given to the fighting system in the game. The development of character's skills through Espers is perhaps the best system the series has seen. Some people may be disappointed at the lack of a job system (which was scrapped after FF5) but the Esper system is really better, I think. Battles themselves flow very well and are enjoyable.
The graphics in FF6 are the best the SNES ever saw. There are a whole range of tricks including trasparency effects and even pseudo-3D on the world map. Most spells (especially the Espers) are brilliant, although they will always pale in comparison to the later games, especially with the recent release of FF10.
The sound in the game is perfect. The music has to be the highpoint of Uematsu's career and Terra's them is the most beautifully crafted piece of music in any game, ever.
So, should you buy this game. The short answer is yes. The long answer is yes, as long as you have a vague liking for RPGs, don't mind losing a few dozen hours of your life, and have no problem with the 16 bit graphics (although the newly added FMVs should keep you happy in the eye-candy department).
Basically this game will be one of the best you have ever bought, perhaps even life changing. I think that FF7 is the best game ever but this isn't far off. Deep, intense, mindblowing and very ocassionally traumatic, this isn't a game, it's an experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who cares about the graphics, this is one awsome game, 16 Jan 2004
By 
Mr. D. Meredith "Dyl" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Final Fantasy VI (Video Game)
I am a massive Final Fantasy fan and if you are too then deffinatley buy this game. Even though the graphics aren't too impressive i still find this game just as enjoyable as any of the other Final Fantasy games. I would even say that Final Fantasy VI was one of the best.
It is longer than the newer final fantasy's by far and has a much better story.
Don't hesitate, just buy the game, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for more after FF12?, 12 May 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy VI (Video Game)
Apart from obviosly FF7 this is the best game ever - not only in the FF series. Its tricky at the beginning (i've died more in this than any other), but this game is so much fun. The graphics are simple and not over the top, but the mini games wouldn't work with new outstanding graphics.

To trigger events you need differnt people in your party and when you think the game is over it goes into part two. This game has everything, music, characters, side quests, its brilliant.

One tip - don't cheat by looking for hints on-line, just relax and enjoy. There will not be another game like this ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellently done..., 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy VI (Video Game)
When I heard that FF9 (which was quite a let down due to isolation of, well...pointless characters e.g Amarant that was my favourite and didn`t get mentioned more than 5 times)was going to be the last of a god-like series on the PSX, it broke my heart. Then this late godsend comes (finally) to British shores and really did make my day. Brilliant character development, not the whole- story-around-2-main-characters rubbish, but a whole cast of weird and wonderful peoples. Exellent story and plot, as per usual due to Squaresoft. The best 2d graphics I`ve ever seen and the rest of that un-nameable magic all the Final Fantasys possess. This is brilliant until we all finally get enough money to buy a PSX2 and play the demo (it`s very tempting to put it into your PSX1 but don't or you WILL muck up your console).Till then, dine on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Fantasy VI, 29 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy VI (Video Game)
This was the very first final fantasy game I ever played and I played it way back on the snes. It is, in my opinion, one of the best games ever created and is my joint favorite final fantasy game with final fantasy VII. The character depth in this game is amazing with some of the very best charachters of all time such as Celes and Edgar. The story is also very involving and the game system is equally good. When it came out on the PSX I rushed out to buy it and play it again and was not dissapointed. However, I think it was a great shame that squaresoft couldn't be bothered to update the graphics in the game, none the less, it is completely playable,the only minor problem being the fact that you are attacked every 10 seconds or so. I would definitely recomend this game to everyone - it is a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great game ruined by a terrible conversion, 28 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Final Fantasy VI (Video Game)
Final fantays VI is my second favourite game in the series. It has a brilliant story, the music is the best I have ever heard in any game, the characters are great, its got a relatively long lifespan (though not as long as the newer Final Fantasies) and most importantly a great fun batle system. Why have I given it just 3 stars you ask? I am used to playing this game on my imported SNES and I grew to like the lightning fast battles, complete lack of load times and full screen gameplay. On the playstation the game has been slowed down and has big borders at the top and the bottom because it has been converted to PAL. However, this isn't the worst thing. The battles take about 10 seconds to load and about 10 seconds to get out of once you're finished. Compare this to 2 on the SNES and you'll see why I hate it. You spend far more time waiting for battles to load than actually playing them. It's a shame then that this game never game out in the UK on the SNES, because the Playstation doesn't do this masterpiece any justice whatsoever. Buy it if you are very patient but if you aren't then I suggest playing the SNES version somehow as you'll die of frustration otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy VI
Final Fantasy VI by Sony (PlayStation)
£87.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews