Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandia returns!!
Many gamers are already fimilliar with Grandia, one of the only RPGs around to inlove a truly "real time " combat system and a truly unique devleopment system with almost endless capabilities in the region of character development. The battles involved a single gauge in a 3D arena the use of one gauge means that it is highly probable that several units will be processing...
Published on 17 April 2002 by Daniel Gray

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but...
Not many console RPGs make it over to the shores of Britain. We get SOME of the big names, like Final Fantasy and... well Final Fantasy, but there are so many we miss out on. Going right back to the SNES, the continent and Europe remain ignorant of how many brilliant games there are out there (From Chrono Trigger, to Xenogears, Thousand Arms, Lunar and Lunar 2, and the...
Published on 31 Mar 2003 by Mrs Jane W Daniell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandia returns!!, 17 April 2002
This review is from: Grandia 2 (Video Game)
Many gamers are already fimilliar with Grandia, one of the only RPGs around to inlove a truly "real time " combat system and a truly unique devleopment system with almost endless capabilities in the region of character development. The battles involved a single gauge in a 3D arena the use of one gauge means that it is highly probable that several units will be processing battle commands at the same time. Grandia incorparted a whole idea that niether you or your oppenent had the clear advantage in a battle, with special move sleaving your enimies with more time to charge themselves and maybe prevent your attack from even working! And the best thing is it works both ways!
Grandia 2, with the combat system running identically to the first installment, offers a fresher helping of "active battaling" and leveling up as you choose how tour characters and magic skills develop down to the dot. Simply put, at the end of each battle you gain a small ammount of gold(to buy new equipment), skill coins to buy new and improve on your characters skills and magic coins to buy and improve on your magical skills. This means it is possible to learn a characters most powerful special move at the start of the game, but it would do you much good as it would take to long to charge until you upgrade it to a high rating, which would dominte all your skill coins not allowing other charcters abilities to grow.
The story line and characters are intresting enough to pull you in with each of the six playable characters specialising in a certain area, whilst lacking in another. Buying the appropriote skills to mantain a strong overall party will take a fair ammount of time but is well worth it and makes strengthening characters later in the game ALOT easier. The bosses on the whole are not too challenging but one or two will give even the storngest teams a run for thier money.
Overall, Grandia 2 is an in-depth experiencs which is enjoyable to new and vetran gamers alike,with over 30 houur of gameplay,Grandia 2 is an excellent place to start exploring the world of RPGs whilst still proving to be a definitive game that will prove to be a worthwhile purchase for anybody willing to try something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but..., 31 Mar 2003
By 
Mrs Jane W Daniell (London, Greater London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grandia 2 (Video Game)
Not many console RPGs make it over to the shores of Britain. We get SOME of the big names, like Final Fantasy and... well Final Fantasy, but there are so many we miss out on. Going right back to the SNES, the continent and Europe remain ignorant of how many brilliant games there are out there (From Chrono Trigger, to Xenogears, Thousand Arms, Lunar and Lunar 2, and the hundred and one RPGs that are currently being released for the PS2 which no-one has even HEARD of, so it is always a happy occasion when - somehow, for some reason - a GOOD rpg makes its way to our shores. Perhaps it is because only a few make it over that they remain only a semi-popular genre. Perhaps if they began bringing more of them over more people would latch on to RPGs... but forgive an old timer his ramblings. This is Grandia 2 we're talking about.
Those who have played the first game will know the sheer joy of it; it wasn't hard (heck, it wasn't even challenging), the graphics were simple, yet it was still one of the best games to ever grace my Playstation. Its story was wonderful, and the characters were so well created and nurtured, that you found yourself WANTING them to succeed, for Justin to reach his goals... and at that one point in the game, which all those who played it will know about, when it looks as if he is about to give up... well, I have no shame in saying I actually shed a tear, something that games have never done for me. More blabbing, I know, but this has a point:
Grandia 2 was a good, if predictable game, but it missed that wonderful spark which the original held, the one which allows us to play the first one over and over again, and fall in love with it all over again. Yet there were other problems, as well. The graphics were not much of an improvement against those of the original, which wouldn't have been so bad if the story had captivated, but as it is one looks for different things when the plot does not pin one back to their seats. It was also easy, perhaps even easier than the original, which again wouldn't have been so bad... but it had nothing to back up this easiness with. And lastly... the characters... didn't touch base with me. I didn't feel connected to them at all. And after the shining brilliance that was the first game... well, I felt even more betrayed that the second did not even come close to attaining the same level of excellence.
However, and I say this again, it was a good game. If I had never played G1, I would think it was a VERY good game, but this is not the case. Play this game once, and enjoy it, and if you haven't played G1... GO BUY IT NOW!!! Oy, and I hear G3 is essentially going to be a 'dungeon' game, with very little story... so one might consider it worth it playing this game just to touch base with a true RPG. And as an additional note, I would have given this game 4 stars, IF I hadn't played the original. I knocked one point off for it not living up to my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An RPG Classic, 30 Aug 2006
By 
M. Elliott "Hardcore RPG fan" (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grandia 2 (Video Game)
For those of you who are not rpg collectors then this game probally isn't for you. If you enjoy games such as final fantasy then you will love this game. With an in-depth storyline and a unique battle system, this game is deffinately a classic. The only annoying things that might put you off is the inability to skip speech and the boring old "save point" factor. However, the plot could rival even the best final fantasies and although the graphics are nothing to write home about, I would reccommend this game to any rpg fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the the first Grandia but not far from it., 16 Jan 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grandia 2 (Video Game)
I have to say i love Grandia and i love the first one better than any Final Fantasy games. I bought the second one thinking i would be dissapointed but i was far from it :) The game is original and everything in Grandia II is just like the first. The characters speech, the wandering around a cave and getting lost for hours, the weird teleport bubbles, the spells are the same, Hell, they even kept the save points looking the same =P If you loved the first Grandia you will love this too, the graphics are the main improvement but even the first Grandia's graphics were nice :) The only thing i didnt like about this game was the story but that didnt stop me from playing the game, i completed it in just under 60 hours. If you buy this game you cant go far wrong. Buy It!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand...ia, 1 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Grandia 2 (Video Game)
This game is a delight! A true RPG, which is something severely lacking on the PS2 at the moment. Luckily a Final Fantasy release always brings with it a host of other RPG titles and there are usually a few diamonds in the rough. This is one!
Graphically it is ok - better than anything you could expect on the PS1 but not the best on the PS2, however this is easily overlooked. The combat system is a fine blend of real time and turn based and works in a very fluid fashion. Also the character development system is excellent and allows for customisable characters - you choose what skills the character develops and when and there are a whole host of extra skills that you can assign to them. Magic is handled in the same way.
Unlike a lot of similar games the translation is very precise and the characters even use English sayings and phrases - look out for the speech in the battle scenes as each character shouts the name of each attack before they use it (or something similar)for example Milennia's 'burn' spell dialogues goes along the lines of "Is it just me or is it getting warm?!"...
This is a must for RPG fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this game:, 26 Jun 2005
By 
Kate "honest, deep thinker, sarcastic, unwill... (Dorset - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandia 2 (Video Game)
... it's in the classic RPG format which i adore, serious gamers may find it a tad simple but it's a no brainer relaxing game with cute little anime characters although a lot of the (non scrollable) waffle gets a tad tedious at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have to buy this!, 11 July 2002
By 
Sam Sanders (Dawlish, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grandia 2 (Video Game)
If you are a RPG fan you'll love this game. It's no way near as visually stunning as the Final Fantasy series, but offers a griping story line with cool cinamatics. I have only just completed it after spending 40 odd hours trailing through the endless badies and puzzles. It is pretty straight forward to play once you have mastered the battle system and is impossible to get lost with the in game compass pointing you to your next destination. A word of advice though! Save regulary, you can never be too well prepared!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't read the reviews that are one star!, 12 April 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grandia 2 (Video Game)
Listen up folks! I'm telling you now, don't bother reading the reviews that have one star! Frankly it would be a waste of your time. Someone stated that this is a rubbish copy of Final Fantasy VII! It's nothing like it! It has it's own intricate storyline and fantastic battle system! Not one scene is the same as ANY of the FFs, and I would know beecause I've played them ALL dozens of times!! Along with character growth, which as the game progresses so does the character's personalities! It's an excellent game that you have to play! Soooo addictive too! If you have a sense of humour, some of the one-liners that the characters come out with will have you on the edge of your seats laughing hard! In all fairness it's not worth the 45 quid that amazon is charging, buy it second hand much cheaper and it works just as well! I got mine for 4 quid and the disc was brand-new! Seriously though it's a great game, if you love RPGs then you will seriously like this!!
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is a sequal as good as the original, 7 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. B. K. Jacob "Trendy Dork" (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grandia 2 (Video Game)
I own both Grandia 1 + 2. As the title says, yes it is as good as the original. The only thing is that the ending is confusing. Other than this the battle system is ingenious, A good game for the money it is being sold at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than FFX, 20 Feb 2004
By 
Mr. S. Armstrong "stephen_armstrong_sa" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grandia 2 (Video Game)
This game is better than Final Fantasy X in all but music and graphics. Being a Dreamcast port the graphics are pretty bad and the slowdown in some scenes will have you ripping your hair out.
The story is flawless, the battle system is the BEST battle system yet and the characters are pretty awesome. The voice acting is used to perfection (cliché voices, but better than the whiney brat that Tidus is).
If you're serious about RPGs, buy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grandia 2
Grandia 2 by Ubisoft (PlayStation2)
£51.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews