Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Petula
The Sound of Petula has been ringing in our ears for just over 60 years. This 2cd set highlights her recordings from the late 1950's to 2002. All the megahits from the 60's and 70's are included but surely the standout is Memories of Love a song destined to become a huge hit for Petula in 2002 given the right publicity. The set also highlights Britains most succesful solo...
Published on 9 May 2002

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much filler masking good songs
very disappointing collection. CD1 contains most of the good well known stuff and a few others I hadn't heard. CD2 seems to be more modern songs which aren't as strong and some songs from musicals and shows which I'm not particularly interested in. I was hoping for a new gems but it seems the Petula Clarke playlist is fairly well mined already.
Published 22 months ago by Fionn Stafford


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Petula, 9 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
The Sound of Petula has been ringing in our ears for just over 60 years. This 2cd set highlights her recordings from the late 1950's to 2002. All the megahits from the 60's and 70's are included but surely the standout is Memories of Love a song destined to become a huge hit for Petula in 2002 given the right publicity. The set also highlights Britains most succesful solo artists' achievements in film, TV and stage and also features gems such as Never Been A Horse and Nik Kershaw helping out on Oxygen which shows the lady can rock with the best of them. The set shows that there is a lot more to Ms Clark than Downtown, many of her peers have rated her the greatest living white soul singer, the diversity of material on this collection highlights this fact perfectly. Petula Clark is a British national treasure and national treasures are thin on the ground these days. This set deserves a top ten chart ranking on top of the top 20 position it has already achieved. Buy it - Pet deserves the acclaim and you deserve to listen to one of the great artists of all time in her Ultimate glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifty Years of Songs to Sing, 5 May 2002
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
There are to many Petula compilations out there. So, as a fan, when I heard about yet another I was less than excited. It was only when I heard there were actually previously unreleased AND newly recorded songs on this CD that I decided to buy it.
Disc 1 covers all the hits from the 50's 60's and 70's. Great songs like Downtown and I Couldn't Live Without Your Love. Disc 2 starts with a great new song 'Memories of Love'. Its catchy, snappy and sounds really fresh. Petula sounds not a day older than when she recorded Downtown. What follows is a selection of hits from the screen musicals she starred in (Finians Rainbow & Goodbye, Mr Chips) along with the stage ones (Blood Brothers, Someone Like You and Sunset Boulevard).
The new songs sound very modern as Pet shows she's not stuck in the 60's. The sleeve notes contain comments on each recording by Petula herself - and there are some nice pictures to.
When an Artist has recorded over 1000 songs - its difficult to make an Ultimate Collection. But if you want the hits from the Charts, the Movies and the Shows - then this is the CD to buy. It's also great to hear new stuff.
I really do rewcommend this to those who aren't die-hard fans and those who have seen Pet in the press and thought "Oh yeah, Pet Clark, I remember her...!"
Hope you enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding career overview, 5 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
The brilliant American compilation, Downtown to Sunset Boulevard, was never released in Britain, but this compilation is clearly inspired by it. The time-span is greater - the oldest hit here is Suddenly there's a valley (which gave Petula a British top ten hit despite competition from Gogi Grant and others) - and there are some new recordings here too.
The pre-Downtown era is also represented by With all my heart, My friend the sea, Romeo and Sailor (a hit in America for Lolita under its German title Seemann). It also includes Chariot, a French million-seller, for which Petula recorded an English version called I will follow him (not included here). Petula's English version did not chart in Britain or America (although it did well in other countries), but Little Peggy March covered it and had an American chart-topper with it, and also had a British hit with it.
The peak years are represented by mostly the obvious tracks, though it is nice to see Two rivers included. This is a song Petula wrote herself about her divided loyalties between London, where she spent her early years, and Paris, where she has lived ever since.
The seventies and beyond are represented by an assortment of stage and movie songs along with a few other songs. These are often different from those selected for the Downtown to Sunset Boulevard compilation - Finian's rainbow and Goodbye Mr Chips are represented on each compilation by different songs - so you may find it worth buying this whatever music of Petula's you already have.
The variety of different songs and styles included here is breathtaking, which may not suit everybody, but demonstrates that Petula could sing just about any type of song and sound fantastic - and helps to explain why Petula has sold more records than any other British female singers, then or since.
If you don't have any of Petula's music, this is an excellent career-spanning collection, although if you are only interested in her sixties music, there are several other collections that cover that music extremely well without any of the other stuff.
If you decide to buy this, you will enjoy many happy hours listening, whether you give it dedicated attention or play it as background music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True talent, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. John Lumbard (Richmond, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
In her hey day Petula Clark was one of the most talented female singers. She has one of those unique voices. Sadly many of her compilation albums are not the original versions but later versions sung at a different tempo. This album contains the original versions of her well known songs. If you want Petula at her best then this is the album to buy. The sound quality is excellent, the remastering has brought the music to life. It took a lot of searching to find this album amoungst all the others in the Amazon collection, but if you want one Petula CD, with all her well known songs, sung at their best then this is the album to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great album.... but these tracks are all wrong, 16 Mar 2007
By 
david moncur "Davie" (Dundee, Angus, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
The Ultimate Collection is indeed an "ultimate collection", featuring, as it does, tracks from Petula's chart career in the UK from the 50s to the 90s, her show tunes, and some fantastic new recordings. However, the list of tracks shown here is wrong and belongs to a French release of around the same time. Ultimate was released to go with the Ultimate tour, Kaleidoscope was released in France to work alongside some concerts she was doing there and in Switzerland. Some of the tracks are the same, most are not, or are in French rather than in English. See the other entries under Ultimate Collection for correct track listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy!, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I bought this cd as a gift. Is a double cd and great listening. Worth buying if you want to hear established songs. Went on to buy PC recent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Re: Incorrect Tracklisting On Disc 2, 26 Jan 2014
By 
A. Foss "Andy 'Mod'Pie' Foss" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
A couple of previous reviewers have mentioned e'bay's 'incorrect tracklisting' but done nothing to alter it? Disc 1 is correct, it's just Disc 2 which I've entered below for anyone wanting to know the 'correct' tracks.

1. Memories Of Love
2. La Vie En Rose
3. I Don't Know How To Love Him
4. Look To The Rainbow
5. London Is London
6. On The Path Of Glory (Petula Clark & Harry Belafonte)
7. Wedding Song (There Is Love)
8. Never Been A Horse That Couldn't Be Rode
9. Twelfth Of Never
10. How Good It Is To Know You
11. Don't Cry For Me Argentina
12. I Could Have Given You More
13. Sound Of Music
14. All Through The Years
15. Oxygen (new mix)
16. When You Get Right Down To It (Petula Clark & Michael McDonald--previously unissued)
17. Tell Me It's Not True (solo version)
18. Perfect Year
19. Here For You
20. All Those Years Ago [new recording with Richard Carpenter]

I've only nipped in to help with the tracklisting & not to do a complete review guys. However, for what it's worth, personally I can't get on so much with Disc 2's duets & new recordings but love Disc 1's original hits. I'm not a massive fan though [just a fan of 60's music] but I'm sure for big fans of 'Pet' Disc 2 will be perfectly alright for you.
Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Petula Clark is amazing!!, 7 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This is a cracking collection. Let's all place our Pet on the pedestal she deserves to be standing on! I remember listening to some of these tracks when I was a kid in the early eighties at my nan's house. Now in my early forties I appreciate these songs even more. And to top it off....our Pet is welsh and spent her childhood three miles from my house!! We don't celebrate her enough! She was bigger than Dusty, Cilla & Sandie put together! Two Grammy awards in consecutive years!!! I love her songs!!! I also love anything from simple minds, to the stones, sex pistols to Sinatra and Tony Bennett and even NWA!!!! She's up there too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A National Treasure, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. W. Chamberlain "Bill C" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I grew up listening to Petula Clark, The Beatles and all those other icons of the 1960s. This DVD though, enlightened me to what a wonderful career she had as an acclaimed international singer, child actress/singer, film and musical star. A national treasure! This video showcases her career through the years and the success that she achieved in the UK, France and the United States with plaudits from fellow stars like Richard Carpenter, Andy Williams, Lynn Redgrave, Dean Martin etc. Petula is a natural performer whose enjoyment of her job transmits to her audiences. She has a versatile and distinctive voice that can belt out the songs or interpret tender ballads with fine pitch and phrasing. I enjoyed this musical journey through her career and it has made me want to play the CDs that I own of all the other great songs that she recorded. Would strongly recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely ULTIMATE Petula - SUBLIME!, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Impeccable sound quality, song selection, instrumental accompaniment, and Petula's incomparable voice make this a must-have. Disc 1 is sublime, Disc 2 perhaps not quite so well rounded but still a pleasure to listen to. The pièce de résistance to me is "Chariot," sung in impeccable French but "Downtown," "Don't Sleep in the Subway," "This is my Song," "Romeo," and "Happy Heart" -- to name only a few -- are all fabulous cuts. Petula, you're the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Collection
The Ultimate Collection by Petula Clark (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews