Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Lovehatetragedy really that good?
Yes Lovehatetragedy is really that good.
Many thought Papa Roach couldn't live up to their past success of their 'Infest' album, but the new album is a new direction and will surely maintain the sma esuccess as their previous album.
The album opens with 'M-80' a fast moving, hard hitting song that breaks the ice for how rock this album really is.
The album...
Published on 17 Sep 2002 by dangee_hotshot

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something New and Something Old
About 2 years ago not many had heard of this band then came last resort which connected with all teenagers looking for something different fed up with rnb and garage, now a year on the band has a massive popularity making them one of the most popular nu metal bands in the world along with limp bizkit and Linkin park
But nu-metal has begun to rust just like Britpop...
Published on 4 July 2002 by Mr. M. Salam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Lovehatetragedy really that good?, 17 Sep 2002
By 
This review is from: LOVEHATETRAGEDY (Audio CD)
Yes Lovehatetragedy is really that good.
Many thought Papa Roach couldn't live up to their past success of their 'Infest' album, but the new album is a new direction and will surely maintain the sma esuccess as their previous album.
The album opens with 'M-80' a fast moving, hard hitting song that breaks the ice for how rock this album really is.
The album never fails to disappoint following the opener and stand-out tracks like 'Time & Time Again' and 'Decompression Period' will surely follow 'she loves Me Not' on making a mark in the UK singles top 20.
The songs reflect singer Jacoby Shaddix (formely Coby Dick) feelings of the past couple of years towards personal happenings like on 'Black Clouds', which is about Jacoby's slip into depression following a hard European tour a short while ago.
With 'Walking Thru Barbed Wire' being about Jacoby's pet dog that died, and the song lets you hear the full pain of what it feels like when someone close to you dies, and is something very relatable to many people.
Overall, the album never drops below par and is evidence that Papa Roach surely stand-out as a great band, among the huge influx of new American bands aiming for the big-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something New and Something Old, 4 July 2002
By 
Mr. M. Salam "buyernotseller" (Inside a Giant Enemy Crab) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovehatetragedy (Audio CD)
About 2 years ago not many had heard of this band then came last resort which connected with all teenagers looking for something different fed up with rnb and garage, now a year on the band has a massive popularity making them one of the most popular nu metal bands in the world along with limp bizkit and Linkin park
But nu-metal has begun to rust just like Britpop did.
So this new papa roach album finds them looking for directions and ideas and sometimes it works.
M-80 sounds like Dave Grohl is on the drums and is a perfect opener,
Life is a bullet wouldn't be out of place on infest expect there not much rapping but there's not much of a spark in the track it seems to linger on and on and then finishes and deals with a topic with teenagers can relate to but lyrically is simplistic. Time and Time Again is brilliant song about how life on the road is selfish and decadent, the song has the guitar going through a sampler until the brilliant chorus erupts, here the band dabble in electronics to create atmospheres that Linkin park have done quite brilliantly and this 1 has already become a live classic.
Walking on barbed wire finds the band trying to find a different sound but its just ends up boring and very average.
Decompression Period this song is the BEST on the album, it finds the band doing grunge but it sounds like papa roach and it is very moving track and Shaddix sings with real passion and the lyrics are on a higher level then anything else on the album
" I must confess I'm falling apart, breaking your heart, crying with you on the phone, were walking on thin ice and i hope it doesn't break" This song is truly amazing and make Papa Roach sound like they have achieved their goal in creating some new.
Born With Nothing, Die with Everything is another song where shaddix raps and is another boring track with the guitar sounding simplistic and annoying.
She Loves Me Not is if metallica went nu-metal and overall is a good track a very strong 3 and half minute single and finds the band promoting there new sound to good effect but sadly shaddix tries to rap again.
Singular Indestructible Droid is a song that stars of with an African or native American tribal chanting but then the song becomes different with shaddix singing about robots for some reason it would be good if they had used the electronics they used on Time And Time Again here to create atmospheres more, but then tribal chanting and a topic so stupid make it sound like a tool wannabe.
Black Clouds is a track that sees Papa Roach experimenting with new ideas such as shaddix lyrics which have a more poetic quality about them with the use of imagery working well,
"And tears fall just like rain and pain strikes just like lighting" the bass rumbles throughout the song, and the guitar seems to be 3rd to the bass and shaddix's voices a very good song.
Code of Energy is a stagnant song, which gains life in the chorus but then dies again
The title track is one that could easily fit on a tool album the use of "shock" Acoustic guitar is very good, and when the good old electric guitar kicks in its is very effective,
Gouge Away is a very good pixes cover suprisnly
Overall this an album that finds Papa Roach trying to find a new sound so that they don't die when nu-metal after shock comes and it works in someplaces quite britanly but in some places seems lost and confused, this band is not going to fade away if they work on the good points on this album and with Shaddix ever improving his song writing skills on this album i would bet that Papa Roach will still be here in 5 years time just like Ash survived the Britpop/Indie backlash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CAUGHT BETWEEN TWO STOOLS...., 22 Nov 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LOVEHATETRAGEDY (Audio CD)
I have time for this act, I think it's good the way that they are attempting a sound akin to 80's Hard Rock/Metal ala Motley Crue, yet allied to modern sensibilities & production.
However, this is a dissapointing release living up to it's mediocre reputation. I'm generous in awarding 3 stars as the musicianship & production are of a decent standard BUT it's the songwriting that really lets the album down. It's average at best, with little in the way of memorable riffs, hooks or tunes.
The first release, Infest, was one of the better courses of Nu Metal served. However this seems to fall into a bit of a no mans land between that early aggression & freshness and the later, much improved songwriting of Getting Away With Murder and The Paramour Sessions. It's just, well, boring! It is regarded as a low point - hell, there aren't even any Maiden style harmonies to save this!! True, there is some decent bass, and the odd, decent tune but it's all filler really. Already the Rap and samples/turntables are beginning to diminish but possibly the band were not ready to evolve??
What I would say is buy the 2 x aforementioned later albums, and (although a bit dated & lyrically iffy) the debut Infest. Skip this as it really is a forgettable album, that sounds like a band treading water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice followup, 24 Oct 2004
This review is from: LOVEHATETRAGEDY (Audio CD)
They hit back with more maturity, but equally enjoyable sounds and words for the upsets of life. As it doesn't differ too much from the first it can be considered a little dull but I enjoy playing it every now and then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, Well Worth The Money, 17 Jun 2002
This review is from: LOVEHATETRAGEDY (Audio CD)
Papa Roach are back with a brand new album! Fans of Papa Roach that liked the first album will defiantly love this brand new album!!! With the talents of lead singer Coby Dick, who apparently has now changed his name to Jacoby Shaddix, and bleached his hair, go figure, this album has some great songs! The song 'She Loves Me Not', which you may have heard already, generally reflects the feel of the whole album. I would greatly recommend this album to anyone and everyone! Thanks For Listening!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the roach, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovehatetragedy (Audio CD)
One of my favourite bands, you love them or hate them. I love them, had this album on tape this is to replace that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars LoveHateTragedy, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LOVEHATETRAGEDY (Audio CD)
In my opinion not one of the best Papa Roach albums but there are a few tracks I like on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a great follow up Album !, 30 Oct 2009
By 
J. Arthur "Axl" (U.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LOVEHATETRAGEDY (Audio CD)
This is good album it has some great tracks on that don't need to be missed. I have not had this album for long but i can say this is a special little number. the songs drip with good riffs and with a catchy chorus this is a must have album.I just got really into Papa Roach i got infest which you need to buy after this album. A couple of weeks ago and it was a great. This is a great follow up Album and not a single track is weak there all great. This is a must have !!! BUY IT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Probably the worst of their particular bunch, 30 Aug 2009
By 
I. J. Davies "The Rock Addict" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LOVEHATETRAGEDY (Audio CD)
I think Papa might want to forget the warblings on this one, since what came before and after is so much better especially Getting Away With Murder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Emma L. Wheatley "e wheatley" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LOVEHATETRAGEDY (Audio CD)
i love papa roachand can not get him anywere or so i thought i brought it of of amozon 5 days before xmas and got it with 2 days to spare which was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lovehatetragedy
Lovehatetragedy by Papa Roach (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews