Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of Slayer's Best Acheivments, 13 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
If you like the speed of Reign In Blood, the sinister rumble of Diabolus In Musica or simply the agression of Divine Intervention, you will love this album. Dave Lombardo puts up a breathtaking performance on the drums while Araya does a fine job vocally, and the two guitar maestros Hannemann and King whack out solo's like there's no tomorrow. This contains many elements of metal, from the thrash/speed of 'War Ensemble', the lyrical masterclass of 'Blood Red', to the sheer classic that is 'Seasons In The Abyss'. Any Slayer fan will find this album a worthy addition to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SLAYER, KINGS OF METAL, 1 Nov 2000
By 
J (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
SLAYER TRULY ARE THE GODS OF METAL, AND THIS ALBUM IS THE CREME DE LA CREME. SEASONS IN THE ABYSS IS A MUST FOR ANYONE THAT CALLS THEMSELVES A METALLER. IT CLOSELY PIPS REIGN IN BLOOD AND SOUTH OF HEAVEN TO THE POST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slayer at their evil best, 19 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
This is a definitive Slayer album, with lightening heavy riffs and fast spine chilling solos. The first track, War ensemble is a furious opening and sets the tone for the rest of the album. Songs like the melodic skeletons of society and the eerie dead skin mask make this a worthy album to your collection. Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman have to be the most aggressive partnership in the history of heavy metal and this album proves this point. King also adds some of his most breath taking solos in this album. Reign In Blood was frantically fast, this album does not match it for speed but is definatly aggressive. This album also contains arguably Slayer's best song, Seasons In The Abyss. It is a classic thrash metal song with a thunderous riff and a long winding solo. This is a solid album by Slayer, only second to Reign In Blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Slayer ever!, 31 Mar 2012
This review is from: Seasons In The Abyss (Audio CD)
For me personally this is their best album. Everything on it is simply perfect: the sound, the aggression, the diversity, the guitars, the drumming, the voice and lyrics - you would not want to change anything about it. In fact I am certain this is one of the best metal albums of all time, and surely my favourite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When you look into the abyss..., 30 July 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
This was the career album for Slayer. Reign in Blood was/is/always will be THE classic thrash album ever .com period etc, etc, but Seasons in the Abyss was, and still is, their masterpiece. 4 and a half albums previously cut, their experience together with their expertise all helped to create their best collection of songs. There really is not a dud track here, which is rare for any album.

'War Ensemble' storms onto centre stage with an overly schizophrenic riff and follows with punch after punch of complete aural assault - a stunning opener. Gone are the days of gentle South of Heaven fuzzy warmth. However, 'Blood Red' takes it down a notch. It chugs along confidently, with the knowledge that it has already knocked you to the floor with the first track. It is a great song. But then 'Spirit in Black' explodes onto the scene with even more frenetic energy than 'War Ensemble'. And then the mid-tempo 'Expendable Youth' brings you back to something resembling normality - just. Because 'Dead Skin Mask' is just around the corner to scare the bejeezus out of you. That is one creepy song, helped by the child's screaming (not sure if that would have been passed by the censors these days)towards the end. 'Hallowed Point' begins side 2 with superior style. It's a mix of speed and melody with fantastic breakdowns and.. oh it's simply breathtaking. 'Skeletons of Society' is one of my favourite ever tracks. Slow, thoughtful, catchy and heavy. Job done. 'Temptation' is another catchy fast beauty and 'Born of Fire' whips up a frenzy that's hard to exit. By the time the title track appears you're knackered and feel like you've done 12 rounds with the devil himself - but in a good way (?). And they saved the best for last because 'Seasons...' is one of the best songs by the band.

All elements of this are near to perfect and it sounds so well produced (grimey, yet clear and powerful). One of the best metal albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD EFFORT !!, 17 Mar 2008
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seasons In The Abyss (Audio CD)
1990 record for the kings of metal; this album is halfway between their much acclaimed ¨Reign In Blood¨and ¨South Of Heaven ¨ predecessors in that it still contains a lot of the thrashcore elements of the former and a lot of the thrash metal purity of the latter. The drums are absolutely OTT and stand out too much in the mix while the guitars are performing rhythm but OK during dual leads which has been a constant on the production of Slayer's records but it's more pronounced on this one. The drumming is fantastic so I didn't turn my sub down thus rocking the whole house. Guitar sound is a little more subdued and there's less upper end than on SOH, had to eq it quite a lot but got it right and HEAVY. Solos are overall not as fast as before maybe in favour of intelligibility ?. This record is a turning point in their career and the last one to feature Dave Lombardo on the drums stool, they'd slow down from here on till the latest ¨Christ Illusion¨ which is another thrashcore corker. Not my fav but worth a spin and an absolute must on any Slayer's fan collection and certainly better than anything from their 90's output (1990 is the last year of the 80's !!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PREFECT, just a perfect album., 12 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Seasons In The Abyss (Audio CD)
I have not bee listining for slayer for to long and if im right i first heard it on sout park.(raining blood) so i checked them out and now they are all i listen to and this is one of there best albums. It has the classic tempo changes and fast songs mixed in with more melodical based songs such as expendable youth and dead skin mask. this is worth buying if you are a fan or have just got into slayer well worth its wieght in gold. The title song, seasons in the abyss is exelent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Slayer album? perhaps, 14 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
'South of Heaven' was a good follow up to 'Reign in Blood', but this is something different - 'Seasons in the Abyss' is in a class of its own in terms of thrash metal.
'War ensemble' opens the album with those shredding heavy guitars. Then there's 'Sirit in Black' and 'Temptation' (my personal favurites) which both have great rythm guitar sections and amazing solos. The title track has to be mentioned aswell with its strangely catchy chorus. Every song is very good on this album and is heavy and fast.
The style is much the same as 'South of Heaven' but the song writing is clearly better. Its hard to compare this to 'Reign in Blood' however, because they are so different - 'Reign in Blood' was simply a pure adrenaline rush and was played at a 100mph, while this has longer songs, slightly slower, but somehow even more powerful.
Easily one of the best metal albums ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliance yet again, 25 April 2014
This review is from: Seasons In The Abyss (Audio CD)
I have listened to this album more times than i care to remember that is how good it is, I have only got to hear the first few notes of the seasons in the abyss song in my head and I can repeat every single note and line in my head, like I said thats how good it is there is very little else to say, buy it and you will never regret it and if you don't you will you will miss something good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seasons in the Abyss (Audio CD)
Super album, all time great and a welcome addition to my collection.
Really recommend to any hard rock fan from any era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seasons in the Abyss
Seasons in the Abyss by Slayer (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews