Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2002
Did you love There's Something about Mary? Of course you did! Then I'm betting you thought 10 Things I Hate About You also rocked! Well, in that case, get this video now! It's soooo good! It's a classic lighthearted High School romantic comedy that will have you laughing Friends-style. The actors are all great, even if Striker's accent and Sisqo's obligatory song and dance are slightly irritating. Kirsten Dunst is great as Kelly - and checking the cast list for doubles it seems as though it's actually her singing voice featured in the film. Roswell High fans will adore Colin Hanks's Alex-like character Felix. Yes, there's a lot of strange names in this one (Berk, Felix, Striker to name but a few) and the start (during credits - you'll know what I mean if you've seen it) is very surreal... but A Midsummer Night's Rocking Eve is hilarious. The story's predicatable - but in that way that'll make you go "aaaaawwww". So go on, GET OVER IT and buy this top chick flick!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
This is a great teen movie, I really enjoyed seeing it when it was at the cinema. However the DVD is the same as the 16:9 TV transfer - the movie was made in Cinemascope (2.35:1) and in some scenes it's very obvious that the sides are being chopped off, with some of the actors disappearing off the edge of the screen. Wait for a proper widescreen edition to come out, or get the Region 1 DVD which is reportedly in 2.35:1!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2016
Perhaps the quirkiest of the teen comedies based on classic literature, I have a soft spot for Get Over It. Martin Short steals the show as the egotistical and deluded teacher, and Kirsten Dunst is sweet as part of the love quadrangle. Plays fast and loose with A Midsummer Night's Dream, but has fun with it, and its play within a play, and the song and dance sequences are fab. Love the opening "Love Will Keep Us Together" sequence, with its clever choreography, and the extra-diegetic final number with Sisqo is a blast.

It's very short, less than 90 minutes, and it's not perfect, but its imperfections add to its strangeness. Shane West's voice has been oddly dubbed (why?) and scenes in a strip club are jarring. It's a 12 certificate, but includes some salty language and sexual references which constantly remind you of the convention that 'teens' in American high school comedies are usually played by 20-somethings. But you forgive all its faults when it gets to the performance of the play, which is hilarious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2006
This movie is definitely one of the best teen films I have ever watched.

It is about a young man who gets dumped and spends the whole time trying to get his love back, and he doesn't realise his real love is staring him right in the face! A beautiful, romantic story, with lots of laughs and lots of singing. Based on the Shakespeare play A Midsummer Nights Dream. (Sort of!)

It is one of those films that can be put on again and again without getting tired of it. Definitely recommended for anyone looking for a lighthearted comedy with brilliant music!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2004
I have to admit that i fell in love with this film when i first saw it, even though teen movies that are this predictable sometimes make me gag. You will, laugh you will cry, you will watch it over and over, you have to believe me, it has a little bit of something for everyone, and , though i realise they are trying a little too hard, they pass it off by making it seem so predictable it strays away from ordinary (ordinary films try to avoid predictability but succeed only in straying away from the story...this does both). You don't have to see it, i'm sure you can survive without it, but trust me, you won't regret it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
yes this film is predictable, and a little cheesy, but it works. kirsten dunst is once again brilliant in this type of role. the supporting cast of mila kunis, colin hanks and sisqo are all great, with shane west doing a good job of making his character annoying and unlikable. ben foster is in my opinion an unusual choice as a lead, but he is likeable, and makes you care about his character. there are plenty of gags, and it keeps a timely pace, not dragging, but moving along nicely. this is a solid teen comedy/ rom-com well worth a couple of hours of your time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2014
World class, criminally underrated high school set comedy from 2001. Notable for (co) starring two of cinemas now biggest female talents (Zoe Saldana and Mila Kunis). Also notable for a gorgeous Ben Foster who here looks strikingly handsome. As the object of his affections Melissa Sagemiller has an underwritten role but she works wonders with what she has. Also appearing here is Carmen Electra. Although in the finished version of the film (the one we see here) her role is cruelly cut to a single line of dialogue. The film itself opens, and closes, with a dynamic musical number. So good is it that the song and dance routine gets your engine revving for the actual film. The extras on this disc are so fantastically good that they are actually on a par with the film itself. You got killer outtakes, deleted scenes that are groovy baby, a making of featurette that is as entertaining as the film and a music video featuring Kirsten Dunst.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2006
This is such a fab teen flick. I seen it one the television one night and i had to buy it!

Each character has their own traits whether they're desperate, dim or just damn pushy! The best part of the film for me was the way it flashed into sheaksphere scenes and the songs were just hillarious!! The acting is superb if your into these sorta films and it's deffinatly one to laugh out loud at!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
I can remember watching this when i was younger and being totally in love with Ben Foster, decided id take a trip down memory lane and buy it again. Really love it, it came with a flood of similar movies around that time like Down To You, Shes All That, Drive Me Crazy, Drop Dead Gorgeous, Cant Hardly Wait, Head Over Heels, A Walk To Remember, Whatever It Takes...all great movies if you like those kinda movies ;) :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
Hey I saw this gem on vhs 9 years ago and it still stays with me !!I was getting over my first love break up and so this sorta struck a cord with me !!It`s about getting over whats not really 100% and realising you have option . Kirsten dunst , especially rocks in this !! Buy !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)