Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece overshadowed by the grunge invasion of 1992
Carrying on the torch from The Doobies/Allman Brothers/Skynyrd, The Crowes reach almost perfection with this fabulous collection of rockers, ballads and down-home melodies. Chris Robinson was the best white blues singer of his day and his lyrics are something else...Hotel Illness, Sometimes Salvation, Bad Luck Blue Eyes, My Morning Song...backed up with a band of top...
Published on 10 Oct 2004 by Geoffrey Saunders

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Demasiado trde
Published 2 months ago by Agustín Moreno


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece overshadowed by the grunge invasion of 1992, 10 Oct 2004
By 
Geoffrey Saunders "weegie27" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Southern Harmony And Musical Companion (Audio CD)
Carrying on the torch from The Doobies/Allman Brothers/Skynyrd, The Crowes reach almost perfection with this fabulous collection of rockers, ballads and down-home melodies. Chris Robinson was the best white blues singer of his day and his lyrics are something else...Hotel Illness, Sometimes Salvation, Bad Luck Blue Eyes, My Morning Song...backed up with a band of top class musicians playing their brains out. (Shame about the Bob Marley cover at the end though).
I honestly think this is the best rock and roll album of all time. Any self respecting rock and roller has to have this in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars swaggering blues-groove rock n roll, 13 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Southern Harmony (Audio CD)
Lyrics with the courage to stand out and ditch cliche passionately rendered over driving catchy guitars and soul backing vox. This music is alive- if rock is a journey this sound is the swamp ecosystem the road is laid over! Vibrant and hectic in places but always slow enough to savour. An album to get lost dancing in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harmony's The Word, 24 May 2004
By 
DocBhoy (Invercargill , New Zealand) - See all my reviews
I was disappointed with their initial effort , but was attracted to this album due to their recruitment of Burning Tree's Marc Ford . The sounds are better produced , with some great Southern Blues numbers , as well as a laid back acoustic number to finish . Chris Robinson's voice is to die for , and the background choir definitely beefs things up in the choruses . If you don't have this album already - WHY NOT ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many reasons why I like it....., 16 April 2006
By 
Awake (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Southern Harmony And Musical Companion (Audio CD)
I have been listening to this album regularly for the past 10-ish years and I am yet to get bored of it, yet to hear it without tapping my foot and yet to introduce it to someone who hasn't loved it (even my mother!!)

The dirty guitar, the beautiful gospel sounds in the background, the rising crescendos, the bluesey, bluesey riffs and Chris Robinson's amazing vocals; particularly in My Morning Song and Sometimes Salvation make this one of my absolute favourites.

Kicking a ball around in the park with your mates, drinking a beer with this on loud on a summer's day- perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kick-ass album, 7 Mar 2001
This review is from: Southern Harmony (Audio CD)
This is a top album with magic sounds and big lyrics. The guitar riffs are out of this world. Layout of the songs in the ablum is inspired. This is simply a kick-ass album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raw and beautiful, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Southern Harmony And Musical Companion (Audio CD)
How has it taken me so long to discover such great music? Great bluesy rock with style and real presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest albums ever recorded, 21 Mar 2012
By 
R. Lissimore (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Southern Harmony And Musical Companion (Audio CD)
I listen to every type of music, have more than a thousand CD's, numerous DVD-Audio, SACD discs etc. I'm a muso.

I must have played this CD 4-5 times per day for about 12 months when it came out, and after getting the old disc out of the dusty case I realised I've been missing something special that I've found again. Most times when you go back to a CD that you played so much a long time ago it has aged badly, but this CD wasn't of its time when it was recorded, so its timeless.

It's one of the greatest albums ever recorded. It sounds so warm, soulful, funky, raw and honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 5 Oct 2014
Demasiado trde
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As The Crowes Fly, 27 Nov 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Drown in the rolling funk of Bad Luck Blue Eyes Goodbye, rock out on Remedy, drown in the squalling guitars on the rousing No Speak No Slave, stand in awe of the timeless grandeur of My Morning Song and groove to their Marley cover Time Will Tell. There's also the melancholy Black Moon Creeping and the shimmering organ-driven Thorn In My Pride. In the dense, rich timbres of this Companion you will find power, elation, regret, loss, hope and tenderness. The Crowes have reconstructed R&B on funk girders using the nuts and bolts of rock 'n roll, creating epic poetry from the blood pump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews