Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2006
I hadn't heard a whole lot of Eric Bogle before but invested in this as it was in a sale, and what a bargain. Listen to Leaving Nancy (although the studio version is slightly superior) and it will bring tears to the eyes of any young man who has ever left home to work away as I did back in 75. Also listen to If wishes were fishes that is sublime.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2006
5 cd's of sheer genius. 60 tracks that include many of Eric's best songs. An absolute delight to listen to. Fascinating liner notes with each separate cd give an insight into the man and his music. If you don't have any of Eric's cd's, this set is a great way to hear a wide cross-section of his work through the years.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
Eric Bogle is one of those singer songwriters who does some great stuff and some that is, frankly, quite dire. Some of the funny songs are really great: Chihuahua with an out of proportion sex drive, the Aussie BBQ etc., and many of the "message" songs are wonderful. Sadly, some make my toes curl. He does make good and imaginative use of sound, so let's praise the other musicians too! This set of CDs is a mixed bag, but I think it worth owning.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2007
I doubt it. I don't have this in particular,but I do have 55 of the 60 tracks on various other albums,both vynil and CD's.If you have a soul this man will move you to tears with some of his songs,others are humorous.I would probably give anything he made 5 stars
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2007
Eric is known for his evocative protest songs, and he has written some of the finest examples of that genre, but there is more to his talent than that. He can also be very funny indeed. Try 'Little Gomez', a tale of a particularly randy little dog, or "Do You Know Any Dylan?" and you'll soon see what I mean.

Add in a hefty romantic streak and a dose of melancholy and you have a rewarding set.

The CDs in this set are a little over three quarters of an hour long each, so there's a lot of music here. But there's plenty of variety of style and expression to stop it getting stale.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Wonderful songs; inspiring lyrics, music and singing. Each song has a message and gives food for thought. Very well packaged, received within few days. I am now a real Eric Bogle fan.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
I was initially surprised to learn that two of my absolute favourite anti-war songs were written by Eric Bogle (Green Fields'... and 'Waltzing...)...then to find so much more in this wonderful set. Like the great Leon Rosselson, Eric's songs have been covered many times by great artists, which says much. The Men They Couldn't Hang's version of Green Fields of France is angry and great by the way....see it on You Tube.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2010
My husband thinks that Eric Bogle's music is depressing. However, I think his gritty music offers a view on reality without the 'rose coloured specs' which brings you down to earth. You cannot feel too sad about your own situation whilst listening to songs about the men who went to Gallipoli.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
A great collection of Eric's work over the years. It covers all his different styles of music from protest to wicked humour all performed and produced brilliantly, For any one who enjoys his efforts this is an absolute must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2010
I only recently heard of Eric Bogel and purchased Singing The Spirit Home and found it to be a set of great albums some very funny others more serious and definitley not politically correct.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)