Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a Youngen'
I am from the generation of PSone's and Sonic the Hedgehog, i however do know a good thing when i see it and play it. after getting F1 2001 for Christmas, although it looked the part, i didn't really get on with it as the tracks were mostly mickey mouse and the gameplay was boring - in the sense that once you had one good setup for you at one track, you could almost...
Published on 22 Oct 2002 by Master Rg Rogers

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I never managed to install it
I tried a couple of times, to install this thing, but always ran into trouble;
I think this game should be removed from sale
[my system is Windows XP Service Pack 3]
Published 6 months ago by Eryk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a Youngen', 22 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) (Video Game)
I am from the generation of PSone's and Sonic the Hedgehog, i however do know a good thing when i see it and play it. after getting F1 2001 for Christmas, although it looked the part, i didn't really get on with it as the tracks were mostly mickey mouse and the gameplay was boring - in the sense that once you had one good setup for you at one track, you could almost certainly use it for every track with a few adjustments and off you would go and win.
i then heard of GPL from an internet message board and searched the shops for it but to no avail, so i used the net to try and find this hallowed of all games. when i found it here [...], i thought "at this price, it doesn't matter if it's bad" so i [...] got it, played it and never stopped playing since. it is simply that good that when you first get onto the track (i reccomend Spa or the classic Nordschleiffe), it simply blows you away. now try telling me that F1 2001 or whatever game is better when you're screaming around Monza in a Ferrari racing with Jim Clark or Graham Hill or carving your way through the Nurburgring of blasting down from Masta to Stavelot at Spa.
it is so fun...BUT...and this is a very big BUT: it takes some time. beleive me - you'll be wondering why exactly you spent [money] on something that will frustrate you so much that you'll be scorning and spitting acid because it is very very very hard when you start out. we're talking a month of absolute humiliation, frustration and a few hysterical laughs and tears (the kind you get when you've completely lost the plot)...but...then...out of the darkness...one day you'll get on there - usually at the Nurburgring and it will *click*, you'll be carving smoothly around the track, taking corners at speeds you could have only dreamed of yesterday and you'll jump up from your seat after doing a 9m30s lap and shout "YES, YES, YESSSSSS" so much so, that your neighbours will be considering calling the police and your family will shift uneasily further and further away from you in their seats.
when you buy it, be prepared for supreme frustration but the greatest high when you're finally decent at it. my advice as well is: start off with the aids (they're there for a reason), then slowly ween your way off of them one-by-one. another thing, start off with the basic trainer and work your way up. i started off with the GP and F2 cars and thus, im still learning the ropes. finally, the greatest thing about this game is that millions of people have it and there are some really good drivers out there from which you can download setups from, so as to spare your hair for when you rip it out and save the game from being deleted from your hard drive. other than that, buy it and enjoy the greatest game ever to grace my computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Racing Sim Ever??, 24 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) (Video Game)
By far the most realistic F1 game ever created. Driving cars from 1967 you can see how things have changed since then. These cars are VERY difficult to control and you will need to be pretty dedicated to even finish a race of more than 10 laps. I have had this game for a couple of years now and it still stands out as perhaps the best ever F1 racing sim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 30 Oct 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) (Video Game)
Come on get this game, it blows other GP sim's out of the water. The cars are great, but hard to handle, and the tracks are as they should be.
The action takes place in 1967, the year befour tabacco advertising took over F1. It was also the last year of the wing less cars. So you can try and controle a powerful 3 liter Lotus 49 around such tracks as Monza and Spa, with out downforce. The other thing is that becouse of the era the tracks are un spoiled. Monza has none of the chicains that slow the track now, you come out of the Acari curve at 270kph and accelerate to over 300 befour brakeing down for Parabolica. A instant to soon on the brake and you lap is ruined, to late ant you are in the fenceing.
This is a great introduction to F1 and the era when drivers were heros, and risked there life. Of the drivers depicted in the game, four would die at the wheel befour the end of the `68 season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Racing Simulator, 17 April 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathan Hallas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) (Video Game)
Although this game is now close to being a teenager, it still rewards in a way no other game can.

I play lots of racing games, rfactor, Live for speed, GTR, and I love them all, but none of them can quite match the sheer magnificence of this beast.

Most ten year old games are a mere memory now, possibly fun at the time, but not something you would consider employing to pass the time nowadays, even Doom, whilst groundbreaking in it's time, has now been superseded and improved upon a thousand times, so why part with your hard earned money for a game so old?

The answer is simple, no game released before or after this one will give you the same feeling of immersion.

After you have installed all the graphical updates, sound updates, Splashed out on a nice new G25 and devoted months/years/decades to mastering these cars. You can immerse yourself in an experience which is as close to real motorsport as you are ever likely to get without of course doing it for real.

Yes, it is old. Yes, it is incredibly difficult, but when you get it right it just gives you a feeling no other computer game can.

Lots of games look real, and sound real, but this one just feels real.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GPL the best game ever, 24 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) (Video Game)
If you have played any of the Grand Prix or TOCA touring car games and you thought they were good, well...... GPL is 1000 times better than both of them put together. It is as close as you can get to driving a real race car.
The physics model is so good that if you change the spring rate by the smallest amount it makes a big difference to the handling of the sim.
Where else can you drive proper tracks (and there are 100's of them), against someone in the opposite corner of the world, in one of the 100's of races online a day.
The closest any game (GP, TOCA) has come to it is the ones released this year and this year only, not bad for a 4/5 year old sim.
Buy it now it one game any serious motorsport fan/driver/person must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not an arcade game!, 9 Sep 2004
This review is from: Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) (Video Game)
If you have the PC power, the determination, endless time and are willing to damage your eardrums, then get this, you wont be dissapointed. What started life as a little known sim back in the last millenium has grown, thanks to the dedication of enthusiasts all around the world, into something truly amazing. Its very cheap, very difficult and not for the faint hearted or the arcade racer. Load it with all the addons you can get from the numerous downloads on the internet and get ready to learn to drive by the seat of your pants! You wont win a race, with luck you just might get into the points, but you are lining up behind some of the mightiest racing legends ever. I haven't even tried the online racing yet! but I believe it's awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proper bo, 8 May 2004
By 
Andrew Watt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) (Video Game)
this game is amazingly realistic. The handling is just perfect and the engine sound is beautiful. OK the graphics arent quite the same as GP4 but are pretty good nonetheless. This is the sort of game that makes you ask what kind of maniac would race one of these beasts for real - certainly not the same as the modern f1 car! Buy this its fantastic and a bargain at this crazy price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game Ever, 12 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) (Video Game)
GPL is the most addictive/immersive computer game I've ever seen by far.
This simulation recreates the 1967 Formula 1 season, when the cars were very fast, very fragile and had very little grip. The seven different cars you can drive slide and bounce in a chillingly realistic manner. I've never seen a simulation that gives such an incredible sense of speed as when you're thundering down the open road at the old Spa-Francorchamps circuit, whizzing past stone walls and cottages at 200+ mph. It includes the old Nurburgring circuit, 22km of treaturous twisting, jumping, plummeting dizzying curves winding through German forests.
You will be astonished by the quality of the racing you can experience on the internet with VROC, with 19 cars. Racing against real human beings from all over the world. Your heart rate will soar through the roof in your first on-line race just sitting on the grid waiting for the flag to drop. Sweaty palms, dry mouth.
You will be astounded by the plethora of graphics upgrades, and hundreds of accurate and detailed NEW TRACKS available for download on the web. For racing fans of any genre, this is as good as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 stars!, 11 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) (Video Game)
Hardly a gamer, but a sim'er!
GPL is, by quite a margin the most fascinating and significant piece of software you can ever own.
It is a race sim, not a game. As such it offers you the most convincing and immersive car physics you can find in any race title. It is very hard to master, but when you start to get it right, it is just soooo incredibly rewarding. It really is addictive.
Out of the box you get 11 classic race tracks and 7 classic race cars. But it gets even better: Superb force feedback effects, DirectX and Open GL support. And the AI is extremely good, and you race legends like Clark, Hill, Rindt, Gurney, Stewart, Brabham, Hulme etc.
Then get on the net: There is an incredibly friendly community that will help you if you need advice. There are add-on cars that are photorealistic and historically accurate down to the last nut and bolt. There are literally hundreds of superb add-on tracks. There are utilities that will allow you to analyse your training and race laps, there is the VROC, where you can race online, and, and, and... All this contributes to GPL growing and going from strength to strength.
Warning: GPL can become a very time-consuming lifestyle.
Did I mention yet, that you really have to get it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic., 26 Nov 2002
This review is from: Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) (Video Game)
When GPL first appeared a few years ago there wasn't a PC available that could run it to it's full potential. Now we have fast processors and Geforce graphics cards this game has taken on a completely new lease of life. No longer do we have to turn the field own to just 9 cars or run it at 600x480 screen res just to get it moving !
The game is a very accurate recreation of Formula One as it was in the 1967 season, with great names such as Jack Brabham, Graham Hill, John Surtees, and Jim Clark competing in wing-less BRMs, Ferraris, Honda RA300s, and Lotus 49s. The game as it comes is marvellus enough, but when coupled with the various add-ons and upgrades available off the web it can be transformed into a visual and audio phenomena !! Download the free Brands Hatch track to see what I mean. All of the classic 67 season circuits are there (with the exception of Le Mans, which was dropped in favour of the more technical and graphically stunning Rouen).
Theres nothing finer than completing your first flying lap of the full length Spa Francorchamps circuit. PC Racing does not get better than this. This game is worth 6 times the current asking price !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Prix Legends (PC CD)
Grand Prix Legends (PC CD) by Sold Out Software (Windows 95 / 98 / Me / XP)
3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews