Customer Reviews


307 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but not as good as the original.
Ok Ok, so it would have been hard to top the first film, and for this attempt they have a pretty good try.
Firstly, in the first film, the technical stuff made sense after a while and was actually a very clever theory. It just seems for this film that the Wachowski brothers have stuck a lot of long words together to further explain the Matrix, but it doesn't really...
Published on 26 Nov 2003 by Reader

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Matrix Reloaded - He is still only human!
Well watching Keanu's acting of Neo you would have never believed he could possibly be human. He is meant of course to be Thomas Anderson but that is completely non existant in this movie. Smith still refers to him by his name but it lost me as to who he was on about when i first watched this.
Reloaded ain't a patch on the first film, but is a lot better than...
Published on 9 Sep 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 431 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Matrix has you again!, 10 Jun 2003
This review is from: The Matrix 2: The Matrix Reloaded (Theatrical Release)
Having been a huge fan of the original Matrix back in 1999 I awaited this new outing with excitement and some dread. In most case sequels never live up to the original with some exceptions (Two Towers for example). So when Matrix Reloaded finally came onto the big screen I didn't know what to expect but I wasn't disappointed.
The opening titles sent a tingle down my spine and the sight of Trinity, leather clad, is enough to spark my interests. That aside the first half hour was slow going but worthwhile in my mind, the story is just as important as the action. It was good to see the real world and see what the fight was all for. Once inside the Matrix the action was awesome and the scene with the many Agent Smiths was breathtaking along with the car chase, which had me dodging the traffic. The action is just as good if not better than the first and Neo does it all without breaking into a sweat, now that's coolness for you!
Yes the lines can be cheesy at times but wasn't the first? This is a different film to the first, a film in it's own right and yet a part of something greater. The film isn't for those with short attention spans, you have to concentrate and follow the story especially when Neo is in the room with the architect, that takes concentration but doesn't it raise some serious questions. It does for me and I can't wait to see Matrix Revolutions, what is the truth and how will it all end?
I don't want to give too much away for those who haven't seen the film but if you haven't seen the film then ignore all the bad reports, what do they know, judge for yourself and I'm sure the Matrix will have you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic., 21 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (2 Disc Edition) [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
And so, Hollywood greed swallows another would-be classic. If you take both Reloaded and Revolutions, cut out all the pointless eye candy you would have a worthy successor. The bulk of Reloaded is nothing but over choreographed, completely plot unrelated video game like fight scenes. Why do this Wachowski? Why sell your soul to Silver? Or did you?
I felt like crap watching this movie, and I really wish I hadn't. I am going to go to a hypnotherapist and get him to convince me that I have never seen this trite torment of a film, just so I can enjoy the first one as I always have. I am not just disappointed because the second film is slightly worse than the first. It's so pathetically bad I wanna cry.
In the first film every single scene meant something. Everything was a precursor to something else. When Neo fights smith in the subway, it's a lead-up to him waking up to the realities of the matrix. When Morpheus fights smith in the bathroom, he is sacrificing himself to save his crew and fulfills the prophecy Oracle made. Everything is connected somehow. But what do we get in Reloaded? We get Neo flying and fighting quadrillion agents, for the sake of flying and fighting quadrillion agents. Only at the very end of the movie do you get that same feeling of mystery, of something important, something significant is about to take place. It feels like the first movie again... and then you see "To Be Continued".
Oh and the dialog. Morpheus delivers lines with such incredible intensity and depth that you actually think he has something important to say. He doesn't. It's so pretentious it was almost insulting. He might as well come into a dark room, wearing sunglasses, and say: "I... had... waffles! For breakfast this morning" in his slow deliberating tone, it would have been just as deep as most of what he had to say.
I loved the first movie, I watched it at least a hundred times as it was set looping on my DVD player for a month straight at one time. I saw Reloaded and couldn't believe what a sad excuse for a Matrix sequel it was. Based on what I've heard I will never pay to see Revolutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something's Missing., 31 Jan 2004
By 
Burjiz (Schaffhausen, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (2 Disc Edition) [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
"The Matrix Reloaded" was a difficult movie for me to review. I saw it theatrically in the summer of 2003 and then I saw it yet again on DVD very recently. A seamless melange of martial arts, science fiction, and Christian overtones, 1999's "Matrix" was both an unexpected smash hit and ignited a cultural phenomenon in the age of digital video. The Wachowski brothers, who directed the movie, were faced with the daunting task of topping themselves, which they don't quite do on the sequel "Reloaded." Here is a film that's intermittently thrilling, sometimes boring, and often confusing. Never mind that Keanau Reeves, as an actor, is as wooden as mahogany furniture; what really matters are the stunts, which range from good to breathtaking. Highlights include an extended car chase and a scene featuring Neo (Reeves) going to battle with tens of Smiths (the underrated Hugo Weaving). New to the cast is the ever-striking Jada Pinkett Smith, who, as Niobe, doesn't have much to work with, but makes the most of what little screen time she is given. But as soon as the action stops, "Reloaded" hits some bumps with long stretches of dialogue that, quite frankly, are tedious to listen to. And there's a long, pointless "rave scene" that seems to go on and on and doesn't quite fit in with the rest of the picture. If any clip belongs in the "deleted scenes" section, it's this one. While I'm not as rabid a fan of "The Matrix" as some people are, I was somewhat entertained by "Reloaded." But for all its stunning visuals I couldn't help noticing that it also lacked the unexpected punch of its predecessor. Maybe a better title for this movie would have been "The Matrix Unloaded."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wavering sequel, 27 Aug 2003
By 
CUBEIS (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (2 Disc Edition) [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The Matrix introduced an idea to the world that many people were not aware of “What is real”. The first film was brilliant it showed people what they wanted to see, without even knowing it. The first film was released in the perfect way unlike the second and possibly the third, for a movie of it’s type there was no marketing, no ads, no nothing you had to go see it to find out what it was all about after that everything just blew up, the hype and the interest in the concept of the matrix.
I like the first one as every part of it flowed it was not too over the top and at no point was it boring, repetitive or tedious. The way the action scenes and story line were woven together was excellent. It was good to leave the movie where it ended giving the audience the entertainment they came for and something else a concept to think about.
However in the Matrix Reloaded we are given a sequel that was anticipated but not made in the way that it should have been. The action sequences seemed too long and didn’t help the movie flow like the first. I liked the twist at the end but it seemed a little ill placed in the way the movie just built up to it. It was like part A is the nothing and blah blah blah and from the bike chase onwards is the whole concept moving forward to a real cliff hanger. They also spoiled the concept by chopping it up releasing the Animatrix and The Matrix the game. There are some people out there who love this movie but are too fixated on it, others like me like the concept who think that it was ruined by what reloaded did. But I leave it up to the viewer to decide don’t be fascinated by the action as you may be disappointed by the poor quality of rendering and don’t try to understand the story if you cant as it is far too complex to explain in any other way. Just go see it for yourself.
One last point to all those die hard fans that think that they know the movies sooooo well did you notice how everything in the so called “real world” has a blue tint to it and everything in the Matrix has a green tint to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why oh why did they not leave it after the first one, 3 Nov 2006
By 
Iain P (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (2 Disc Edition) [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
First film great, this film poor! What is it all about? I found myself asking this as I watched themovie. Fair enough it develops the story although it loses the suspense and mystery of the first film. Do yourself a favour and forget the second and third films of this series were ever made and just enjoy the first movie for what it is. Even being a bit of a sci-fi geek I could not get into this film.

Nothing is as it seems, was the principle of the first movie. I belive this also applies for the hype around this movie when it came out. Shame there was no oricle to consult before I bought this. She may have saved my hard earned money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Search for the Holy Grail?, 27 July 2003
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (2 Disc Edition) [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Reviews of Reloaded have been mixed, but seem to fall into two categories: one complains (inevitably and undeniably correctly) that the action sequences haven't really developed from the first film, the other that there aren't enough action scenes and there's too much cod philosophy.
To those in the first category: well, you're right, but you're missing the point of the film if all you care about is the kung fu. And it would be churlish to deny that the car chase sequence is outstanding. To those in the second category: have another look at the Matrix I: you'll be surprised how much talking there is in it. And a lot of it doesn't make much sense. Until, that is, you see Reloaded. And then a reviewing of the first film pays big dividends. Consider the following:
*Warning - what follows discusses some plot aspects (but doesn't really contain spoilers) *
The scene set at the end of the first Matrix is surprisingly conventional. We have our good guys, we have our bad guys, the battle is won but the war continues: for such a post modern film, it's almost old-fashioned.
Reloaded turns this all on its head. It becomes clear that the Matrix isn't universally bad: there are tensions in it. There are anomalies (such as Agent Smith). All is not in harmony. There is order, and there is chaos. Witness the aggravation between the Merovingian and his wife, Persephone. They're both part of the Matrix, but they counteract each other.
So much so is explained by the Architect, the original designer of the Matrix. This is where it gets clever and the religious/philosophical allegories get weird. Just to point out I don't necessarily subscribe to or endorse anything which follows, although it sounds fascinating.
There is a religious order which believes that before the world God created a perfect celestial realm for his children, who were immortal and infinite. But life became stagnant and the children became discontent with their perfection. So he created a terrestrial realm where they could learn what it was like to be imperfect, mortal and finite, in order to appreciate their perfection. One of God's children rebelled against this idea and left the perfect world for ever. He was called Lucifer. The goody-good in the picture was another or God's sons, Michael.
God sent neutral angels to the terrestrial realm with the gift of the Holy Grail. If the grail was guarded and protected everything on earth would be cool and even Terrestrial life would be good. If Lucifer's boys managed to hide the Grail, life on earth would be short, brutal, and tragic. We would have return to the celestial realm and the cycle would have to repeat itself again.
Now this sounds to me a lot like the belief scheme underlying the Matrix as set out by the Architect. If you think I'm reading too much into this, consider that the religious order in question is the *Merovingian* order.
The cross references don't end there: Google on Morpheus (or Orpheus?), Nebuchadnezzar, or Persephone. Barely a word is wasted in the script: it may seem cornball but it is completely intentional.
For example: the Architect says: "... although the process has altered your consciousness you remain irrevocably human, ERGO SOME of my answers you will understand and some of them you will not".
This sounds forced, and a bit silly. But say it out loud. "Ergo, some" = ergo sum = "cogito ergo sum" = Latin for "I think, therefore I am", from Descartes' Discourse on the Method, which proposed (in Latin) that everything about the world is susceptible to doubt except the fact of one's own very existence, because to doubt, you have to exist first, so it isn't logical to doubt that you exist, even though the rest of the world as you know it could be a clever illusion ... which is, of course, the fundamental premise on which the Matrix is based.
Now that's what I call nifty scriptwriting. Roll on the release of the DVD...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing the point....., 3 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (2 Disc Edition) [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I do feel many of the critics miss the point of this movie. The basis of this story line, however limited, is quite thought provoking and, in it's simplistic way, does ponder some of the age-old philosophical questions, ‘Why are we here’ etc. I particularly like the fact that it dispels the axiom, 'I think, therefore I am'!
If the movie offers nothing else, you really cannot criticize it's pure entertainment value, the special effects sequences in themselves offer exceptional escapism and apart from the previously mentioned Zion scenes, the movie does trot along at a brisk pace.
The ending, if you can call it that, is one of the few, of recent films that have created such discussions in the pub afterwards.
Overall, excellent entertainment, and nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A moderate sequal, 30 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. RB FORTUNE-WOOD "Rowan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (2 Disc Edition) [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The matrix reloaded offers a return trip following the characters of Neo, Morpheus, and Trinity. This film is interesting, the graphics top the last film (although they don't introduce anything quite as revolutionary) and the plot becomes more and more interesting. However the film is ultimately let down by several aspects, Trinity as in the last film is terribly portrayed by the untalented actress Carrie Anne, which leads to awkward romance scenes that will just leave you uncomfortable; the romantic triangle involving Morpheus is much more believable and sadly not looked into in much depth, overall Carrie undermines the excellent performances given by Keanu Reeves (Neo) and Laurence Fishburne (Morpheus). Some of the action scenes are way overdone and overlong, mainly an opening scene involving Trinity, and many a time the plot is explained to you by a rather dull lecture, whether it be from an old man (wait and see), the oracle, etc... it shows a severe lack of filmmaking talent to have to explain out the plot rather then subtly show it during the film, which the first film managed to do. However, agent smith is acted total flawlessness by Hugo Weaving, who manages to add humour into the film by merely talking, what he says is only made funny by the fact that it is he who says it, which I believe is definitely a mark of a great actor, I would say that Smith and Neo's encounter makes the film worth watching. Overall the film gives what I believed it would, an interesting follow up with some interesting scenes, I just hope the third film can achieve more then that. A good watch if your interested in watching the third instalment, it may not be worth you buying it, however it is interesting to re watch some of the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definately the 'middle' one! (Slight Spoiler Alert!), 23 Nov 2003
By 
M. JONES "mj1001" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (2 Disc Edition) [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
'The Matrix' was so original and so innovative that it was always going to be hard to follow up on it. Not only this, but it could have been a stand-alone film with an ending that is left to our imagination. However, 'Reloaded' is a case of 'mid-trilogy' syndrome - something that must be done to get to the final part. In this respect, 'Reloaded' works quite well (with a decent twist involving Smith's "real life" clone). There's certainly a feeling that you're witnessing a real spectacle or that one is around the corner. As a stand-alone, it doesn't work so well. There's a good 40 minutes in Zion (the last human city) before an real action - aside from an extremely pointless 30 second punch up with a few Agents... oh and another extremely pointless 30 second punch up with another good guy! But then Smith returns, thank God, "a new man, so to speak". But this time, he is also a rebel and begins to real inject some much-needed fun into the film. As soon as he shows up, there's one of the most entertaining fight scenes ever made with God-knows-how-many Smiths! Then a 15 minute car chase, ending with a REAL CLOSE CALL that just makes you sigh with relief! Much like The 'Empire Strikes Back', the ending is quite grim and holds one or two twists. The DVD extras are unremarkable and could have been a real spectacle... well, there's bound to be a 'Reloaded Revisited'! Anyway, definately worth buying if you watch all three (somehow) in a short amount of time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How could they laet this happen?, 22 May 2004
This review is from: The Matrix Reloaded (2 Disc Edition) [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I find it hard to believe that anyone could give this movie five stars. It's simply the biggest dissapointment I have ever seen, played or read. Yes, it's even more of a dissappointment than the Phantom Menace.
First of all, it made absolutely no sense whatsoever. I paid to see a movie, not a philosophy lecture. Many Matrix nerds tell me that everything is explained in Revolutions. Revolutions did nothing but darken the shroud. And just remember, just because a movie makes sense, it doesn't make it good! The Flintstones in Viva Rock Vegas made sense, that doesn't stop it from being the worst movie I have ever seen.
The fight scenes were boring. After The Matrix, i didn't beleive this could be possible, but every single fight scene except the ending car chase (more on that later) was just 'punch punch punch kick punch cartwheel punch punch punch kick punch cartwheel' until Neo ran away. Fight scenes were thrown into the movie with little or no justification, just so the Wachowski bros. could show off thier latest batch of boredom. Yawn.
By the time I'd got to near the end, I was frantically trying to work out what on Earth everyone had just talked about. And then it hit me. I just didn't care! This movie is far from bad. It is absolutely awful, nonsensical, rubbish. Keanu Reeves' acting is terrible. None of it made any sense. The battle scenes had all the captivity of a WWE brawl. The script felt like it was written by a six-year old. Reading these reviews has been more interesting than watching this movie.
Good points? Er... well, the car chase was very cool, possible the movie's only saving grace. And, it gave me such low hopes for Revolutions that I found Revolutions seemed better than it would have been if I hadn't seen Reloaded first.
So, rent this, skip to the car chase, forget about it, and get on with your life. The Matrix did not need a sequel. The Matrix was one of the greatest movies ever. This sequel is an insult to all action moives, ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 431 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Matrix Reloaded (2 Disc Edition) [2003] [DVD]
£1.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews