Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Blu Ray won't disappoint you
As it was released few months ago, the quality of this blu ray is up to 2009 standard, lots of extra and lossless soundtrack.

This is superior to the US version which contains dolby 5.1 soundtrack.
Published on 12 Oct 2009 by Kam Wing Hung Billy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nooooooooooo, A 12a Terminator movie
Terminator 3 Rise Of The Machines.

Starring.
Arnold Schwarzenegger, Nick Stahl, Kristanna Loken, Clare Danes.
Director: Jonathon Mostow.
Format: Subtitled.
Language: English.
Subtitles: Danish, English, Finnish, Hindi, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish.
Dubbed: Italian.
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English.
Audio...
Published 6 months ago by Timelord007


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nooooooooooo, A 12a Terminator movie, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Terminator 3 Rise Of The Machines.

Starring.
Arnold Schwarzenegger, Nick Stahl, Kristanna Loken, Clare Danes.
Director: Jonathon Mostow.
Format: Subtitled.
Language: English.
Subtitles: Danish, English, Finnish, Hindi, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish.
Dubbed: Italian.
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English.
Audio Description: English.
Region: All Regions.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.40:1.
Number of discs: 1.

Positive.
1)There is a decent chase with The Terminator & T-X & a superb cherograped fight between these 2 cyborgs.
2)Arnie just about makes this average.
3)The T-X, a sleek "Terminatrix" is played superbly by a coldly expressionless Kristanna Loken.

Negative.
1)Didn't need another second sequel, T2 had closure.
2)12a rating, It's a Terminator movie FFS!
3)Nick Stahl as John Connor is miscast here.

Blu Ray Info.
Running Time 106 minutes, Documentary, Commentary, Trailer, Deleted scene.

Blu ray.
Picture : Excellent clear vibrant print.
Sound : Crystal clear sharpness mixed in 5.1 Dolby Digital.

Trivia.
1)Arnie fee was $30 million for this movie.
2)This is the first Terminator movie that doesn't feature any input from James Cameron & boy does it show.
3)Arnie gave $5 million of his fee back so director Jonathan Mostow could expand upon the chase between the T-800 on the police bike & TX in the fire truck on the freeway.
4)This was Arnies last film before his political career as Governor of California.

Review.
Arnies back but this time it's more likely for the $30 million dollar payday he received for his return.

Made in 2003 a whopping 12 year's after T2 this watered down second sequel sees Judgment day as inevitable & Arnies T-800 is sent back again to locate & protect John Connor from a new Terminator the T-X a female cyborg who has arrived seeking out John Connors future generals in a bid to assassinating them to change the outcome of the war against Skynet with the hope of luring out Connor who has gone off the grid since his mother Sarah Conmor has passed away from cancer.

The action scenes via the chases & the 2 Terminators fighting are well shot & are great action sequences, My issue is with the 12a violence were we see bloodless & shootouts shot at angles were we see no impact making this movie a more watered down effort than the first two (15)R rated classics.

Arnie does ok but considering he said he'd never do a Terminator movie without James Cameron he soon seemed to have changed his opinion when a $30 million payday is wavered under his nose.

Kristina Loken is fine as the T-X beautiful but deadly & it's a pity she wasn't allowed to go hardcore with the violence as she certainly got the screen presence.

When the inevitable happens & the machines start attacking the people via Skynet taking control this then shouldve been a violent & tense sequence seeing humans shot & helpless against the machines but it's cut in a way that is again watered down & bloodless striping the scene of any tension, James Cameron would've made this a epic sequence.

I suppose one could argue that fate has a way of changing history no matter what we do as here Judgment Day is inevitable even altering event's its though fate has altered the timeline once again to accommodate the changes made to events in T2.

The movie ends on a decent cliffhanger that set's up another movie or as there a flashback of John Connor victorious this could also be seen as closure to the franchise as it shows John Connor triumphant. Against Skynet.

The Blu ray transer is of a high quality standard as is the soundtrack looking & sounding better than ever.

A pity a harder cut wasn't released on the Blu ray as my review & rating may have been higher.

Timelord Rating.
6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Blu Ray won't disappoint you, 12 Oct 2009
By 
As it was released few months ago, the quality of this blu ray is up to 2009 standard, lots of extra and lossless soundtrack.

This is superior to the US version which contains dolby 5.1 soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "I'm Back!", 21 May 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Cameron, director and creator of the Terminator series was not involved in any way during the production of this film, and it shows. Nor was composer Brad Fiedel and it shows. Taking away these two crucial factors from a film series that has defined a generation is a very big risk, and this time it didn’t pay off sadly, no matter how well the intention was of director Jonathan Mostow to continue a story that could have been left closed back in 1991 as the credits closed on ‘Terminator 2’.

The basis of the film is almost taking the story from ‘T2’ and recycling it expand a story that doesn’t need to be expanded. Instead of Robert Patrick’s deadly and eerie T-1000 villain, we have a female carbon-copy in the T-X played by Kristanna Loken who tries too hard to evoke Patrick’s menace, fluidity and threat but comes across as just a pale imitation with a few new gadgets.
Both Terminators find their target in an explosive confrontation, a couple of big and loud chase sequences follow, lots of exposition and self-narration, an large military headquarters attack takes place and a final battle with the Terminators ensures as the heroes battle to save the world. It’s ‘Terminator 2’, but without any respect for the gravitas of the story it’s trying to tell and a focus on character relationship and development.

It’s hard to slam this film, as Arnold Schwarzenegger is again perfect as the Terminator himself, the T-800, and he looks in great physical shape. Sadly it’s the script he’s given that lets the character down. Schwarzenegger plays him like no-one else ever could, but when the Terminator drops in sarcasm, subtle hints at humour and even great emotion in what he does and says, it’s clear this really is trying to be something different and family friendly rather than the cold brutality seen in the original 1984 classic and even the 1991 sequel. Young John Connor spent the majority of the second film teaching him emotion and words, but here he already seems pre-programmed to be more comedic and human, which isn’t very good to continue the cyborg killer he should be.

Even Nick Stahl and Claire Danes are reduced to cardboard characters in this big long road/chase movie. Edward Furlong created a young boy turning into a strong, determined young man at the end of ‘Terminator 2’, but now he is played as someone constantly confused, constantly questioning what is happening and constantly narrating events for the benefit of us to follow. I for one didn’t feel this John Connor was the one we saw in the second film.
And Claire Danes only manages to scream and cry during this film, with the odd bit of fighting thrown in for equality. A pointless role given the basis she plays a crucial part in the future war that obviously has just been created for this film’s plot to progress.

That’s one of the big down points; the story. The film gives us nothing new to expand on, except the fact that the threat of Judgement Day wasn’t stopped; it was only delayed. So it almost tries to make the efforts of the second film void and have them replayed here to try stopping the future war once more. But there’s no point because we already know the outcome. There’s no point in also introducing characters over a matter of minutes amongst noisy action sequences and trying to convince us they are the most important characters of the whole series, over the likes of Kyle Reese and even John Connor himself. It’s insulting that Mostow does this to us, rather than expanding the story and relationships laid out so well previously.

Because there is no character development and just hordes of CGI enhanced action scenes and stunts, there is no emotive connection forged with anyone here which was why the previous films were so powerful, because we connected and felt the pain and fear of characters, good and evil. Here, it’s just an action film with the Terminator character thrown in, but even he is watered down.
Mostow plays serious moments for laughs. I admit I did chuckle at the introduction of Schwarzenegger’s character, but because it’s so absurd. He looks in fine physical condition, there’s no denying that, and it’s great to see. But arriving at a strip club to the blaring Village People tune ‘Macho Man’ squaring off against a flamboyant gay stripper dressed in leather and finishing by wearing some Elton John style purple sparkly sunglasses… well, it has to be seen to be understood how this sets the tone for the whole film.

Think about it – ‘The Terminator’ was an 18 and had a brutal, violent and nightmarish introduction that set the tone perfectly. ‘Terminator 2’ was a 15 but still had the gruesome violence and toned down introduction that was handled perfectly to reflect the wider appeal of the tone aimed for. ‘Terminator 3’ becomes a 12, and has a cheeky strip club the basis of our introduction with no violence and plenty of comedic expressions and iconography that sets the tone. Not good, at all.

And as for introductions and tones, we have none of the iconic theme used to signify the arrival, or threat, of the Terminators. Whilst Brad Fiedel used a synthetic, repetitive and machine-like sound to his unforgettable score over both films, here we are treated to a generic mash of orchestral, brass and choir arrangements that most action films incorporate, stripping away the menace that ran through previous films that literally could make you shiver in anticipation when you heard it. Even the adaptation of the main theme used in the end credits is rushed and obviously played on a computer and lasts for less than 1 minute before making way for a typical action film credit moment; a hard rock song.

It wants to BE a Terminator film, but it doesn’t feel or look likes one sadly. If you took away the iconic image of Schwarzenegger dressed in his black leather gear, it would be a basic 100 minute sci-fi action film. The future ‘Terminator Salvation’ at least made an obvious leap in style and tone to differentiate it from the films before, but still trying to maintain a story and theme set out by James Cameron’s vision nearly 20 years before.

‘Terminator 3: Rise Of The Machines’ however simply over-doses the CGI sequences and bloats a weak story to become a very mediocre action film, but very disappointing Terminator film that should have been crafted with much more care and attention than it deserved. There are some good moments of course, the action is well staged and the opening and closing moments are genuinely thought-provoking and visually exciting, much like the previous films were, it’s just the actual narrative in the middle that weigh it down.

Which is a real big shame, because I want to like this more than I have to admit I do. Schwarzenegger saves it for me, but sadly I can't lie to myself after watching it for the first time in many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Terminator, it's great., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (Two Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
It's Terminator 3, so it's gotta be a winner, Probably the weakest of the first three movies, but the Special Effects are good, the main protagonist is of-course gorgeous , & let's face it even a weak Terminator Movie knocks spots off most other Sci-Fi. My 10 year old who hadn't seen them before liked this movie as much as T2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last REAL terminator movie!, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good movie and the last in the series (for me Salvation did not count!) not as good as T1 or T2 but still worth purchasing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What A Travesty, 30 Jan 2007
This review is from: Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (Two Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
For starters, let me say what a fan I am of the first two Terminator films. 1984's 'The Terminator,' despite having a relatively very low budget changed science fiction movies forever. To make a sequel that could live up to such a film was incredibly ambitious, but proved to be more than worthy. It too changed movie-making in 1991 with it's revolutionary use of CGI, brilliantly executed and embodied in the T-1000. These movies (nevermind the later addition of 'Titanic') made up a repetoire of cinematic excellence that propelled James Cameron into the super-elite of directors in league with Spielberg, Lucas and Kubrik.

Based upon the success of the previous efforts, a second sequel was inevitable. The Terminator franchise was too great a money-spinner to sacrifice. And so, in spite of legal wrangling with regards to studio rights, budget and casting problems, the film was made. And what a bloody, God-awful mess they made of it.

In much the same vein as the Alien franchise, the Terminator story has been obliterated at it's third outing. On both occassions, James Cameron set up an incredibly cohesive dynamic between it's main characters, only for the makers of the third films to 'improve' said inter-relationships. I can only speculate as to quite what Mr. Cameron makes of having his ideas perverted once again, but I'm pretty sure he's not pleased.

From the opening scene, I had an idea that all was not well. The 'aesthetic' just wasn't consistent with it's predecessors. No flash graphics showing the font of the terminator logo, just plain black and white. The familiar Brad Fiedel score was also missing, which may sound very trivial, but I consider it to to be a movie no-no. It would be like making a Star Wars film without the John Williams music and minus the yellow script scrolling into deep space.

One thing that was consistent was the apocolyptic vision of the future, which, despite a very unconvincing (and frankly comical) older representation of John Conor, was pretty impressive. It was a pleasure to see so many T-800s roaming the desolate landscape in search of survivors. Truely nightmarish, but far too short.

And from here on in, the film goes downhill with increasing speed. Firstly, the villain just isn't scary. The 'Terminatrix' is a cross between the previous T-800 and T-1000 models, an endoskeleton surrounded by liquid metal so as to modify it's appearance. Mostly, in the form of the beautiful Kristanna Loken. But to be quite honest, an attractive model isn't going to scare me in the same way as a steel skeleton with it's flesh gradually flayed off, or a 'mimetic poly-alloy' that can morph out of the floor and stab you through the eye.

Add to this the 'comedy.' The scene where the T-800 must acquire some clothes is pretty pathetic. After robbing a (stereotypically gay) male stripper of his biker gear in front of a packed audience of enthusistic women, he reaches into his pocket to pull out and put on - A PAIR OF ELTON JOHN SUNGLASSES. This didn't work and made me cringe with embarrassment. Another cringeworthy display is at the supermarket, where the Terminator mimics the aforementioned stripper by telling the assistant to "Talk to the hand." This affords the film no greater value whatsoever and could have quite easily have been edited out.

I have to say that the effects are very impressive, but I didn't feel particularly excited or thrilled by any of them. Looking good just isn't enough.

As for the characters themselves, the outcome of their future mattered very little to me. I simply didn't care. Not to fault Nick Stahl, the new John Connor, I think he did about as much with the script as could be expected. Likewise with Clare Danes.

So, to summarise, Terminator 3 is an abomination from start to finish that is not only insulting to it's predecessors but also stains them with it's crassness and ineptitude. If it's decided that a fourth film is to be made, I would suggest that part 3 is ignored and Mr. Cameron is brought on board to rectify these mistakes and make a more fitting third installment to what could have been a great trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A weak and diluted episode of the Terminator series. They have turned Terminator into a family-film .... disgusting., 9 Jun 2009
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh what a suprise (not); the Terminator is now a woman; how predictable. What really is a suprise is that the third film in the Terminator franchise is rated '12'. Terminator films were and always should be rated '18' otherwise all you get is some diluted version of what was a winning formula. Instead they have turn Terminator 3 into a family film and from beginning to end this is plain to see.

Also; its a shame they couldnt make a new Terminator without Arnie. Ok he was great in the first two films but the franchise is strong enough to make this third film without this aging less convincing Terminator.

The latest bad guy Terminator is obviously a woman (suprise, suprise), but sadly this doesnt work and the villian is no where near as threatening or impressive as the liquid Terminator in the second film.

This is a deeply unsatisfactory film and I still cant get my head around why they have tried turning it into a family film. The Terminator films are horror movies and for it to be as good as the first 2 movies; it has to be a rated 18 movie. Otherwise all the things that made the first 2 great would be missing here ..... and they are.

Poor film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Constantly menacing baddie, 23 Mar 2010
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I think the best thing about this film is the sense of surprising scariness that the baddie lady robot brings to this movie. First time I saw it, that was all I remembered about it, the scary robot. But I was disappointed with the way it ended. However, when I watched it again on this Blu-ray set, the whole thing made a bit more coherent sense and actually the ending was quite fitting and the film has gone up a notch in my estimation. The arnie T1 and T2 cliches return, and some of them work and some don't. A sense of self parody there but it's harmless fun. The menacing robot lady is just as scary watching the film second time round, and the film starts with and builds eve more tension very effectively throughout. The transfer to Blu-ray is very good and I'm glad I got this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad, bad BAAAAAD!!!!!!!, 14 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (Two Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This could and should have been a very good film, but it was frankly appalling. There are a number of reasons for this...

1/ Nick Stahl is twenty million miles from the level of gritty-faced rebel that Christian Bale is. I'm not bigging Bale up particularly, I don't really like him, but this role should NEVER have gone to someone like Stahl.
Whether he was told to play John Connor as a whiny tosser by the director, Jonathon Mostow, or whether that was just his natural take on the character I don't know, but it didn't work at all.

2/ This is a B-movie. The first two films in this franchise were international blockbusters that broke the boundaries in effects, storytelling and acting (Ah-nuld excepted, naturally). This offering is cack.
Like sequels such as Ghostbusters 2, the values are way below that of its more successful predecessors, as is the directing and editing. It is a disgrace to place such a lame offering in line with two pieces of cinematic genius like The Terminator and T2.
How in the name of all that is sacred Jim Cameron could honestly describe this as "In a word... great!" is beyond me. Compared to his offerings in this franchise, it is unmitigated garbage.
I think it might have been the LA Times which said the movie was "content to be a B-movie and remain loud, dumb and obvious."
Couldn't have put it better myself.

3/ The continuity has been ripped to shreds.
We know the original film's events were set in 1984, with the future Kyle Reese had just come from - the year the war against the Machines had ended in victory for the human rebels - being 2029.
This was established in T1 and reconfirmed in T2 when John's birth date is categorically shown (on the police computer, searched by the T-1000) as being the 2nd of February 1985 and his current age being ten years old. This would probably place the events of T2 in 1995.
Things then start to fall apart in the first seconds of T3 when a voiceover from John says "when I was thirteen, they tried again". Huh? Where did the extra three years come from? Did they do this so that John's "making out" with Kate when he was a child wouldn't sound just a bit too precocious? A ten year old "making out" is kinda unwholesome, after all.
If it was true though, then that would place the events of T2 in 1998, which was actually a year after the war should've originally started, until the events of T2 postponed it. Errors number one and two...
John Connor is supposed to be, I think 22 during T3. That places the events of T3 during the bulk of 2007. They are actually taking place (as confirmed in T4) during 2004. Error number three...
Sarah Connor's birth and death dates as revealed on the fake tombstone in the mausoleum, have to push the events of T1, when she was nineteen years old, back to 1978 if they are to make any sense, which would place the events of T2 in 1988, but would make the 2004 John in T3 a ripe old 26, not 22. Continuity errors four and five...
There are probably more, but by now I've lost the will to carry on, so I'll stop. I'll just finish by repeating that this is a pale shadow of the first two films and that the writers and director should be fired from all future projects and thrown out of their trade associations. This film was crying out for James Cameron to have had something to do with it. I just hope T4 doesn't suffer similarly from his absence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars just aint frightening, 24 Mar 2005
This review is from: Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (Two Disc Set) [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The core problem with T3 is Kristanna Loken's hopeless miscasting as the new Terminator. The whole point of a killing machine is that not only is it supposed to be a killing machine, it's also supposed to look like one. Both Arnie's original in T1 and Robert Patrick's liquid freak in T2 made you want to run a mile just by catching sight of them. T3 just makes you go weak at the knees. Call me old fashioned, but someone who looks like they should be on the cover of FHM does not make for a scary cyborg killer.

As a result of this blunder, T3 lacks the sense of dread that made the first two movies such compelling viewing. Instead we are treated to a series of ludicrously over the top car chases, explosions and smash 'em ups, in order to paper over the cracks in the plot. In fact the special effects are in my opinion inferior to T2. The new Terminator is hardly revolutionary either. I would put money on that the T-1000 from T2 could wipe the floor with this dolly. The acting is terrible as well. To be fair to Loken, she at least looks like she's trying to put some effort into her role. Stahl and Danes just look bored with the whole thing. Even Arnie seems more concerned with his pay cheque than breathing life into proceedings.

It's not that T3 couldn't have been a good movie. With a decent script and better acting there's no reason why it shouldn't have been on a par with the earlier films. But as it is it's just one big yawn from beginning to end. Hopefully T4 will put the fear and suspense back into the series. Just forget T3 ever existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines (Two Disc Set) [DVD] [2003]
2.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews