Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars13
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2006
I'm not the best person to write interesting, factually correct and animated reviews but I do know good music when I hear it. If you are a fan of smooth, soulful, heartfelt reggae then this is a must for you. Great tunes, inspiring lyrics and thumping rhythms - you don't get much better than this.

If you like reggae and have not ventured much further than Bob Marley then try some Burning Spear. Albums such as: "Social Living", "Farover", "100th Anniversary: Marcus Garvey + Garvey's Ghost " and "Hail H.I.M." are some of his best works.

I've just ordered more burning spear for my collection and wanted to spread the word on this living legend.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2004
Hail HIM is the best Burning Spear album ever (in my humble opinion).
An excellent collaboration of Winston Rodney and the majority of The Wailers. A combination of amazing "Riddims", crisp brass and the haunting vocal talents of Burniing Spear on tracks like " Road Foggy" and "Cry Blood Africa" are crucial listening for Reggae Fans. Your Reggae collection will thank you for adding this Burning masterpiece.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2009
This album is absolutely phenomenal. I first bought it on cassette in the early '80s, bought it again on CD recently and it's worth every penny and more. Slap it on, crank it up, utter bliss.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2004
Hail HIM is the best Burning Spear album ever (in my humble opinion).
An excellent collaboration of Winston Rodney and the majority of The Wailers. A combination of amazing "Riddims", crisp brass and the haunting vocal talents of Burniing Spear on tracks like " Road Foggy" and "Cry Blood Africa" are crucial listen for Reggae Fans.
"Teach Me Teacher......"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2007
Whilst Winston Rodney has released an undoubtably classic stream of albums in his career including farover,social living and marcus garvey to name a few- for me this is his best work,worth it just for the bass work of Aston family man Barrett alone not to mention the dynamic and top notch musicianship of the wailers band, hail h.i.m. represents some of the most interesting and culturally enlightening works in the reggae genre....eloquent lyrics, genuine heartfelt sentiment and quality production make this one of my alltime favourite releases.......basically its an eduaction in rastafarianism and has just some of the best melodies and riddims i have heard in many years as a roots reggae fan, whilst the spear himself is on top form, columbus' riidim has been reworked over the years but this is still the original and best!!!!!!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
Solid reggae with conscious lyrics from the master. If you are a reggae fan this is an absolute must from the golden era. Check out "Dry and Heavy" (which is neither by the way) from the same artist.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
One of my all time favourite Burning Spear CD, the fact that he shared production with Bob Marley and Wailers member/chief arranger Aston Familyman Barrett gave it that distinctive Tuff Gong Sound, something he has not repeated in his later CDs, where the reliance has been with rock guitar riffs and more repeated lyrics and to attract a wider audience. Not a criticism but it would be good to have still used Familyman in more productions. However his Live in Zenith Paris 1988 was an exception as a brilliant live album..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Some classic tracks on this album...starting off with the infectious drum & bass Roots, Rockers of HAil Him...not forgetting.......Christopher Colombus Classic reggae' with deep seated Lyric's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2009
A must have for any vinyl roots collectors. Some of Burning Spear's greatest riddim's!!
Sound quality extends that of CDs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
Burning Spear Hail H.I.M. is very good roots album of the highest order one of his very best ever, HIGHLY RATED FE REAL.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)