Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure pleasure, 5 Jun. 2006
By 
Peer Marshall (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hail H.I.M (Audio CD)
I'm not the best person to write interesting, factually correct and animated reviews but I do know good music when I hear it. If you are a fan of smooth, soulful, heartfelt reggae then this is a must for you. Great tunes, inspiring lyrics and thumping rhythms - you don't get much better than this.

If you like reggae and have not ventured much further than Bob Marley then try some Burning Spear. Albums such as: "Social Living", "Farover", "100th Anniversary: Marcus Garvey + Garvey's Ghost " and "Hail H.I.M." are some of his best works.

I've just ordered more burning spear for my collection and wanted to spread the word on this living legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutley essential "Spear" album, 31 Dec. 2004
By 
Colm McGrath "Colm11" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hail H.I.M. (Audio CD)
Hail HIM is the best Burning Spear album ever (in my humble opinion).
An excellent collaboration of Winston Rodney and the majority of The Wailers. A combination of amazing "Riddims", crisp brass and the haunting vocal talents of Burniing Spear on tracks like " Road Foggy" and "Cry Blood Africa" are crucial listening for Reggae Fans. Your Reggae collection will thank you for adding this Burning masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best, 8 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Hail H.I.M (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely phenomenal. I first bought it on cassette in the early '80s, bought it again on CD recently and it's worth every penny and more. Slap it on, crank it up, utter bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutley essentail "Spear" album, 31 Dec. 2004
By 
Colm McGrath "Colm11" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hail H.I.M. (Audio CD)
Hail HIM is the best Burning Spear album ever (in my humble opinion).
An excellent collaboration of Winston Rodney and the majority of The Wailers. A combination of amazing "Riddims", crisp brass and the haunting vocal talents of Burniing Spear on tracks like " Road Foggy" and "Cry Blood Africa" are crucial listen for Reggae Fans.
"Teach Me Teacher......"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential., 10 Jun. 2007
By 
G. Hulin "gareth" (birmingham uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hail H.I.M. (Audio CD)
Whilst Winston Rodney has released an undoubtably classic stream of albums in his career including farover,social living and marcus garvey to name a few- for me this is his best work,worth it just for the bass work of Aston family man Barrett alone not to mention the dynamic and top notch musicianship of the wailers band, hail h.i.m. represents some of the most interesting and culturally enlightening works in the reggae genre....eloquent lyrics, genuine heartfelt sentiment and quality production make this one of my alltime favourite releases.......basically its an eduaction in rastafarianism and has just some of the best melodies and riddims i have heard in many years as a roots reggae fan, whilst the spear himself is on top form, columbus' riidim has been reworked over the years but this is still the original and best!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Class, 27 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail H.I.M. (Audio CD)
Solid reggae with conscious lyrics from the master. If you are a reggae fan this is an absolute must from the golden era. Check out "Dry and Heavy" (which is neither by the way) from the same artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hail H.I.M. Burning Spear...., 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail H.I.M (Audio CD)
Some classic tracks on this album...starting off with the infectious drum & bass Roots, Rockers of HAil Him...not forgetting.......Christopher Colombus Classic reggae' with deep seated Lyric's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 11 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Haim H.I.M [VINYL] (Vinyl)
A must have for any vinyl roots collectors. Some of Burning Spear's greatest riddim's!!
Sound quality extends that of CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Hail H.I.M (Audio CD)
Who needs to explain Mr Spear anything?? Just listen and judge for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Roots Album, 13 Aug. 2010
By 
Clinton (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hail H.I.M (Audio CD)
Burning Spear Hail H.I.M. is very good roots album of the highest order one of his very best ever, HIGHLY RATED FE REAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hail H.I.M
Hail H.I.M by Burning Spear (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews