Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like an arcade classic.....
By now you have probably read a few reviews of this game. The criticism is the same as DW2 - too repetitive and suffers from severe fogging.
They are right, but these are probably the same people who have sat and played on consoles for their entire life.
But, if like me, you were raised on 20p arcade games with a joystick and only 2 buttons (if you were lucky),...
Published on 15 April 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars If you are looking to buy this game...
Dynasty Warriors 3 has some good points going for it, but in my opinion its just not quite worth the money.

The premise of the game is you are on a battlefield, there are around 20 or so stages to fight on, as a general from ancient china. You go around killing enemy soldiers and enemy officers, riding around on horses and slashing at anything that moves...
Published on 4 Jun 2007 by Ishtem


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like an arcade classic....., 15 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors 3 (Video Game)
By now you have probably read a few reviews of this game. The criticism is the same as DW2 - too repetitive and suffers from severe fogging.
They are right, but these are probably the same people who have sat and played on consoles for their entire life.
But, if like me, you were raised on 20p arcade games with a joystick and only 2 buttons (if you were lucky), this is a joy to play.
Sure it's slightly repetitive (you spend a lot of time mashing the square button), but who could get tired of slicing your way through over 1000 soldiers all intent on putting an end to your carnage.
The addition, new weapons, new unlockable characters, a couple of new features (including a 2-player mode) and more levels, will mean that if you were a fan of DW2, you will lose a couple of months sat in front of television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No flaws, no boringness, just complete and utter excellence!, 21 Nov 2003
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors 3 (Video Game)
The second game, i found was quite confusing at times and was quite a pain to play but when i got to play this beast of a game all my thoughts about how rubbish it was changed. I advise you buy this game. It'll have you playing for months, there's loads of characters to master, lots of levels to get and the musou modes are stunning. Don't delay or listen to others, BUY THIS GAME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DW3 Best Game I Ever Played!, 12 Nov 2005
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors 3 (Video Game)
It's a very addictive game with many different characters. It's the best game I've ever played - and I've played a few!
I can't see any other of the DW games being any better, how do you improve on perfection?
I recommend this game to people who like to fight along with other characters and like a lot of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow this is Good, 19 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors 3 (Video Game)
The first time I played Dynasty Warriors two I thought that the graphics and capabilities were amazing and the gameplay was even better.When DW3 was released I was ecstatic. The gameplay has been greatly improved with more levels and Bosses and the graphics have been remodeled and are much more fluent. The new item system is also a great feature allowing you to improve your stats temporarily if have put an item in your pouch. e.g. the tortoise amulet adds 17 to your defense. The Weapons system is also a great add on allowing you to find new and better weapons during the game after defeating an officer or general. Overall a five star effort. Great work Koei.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dynasty Warriors 3, 14 Mar 2002
By 
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors 3 (Video Game)
I have played this game just once and I love it, even if your not into Japanese warriors battling it out, you'll love this game.
I could some this game up in one word, "Carnage".
Dynasty Warriors 3 remains one of the most thrillingly chaotic and remarkably unique fighting experiences on the PS2. Witnessing the blinding colour, flailing limbs and unbrided violence exhausts the eyes like no other fighter.

In addition to the Musuo (Campaign mode) there's now a rather enjoyable time trial, where you have to kill 100 enemies as quickly as possible.
If you have played Dynasty Warriors 2 you'll know that it only has 8 stages, but this game has 3 times that amount of stages, with 23 stages. Also the number of characters has changed to an outstanding 40+, but most of these have to be unlocked ( but its a nice challenge !)
The most significant upgrade from Dynasty Warriors 2, has to be the AMAZINGLY FUN AND CHAOTIC 2 player mode. But the only downfall of this mode is the awkward camera angle.( BUT WHO CARES ABUOT THE CAMERA ANGLE WHEN YOUR IN THE MIDDLE OF A MASS DESTRUCTION!!!)
This is my verdict of the game:
Uppers:
- Remarkable Scale!
- Plenty of Missions!
- 40+ Charaters available to Unlock
- New Time Trial Mode.
--------------------------------------------------
Downers
-Not that different from Dynasty warriors 2
-Intrustive fogging(quite annoyin)
-Confusingly chaotic at times!
-Can become repetetive
Graphics = The numbers are impressive: 7/10
Sound = A bit out of place Rock Music: 6/10
Lifespan = Loadz of stuff to complete: 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grab your spear and get ready for action!, 12 Mar 2002
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors 3 (Video Game)
Dynasty Warriors 3 the sequal to DW2...but in DW3 you get the option of being able to play two-player cooperate mode and being able to choose from over 40 different characters..(which you have to unlock during the game).choose most of the characters from DW2 and new ones straight from the battle fields.
My comment on this game is that it almost gives you an adrenilene rush when you manage to get your KO score soaring high and it makes you want to go even higher(my highest score from DW2 was about 1200 people Ko'd..)also if you enjoy fighting games which envolve weapons then this game is for you as you have nearly every weapon you can think of from the certain time the game is set in, so grab you weapon and rush out to the battle field to face your enemy's and change the fate of history as you battle hoards of enemy's at once....and overcome them in a historical battle.
DW3 is a great game to have as it has improved graphics and better gameplay than it's predessor.
final comment: buy now, ask questions later!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars If you are looking to buy this game..., 4 Jun 2007
By 
Ishtem "Joe" (Nantes, France) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors 3 (Video Game)
Dynasty Warriors 3 has some good points going for it, but in my opinion its just not quite worth the money.

The premise of the game is you are on a battlefield, there are around 20 or so stages to fight on, as a general from ancient china. You go around killing enemy soldiers and enemy officers, riding around on horses and slashing at anything that moves.

Some of the main problems though, are that although the game has quite a few characters to unlock, by the time you've unlocked all of them, it leaves you wondering 'What was the point?'. They all have different moves to attack with, but overall, you'll still be playing the same 20 stages that you've played a hundred times over, and you'll probably only like 4 or 5 out of the 30-40 characters. You can unlock 4 weapons for each character, each slowly increasing in power, by collecting them from crates or dead officers, and also items that increase your health or attack if you equip them (you can equip five items that you've gathered, so you have to choose whether you want some more speed or jump ability, or if you'd rather go with some fire arrows and a horse.)

The graphics are dated now, but they get the job done. There is a fog that retreats as you get closer to it, all of the soldiers look identical, and many officers (the ones that you can't unlock) will all have a similar look as well. The AI of the soldiers and officers though, is that of a twig. You may argue that a twig can be quite intelligent, but I assure you that the AI in this game is far and away some of the worst ever seen in a game. You can run towards an officer, and he will try to attack you, but if you walk away, he doesn't give chase, he just goes back to the same place he was standing in before. The troops will all swarm around you and look as if they are going to attack you, but its rare to see one actually swing his weapon.

Overall, there is some things to keep you playing this game, as you will want to collect all the characters, items and weapons, but unfortunately, it has dated so much and the game play is very dull. In my opinion, you would be better off investing in Dynasty Warriors 5 (PS2, XBOX360, PS3) or Ninety Nine Nights (PS3 and XBOX360 only) as they are much more polished and have a lot more to do. These games have the same winning formula as Dynasty Warriors 3, but with improved AI, graphics, sound, and generally more things to do, but this genre of game is definitely suited for multiplayer, as when your with a friend theirs nothing quite like destroying an army together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynasty Warriors 3 - Another Triumph, 18 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors 3 (Video Game)
As the sun rises in ancient China, hoards of men engage for heated battle for supremacy over the precious land they charge over. DW3 lets you take command of one of these happy chappies and slice your way into the history books.
DW3 follows the progress of historical figures as they fight for the valour of 3 kingdoms of ancient China. Spanning centuries and continents, the game provides an enthralling atmosphere which involves anyone who endeavours to take up their spear and fight for their king. This third person beat-em-up sets armies against armies, allowing for one solitary general to charge through the enemy legions, or take a more defensive role, slashing through he who dares take a stab at one of your valued minions. Split screen multiplayer allows cooperative and versus carnage along with special features such as endurance, allowing to test your character against hoards of warriors, free mode, allowing you to play back over what you've done, picking up extra goodies, along with the tradition story line, which gives you the ability to fight your way through a story to aid your kingdom's supremacy over the whole of China.
FOR: Beautiful landscapes, exciting combat, very cooperative game play and excess of 40 playable characters with whom to plough your way through enemy troops. With many levels to play with plenty to keep you amused for days upon days of non stop carnage. The control system is simple and easy to pick up, allowing vast, complicated combos to be executed with the repeated pressing of the square button. A full 50 characters can fit on the battlefield without disappearing into the fog of memory lapse, which opens doors to leaping into the fray of combat, whether on foot, horse back, or indeed elephant back and slashing your way into ranks of waiting armies. The ability to go back and play through an intrinsically different story line with any of the 40 available characters implies hours of long life and replay value. The sound quality is very realistic with an atmospheric sound track and anime style chings and slashes whenever two blades collide. Cut scenes are smooth and fluid with rolling landscapes not rolling too far at all, but despite this, the game is a must have.
AGAINST: The most notable draw back of this game is its repetitiveness. Despite being gripping and exciting, all you really do is run around and press square repeatedly until you feel a special combo may be necessary. This does barely detract from the fun presented by DW3 but does diminish its demand for much thought. Even though a full 50 warriors can be visually processed at one time, the same applies in split screen multiplayer, halving the capacity of combat the game is capable of. This, though a minor detail, raises its ugly head when you're trying to hack an enemy officer to bits and he suddenly phases out of sight. Another minor criticism arises in the cheesy manor of speaking used in the cut scenes indicating low paid American voice over actors. It is all very well and good until you've played over the death of a certain boss over and over until the sound of 'I know your tactics! Next time i will defeat you!' makes your skin crawl. Graphically the game is not amazing, but has many traits of a downgraded graphical system in order to maximise the smoothness of combat. The linear nature of the game is somewhat disappointing, with a little room for improvement in the way that it could be made to have the option of commanding troops in a more tactical manner, but despite this the game seldom gets boring.
MULTIPLAYER: What is better than slicing through hundreds of marauding Chinamen? Slicing through your best friend's marauding Chinamen! Versus and cooperative modes take the game's linear dash and bash template and give it a whole new angle. The joy of engaging along side or against another person is something DW2 just couldn't provide. This is undoubtedly one of the best advances concerning DW3. A few draw backs are that the 50 processable warriors are reduced to 25 each when in split screen. Due to this splitting of screens, it actually becomes quite tricky to make sense of what's going on when you can only see half as much. The only other noticeable draw back is the way when, in free mode, one player meets their demise, the game ends. On the whole, it is an amazing feeling to poke another human being with something sharp. Multiplayer adds days of replay value to the game.
This spectacular sequel to the abysmally unappreciated DW2, Koei have taken their original masterpiece of martial mayhem and perfected it into the hard hitting, adrenaline pumping combat game which is DW3. Definitely suggestible for any gamer with a thirst for blood. Anyone who has looked at Tekken Tag Tournament and wanted to obliterate hundreds of people at once will love this game. Its addictive, enthralling, exciting and enjoyable. The whole concept of playing the part of historical characters and battles adds new depth to the involvement that playing the game can produce. DW3 will produce hours of fun and a total break from reality. This game screams 'BUY ME!' and so shall I. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute class, 7 July 2003
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors 3 (Video Game)
Now, I wasnt a dynasty warriors fan...until this came out. Okay I liked the second dynasty warriors. The idea was brilliant, but the game lacked in real depth. This has, however, been for the most part, sorted. The new weapon system where you can now execute longer moves and combos, and the introduction of stat boosting items are two of the main additions to the game. Also, there are many more characters and levels than the second game. The length of the second was one of its other faults. And while in this game, there arent that many levels, all of them are absolutely brilliant, so the replay value is endless, trust me, because this is coming from a person who likes long games, but despite its lack of stages, its still my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing game for the ps2, 2 April 2009
By 
Ms. Katie J. Knights (england southapton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors 3 (Video Game)
when i brought this game for the first time i thought the game was rubbish but when i started to play the game it was amazing. because the graphics are good and you can ride horses in the game and when you get to the nanman stage u get to ride elephants to smash your way through the stage. i would recommended this to people if they are huge koei fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dynasty Warriors 3
Dynasty Warriors 3 by THQ (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £1.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews