Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Wonderful Voice! She sings beautifully
What a Wonderful Voice! She sings beautifully. I never was into Disco and missed Candi Staton during that period. The album is well packaged and was here almost by return. It is a joy to listen to her music.
Published 2 months ago by minoru

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reworks...not originals
All tracks are tinny sounding, synthed re-recordings that loose all their divine originality.

Shame that artists feel the need to do this as its more often than not, a bad idea.
Published on 14 Aug 2009 by Ms. C. Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reworks...not originals, 14 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. C. Tyler "Shady Lady" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
All tracks are tinny sounding, synthed re-recordings that loose all their divine originality.

Shame that artists feel the need to do this as its more often than not, a bad idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too good to be true, 19 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. R. J. MacRae "jayhawk2000" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
A career-spanning collection from her deep Southern soul beginnings, through her disco days and club hits?!

Yes, it is too good to be true, because these are new recordings. While not exactly homemade, the production mainly relies on synthesisers, although there are good backing vocalists.

I almost preferred one or two of these new versions to the originals. For instance, Victim has been been made more compact and has lost the disco stylings. And tracks like Stand By Your Man and Suspicious Minds have a more dance feel to them.

It is good to hear she still has the voice and I am thrilled to say in concert she is on fire!

1. Young Hearts Run Free
2. Nights On Broadway
3. Stand By Your Man
4. Victim
5. Honest I Do Love You
6. You Got The Love
7. I'd Rather Be An Old Man's Sweetheart (Than A Young Man's Fool)
8. I'm Just A Prisoner
9. Sweet Feeling
10. In The Ghetto
11. Run To Me
12. When You Wake Up Tomorrow
13. Suspicious Minds
14. Now You've Got The Upper Hand
15. He Called Me Baby
16. Just When You Think It's Safe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rework has nothing to do with the original recordings, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
These are new recordings where the soul has been taken out of the records. Candi has really great recordings and cd's. This is not one of them. Better buy Candi Staton - Candi Staton (2004) EMI ASIN: B0000DG5N0.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
about half of this album is great but a few songs are almost copies of "young hearts run free".not including the Source version of "you got the love"is a crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Wonderful Voice! She sings beautifully, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
What a Wonderful Voice! She sings beautifully. I never was into Disco and missed Candi Staton during that period. The album is well packaged and was here almost by return. It is a joy to listen to her music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best of??, 7 July 2011
By 
Postepay (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Songs are re-recordings and lost their original (and so good) glamour and the sound of the whole CD is really disappointing. What a pity! Some of my favourite songs really miss their excellent sound and I am so surprised to listen to such a bad attempt. Anyway, at least this will remind me of the best original Candi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
nice price and quick delivery. what else can a man want?? thanks again theo vanderheyden music shop lommel belgium
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 19 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
the song young hearts run free was a completely different version to the one i wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "PEGASUS" Strikes Again!!!, 6 Feb 2013
By 
A. Foss "Andy 'Mod'Pie' Foss" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
I can only assume that the 'reviewers' that have given this more than 1-Star haven't heard the luscious vocals of Ms. Candi Staton before???
Personally, I wouldn't have thought that Candi would've needed the money to go to this awful, awful label to re-record her once-fantastic hits?

For anyone that doesn't know by now - AVOID THIS LABEL [ALONG WITH 'PRISM' or 'BESTWAY' - the latter mainly Northern 're-records' Soul - labels!!!] LIKE THE PLAGUE as you'll feel like tearing your hair out when you hear the sound, noise, racket contained within!
What you WILL NOT hear is what you thought to be the "ORIGINAL RECORDINGS"...& the worst thing???...they dont even have the decency to let you know the tracks are "re-records"!!!
All of the songs on this CD-album are, originally anyway, excellent songs & really DO NOT deserve the horrible, nasty "re-recording" experience.
DON'T BUY: 'PEGASUS', 'PRISM' Or 'BESTWAY' you WILL be disappointed folks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Compilation Con of the first order, 13 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Best Of (Audio CD)
I think this compilation should be withdrawn from Amazon,and the manufacturer/issuer of the cd should
be reported to Trading Standards for apparently deliberately misleading customers.
I was mislead to believe that it was 'The Best Of'....Well,Candi's best years were in the 70s and there are no 70s tracks here.
Every recording is a cheap re-recording done badly,not longer than 5 minutes spent on each track.
An absolute disgrace of a release of such an iconic artist,and there is no option to give it zero stars,otherwise I would have
done so.Even if it is offered for free,don't ever add this cd to your collection.I am horrified.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of
The Best Of by Candi Staton (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews