Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic Best of is definitely definitive
Well, it had to happen, Warners in the States just couldn't resist topping the European album of the same name - and, boy, how they've done it!.
Subtly different from that earlier European release, this contains ALL of Christopher's singles in almost absolutely chronological order of recording, including three new remixes. Of those remixes, one, "Back of my...
Published on 30 Aug. 2002 by Mr. Andrew A. Shaw

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I am aware of the artist and the C/D not good!
on first play all seemed well,but around the mid tracks began to jump,impossible to listen too,,I am aware of the artist and the C/D not good!
Published 3 months ago by charles wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic Best of is definitely definitive, 30 Aug. 2002
By 
Mr. Andrew A. Shaw "Molariser" (Darwen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Well, it had to happen, Warners in the States just couldn't resist topping the European album of the same name - and, boy, how they've done it!.
Subtly different from that earlier European release, this contains ALL of Christopher's singles in almost absolutely chronological order of recording, including three new remixes. Of those remixes, one, "Back of my Mind" was never issued as a single from the album of the same name, but was remixed between the "Window" album and the "Red Room"/"Walking in Avalon" set.
The big hits are all here: "Ride Like the Wind", the Grammy-winning "Sailing", the Oscar winner "Arthur's Theme" and "Think of Laura" from his early Warner Brothers days, through his middle period before he departed that label with "Swept Away" which won Cross an Emmy and "Is There Something" (surely the ultimate "Is it all over?" track) to his latest work in the divine "Open Up Your Window" produced by Dennis Lambert, "Walking in Avalon", "When She Smiles" (another favourite track about love) and "Hunger" from his latest, and hopefully not last, album, issued originally by CMC/RCA.
All of the tracks showcase Christopher's delicacy and poignancy, dealing with love, life, lust and relationships in way that touches your heart and leaves you with a knowing smile on your face (or even a slight tear in your eye!). The songs have been superbly remastered to give them a fresh coat of paint as it were, revealing the subtle arrangements and production. The musicians were chosen with care and read like a "Who's Who" of the U.S. session industry, including Michael McDonald, Michael Omartian, Lenny Castro, Larry Graham, Steve Lukather, Steve Gadd, Frances Ruffelle, and (sadly?) the late Nicolette Larson and the much-missed Jeff Pocaro. In the Control Room you'll find Christopher and Rob Meurer, Steve Dorff, Michael Omartian, and Dennis Lambert sharing the "knob-twiddling"
Here is a set which is 110% definitive and that rightly corrects the woeful neglect of a great singer-songwriter seemingly passed over by the mainstream commercial radio stations of today. Buy it, listen to it, treasure it and, above all, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb!, 26 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I have previously owned a copy of this CD but it has been long lost. I am so glad I have replaced this CD as it is as good now as it was the first time I owned it. I bought it 4 weeks ago, put it on in the car and its still there today. Brilliant. If you are debating if you should buy it then I would recommend just do it, you wont regret it.
Caroline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big favourite, 9 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I am a big Christopher Cross fan - have all his CD's. I managed to see him in concert on the 2 occasions in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It !, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Not a lot to say except that artist's such as Christopher Cross are few and far between these days, All the best tracks are on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cd by Christopher Cross - Happy customer, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I was pleased with the service as it came on time. Well packaged and the cd was sealed, so knew it was brand new. Excellent cd would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I am aware of the artist and the C/D not good!, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
on first play all seemed well,but around the mid tracks began to jump,impossible to listen too,,I am aware of the artist and the C/D not good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Very good Christopher Cross music! You have all his big hits and plus to discover in this CD. You can not miss this on your CD Library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
laurie (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Fantastic easy listening music. Every track is simply brilliant. Brings back memories of the 80's and it certainly won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the best hits!, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I'm really pleased with this CD - a good selection of hits and a trip down memory lane! CD arrived promptly and in A1 condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (Audio CD)
superb offering from Christopher Cross. Not a bad track in the whole album. If you like Christopher Cross you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Very Best Of
Very Best Of by Christopher Cross (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews