Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lesson in House
I'm not quite sure how the previous reviewer came to his 2 star review. There are some SOLID gold tunes on this album.
There are some INCREDIBLY influential tunes on here.
Can U feel it is House at it's finest & Frankie Knuckles 'Your Love' is just sublime, as is Raplhi Rosario's 'You used to hold me'. Marshall Jeffersons 'Move your Body' is another killer...
Published on 12 Nov 2003

versus
8 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss original house
I'm studying the development of dance music, so obviously there is no better way to do this than by listening to stuff, hence why I got this album, full of original house from the early days between disco and what's been dubbed 'old skool house' of the early 90s.
I know a lot of people describe this period's music as being very soulful, but when comparing it to what...
Published on 18 Oct 2003 by G. Ormrod


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lesson in House, 12 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Original Chicago House Classics (Audio CD)
I'm not quite sure how the previous reviewer came to his 2 star review. There are some SOLID gold tunes on this album.
There are some INCREDIBLY influential tunes on here.
Can U feel it is House at it's finest & Frankie Knuckles 'Your Love' is just sublime, as is Raplhi Rosario's 'You used to hold me'. Marshall Jeffersons 'Move your Body' is another killer cut.
All these tunes are entitled to their Hall Of Fame status.
A 2 star review just doesn't do them justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago the "Big Bang" of ALL House (dance) Music, 1 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Original Chicago House Classics (Audio CD)
If you see anything published by the previous reviwer who dismisses this becuase he doesn't like it; don't bother reading it. You can't produce the history of something only from the bits of it you like. That's like missing out on the big bang when writing about the historty of the universe.
This early Chicago house was the start of a collosal movement that went worldwide and is still around twenty years later (at time of writing).
Sure it sounds dated now, but in the clubs in the late eighties (not early nineties that scarygeorge says) this was tremendously ground breaking and we danced our shoes off to this stuff. From hearing the first Jack Your Body and Love Can't Turn Around many of us were in the record shops on Saturdays buying up all this stuff week in week out.
I've got all the tracks from this album from origianls in the eighties.
It's all home grown black Chicago house and is pure.
(The only track that doesn't belong is "Pump up London" as this was Acid House but still produced by Mr Lee a Chicago House founder.) If I were on a desert island I might take Ralphi Rosario featuring Xavier Gold's U Used to Hold Me...absolutely fantastic soul lifting spine tingling track.
Anyway listen to this as a sample or a document of what spawned EVERY western non hip hop dance genre since.
I have the box set of this era from London Records series "House Sound of Chicago" label and it has 12 albums of this stuff - the amount of music being produced in Chicago at the time was prolific.
These are just a few of the big hits that made it big at the time. A pity there aren't more comprehensive and definitive catalogues of this retrospective stuff.
If you want a book that tells you a little about this time in music history you can start with the Channel 4 book Pump Up the Volume but there's only a couple of chapters about this era but it does tell the story of the history and proliferation of house with a UK bias up to the early 2000s. I'm looking for more detail of the Chicago House era as it's without doubt the very most important phase in the history of House and dance music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this is a good by for an introduction in Chi town house, 28 April 2014
This review is from: The Original Chicago House Classics (Audio CD)
The guy that marked it one star it's obvious you know nothing about Chicago house music scene! The other person saying it's stark and cold also as above...A lot of the music was made off the back end of disco and 80's boogie, stripped down to a basic form using hardware that was cheap that gave a raw, grainy, dark feel to it. This collection is actually more upbeat than some of the stuff that came out, i.e C&J Masters "face it". Garage was the more soulful side of things usually.
This is a compilation that has a few lesser tracks in but yet has Adonis "do it properly" a huge bootleged track with a few versions by different artists Denise Motto, 2 blacks a Puerto rican et al, the former being by far the best cut. Also Acid house for all it's gimmicks and fashionablity was a credible style which is still Chicago House (the Mr Lee track is not a good example) so warrants being on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Chicago House Classics (Audio CD)
This is one of the best dance albums I have heard. It has classic house and an almost perfect introduction into Chicago House.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic house, 21 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Original Chicago House Classics (Audio CD)
Every fan of dance music should have the original house anthems that reignited dance music from the late 1980s into the 1990s.
Those who don't know these songs, please be quiet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mid life crisis, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good 80s type stuff. It is a replacement for other albums lost in a flood. Some really good tracks takes you back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real House Music, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Chicago House Classics (Audio CD)
The CD has some real classics such as Frankie Knuckles and Marshall Jefferson etc. There are a couple of not so good tracks but overall it is a great compilation. Any true house music fan should add this to their collection, the tracks are over 20 years old but still sound fresh...this is where it all began
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Get Enough, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Chicago House Classics (Audio CD)
I love it, Every track is a pure classic from that time in house music and only a fiver££££?

All in thier 12"inch glory

BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. A. D. Hooton "hootywwfc" (Ravenstone, Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Original Chicago House Classics (Audio CD)
Already have most of the tracks and bought it for the 4 I didn't have..........works out less than 4 x iTunes downloads so no complaints!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Original Chicago House Classics
The Original Chicago House Classics by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews