Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Vertigo gem
Though reputedly jazz-influenced, Affinity's 1970-released album is rock in the spirit of its age, composed mainly of radical interpretations of outside material. Lynton Naiff's Hammond playing and Linda Hoyle's Julie Driscoll-like vocal are the most prominent elements, but the sound tends to be a dense and intense melting pot of all its components, which, on the louder,...
Published on 17 Aug 2006 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes you back
Waited a long time for this having heard LP in the 70s.Sound seems a bit iffy,"3 sisters" in particular seemed to lack the bite of the vinyl version.
Published 16 months ago by P. S. Addison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Vertigo gem, 17 Aug 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affinity (Audio CD)
Though reputedly jazz-influenced, Affinity's 1970-released album is rock in the spirit of its age, composed mainly of radical interpretations of outside material. Lynton Naiff's Hammond playing and Linda Hoyle's Julie Driscoll-like vocal are the most prominent elements, but the sound tends to be a dense and intense melting pot of all its components, which, on the louder, faster sections seem to bleed into one another.

Personal favourites are 'Night Flight' with slow, haunting sections sandwiching an exhilarating middle section, as well as the brooding 'Mr Joy', on which Linda Hoyle goes all breathy. 'Three Sisters' features some great guitar-led jamming while some of the tracks benefit from being augmented by brass. My only reservation of the album proper is yet another cover of 'All Along The Watchtower' which is overlong and overdone.

The eight bonus tracks are culled from a wide variety of sources. The spirited cover of Laura Nyro's 'Eli's Coming' is probably Hoyle's doing as she recorded another Nyro song on her solo album. The rest of the songs are of variable quality, both with regard to content and sound. Mose Allison's 'If You Live' is pretty good, 'Long Voyage' deserves a clearer sound and 'I Am The Walrus' is of dubious potential for anyone to tackle. Only a couple of these tracks are original, 'Yes man' being mediocre, 'Little Lonely Man' the product of a crude recording.

'Affinity' is, overall, a fine purchase for fans of rock of the progressive spirit of the time, but all the best music is in the first six tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful singing from unique (and vanished) singer, 10 Jan 2006
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Affinity (Audio CD)
Linda Hoyle has a wonderful voice, at times sounding like Grace Slick (Airplane) and Julie Driscoll (Wheels on Fire) or a mixture of Nina Simone, Billie Holiday or Ella Fiztgerald - blues jazz and rock to suit all tastes.
Here she sings on Affinity's only album - matched by some excellent musicians, with an especial mention for Lynton Naiff on hammond organ - although this can get a little over-blown at points!
Best Tracks include:
- Coconut Grove : slow soul ballad
- Mr Joy : Airplane style rock
- All Along the Watchtower : stunning organ solos with brilliant vocals.
If you enjoyed this, then do try Linda Hoyle's solo album - "Pieces of Me", on which she is backed by bits of Soft Machine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great remastering, 14 Aug 2010
This review is from: Affinity (Audio CD)
Apart from the great music; this a stunningly good remastering from Angel Air, sounds a bit more forward than an original LP, but sounds far better than previous reissues. Sound is open, clean, dynamic and rich.

This 1970 album is a timeless classic of course, and easily gets my vote for the best progrock album ever. Fans should also get the 1971 Linda Hoyle solo "Pieces of me".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh man, 7 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affinity (Audio CD)
It is a brilliant album, I had to replace a scratchy vinyl though.

Mo Fster on bass here, he went on to be in Jeff Beck's "There and Back" band...

No Dolby recording so drums sound massive! Very good keyboards, well, it's a Hammond again.

Pretty near to soul music with rock players, but it's not like any other band around.

The great "VERTIGO" cover design again too, think Gentle Giant, Collosium, Black Sabbath, they all had that "washed out colour" look. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affinity, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: Affinity (Audio CD)
I nearly bought this album when it came out years ago based solely on the cover - which is tremendous on a gatefold. How I miss 12" lps.
Bought this for Christmas as a cd. Great choice. Most of the stuff hits the right buttons for me. Enjoyed it so much now awaiting Linda Hoyle's solo cd - hopefully may arrive today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glamorous but not glam rock, 22 Sep 2008
By 
Mark Kibble "Underground man" (Coalville Leics England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Affinity (Audio CD)
Female vocalists were a rarity on the early seventies rock circuit but Linda Hoyle, with her soulful jazzy voice was perfect for the jazz rock (or is it rock/jazz) of Affinity. Ably supported with a keyboard, guitar, bass and percussion line up, the band have put together a seven track debut/sole album, mainly consisting cover tracks, the best of these being the opener 'I am and so are you' and the twelve minute version of '....watchtower', which I prefer to Hendrix's version, much jazzier with some excellent keyboard and wah-wah guitar, plus unlike Jimi, Linda can sing. However the real highlight is the two self penned tracks, 'Night life' and 'Three sisters' are so good it makes you wonder why they didn't write more.
The bonus tracks are generally alright, one or two recordings leave a bit to be desired quality wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, shut up, and let them play!, 20 Aug 2002
This review is from: Affinity (Audio CD)
It's really a good album to hear, except for the hollering of lead singer Hoyle, which tends to kill the groove the other get into while playing, especially on the cover versions of the Everly Brothers' "I Wonder If I Care Too Much" and The Lovin' Spoonful "Coconut Grove".
The other group members play the acid/psychedelic/prog variations well and carry songs such as Dylan's "All Along the Watchtower" to strange, curious and wonderful parts of the imagination.
The bonus tracks (especially the single "Eli's Coming/United State of Mind") are a good addition to the album, particulary the surprisingly good vocal of hoyle on the single's A side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bonus Tracks!, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affinity (MP3 Download)
I heard this band when they first came out. I loved Linda Hoyle's voice and Lynton Naiff's organ solos are brilliant. I still have the original vinyl album which I have digitised and put on my MP3 but the quality is not great so I was delighted to see this in MP3 format as a download. Then I discovered it has 8 tracks which are not on the original album including an excellent funky version of I A The Walrus. Result! And a real bargain. If you have not heard this band and like strong bluesy jazz - buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Affinity, 25 Oct 2012
By 
G. W. Audsley "Jedrick" (North Yorks.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Affinity (Audio CD)
Fantastic Album..Have it on Vinyl original Vertigo label Now have it on CD with extra tracks..prefer the stripped down original but still magic...'Specially "All Along the Watchtower"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shake 'n'Vac Time, 26 Oct 2013
This review is from: Affinity (Audio CD)
Descriptions of Affinity would have been enough to put me right off as I'm not into Prog but I took a listen to the mp3 clips when I noted that these were not singer songwriters but makers of Cover Versions and restructured ones at that.
Probably this is the only cover of the Everly Brothers B side to Bye Bye Love.
It didn't sound like Prog to me thankfully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Affinity
Affinity by Affinity (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews