Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest ever albums just got even better!!
I originally bought "Pagan Place" in 1985 and have always rated it as one of my all time favourite albums by a band at the peak of their creativity. Now it comes with additional material all of which is up to the quality of the original album. The standout additional track is "Some of my best friends are trains" which was destined for the original...
Published on 11 Mar 2002

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pagan Place
brought this cd on a nostalgic whimsy. Nice that the lyrics haven't diluted over time . not so nice - that the production on some of the minor tracks now sounds very dated
Published 12 months ago by Mr. D. O'CONNOR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest ever albums just got even better!!, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Pagan Place (Audio CD)
I originally bought "Pagan Place" in 1985 and have always rated it as one of my all time favourite albums by a band at the peak of their creativity. Now it comes with additional material all of which is up to the quality of the original album. The standout additional track is "Some of my best friends are trains" which was destined for the original album but left off at the last moment - why oh why!!! If you like the Big Music of Mike Scott and already own this album then buy it again because the additional tracks are worth the extra cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Waterboys album now much improved., 11 Mar 2002
By 
Michael Hurn "spikeymikey" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Pagan Place (Audio CD)
Building on the sound of the first album, A Pagan Place was released as the Waterboys began to really get known. Name dropped by U2, people started to take notice and this was the first real introduction of the Waterboys to many.
Mike Scotts vision of the Big Music was growing and as the track of the same name demonstrated was unlike anything else around at the time.
As a remaster this album was always going to get better and I can rest my old vinyl and poor quality CDs to rest. I remember buying this in 1984 and never forget the first feeling of the first song, A Church Not Made With Hands. How uplifting can a song br. You wont find better as this song charges along with the brass finding a higher plane in the background. Next up is All The Things She Gave Me now in its complete breathtaking entirety. Just listen to the astounding lyrics and be amazed. Other highlights are Rags which pounds the listener with its dark undertones. Side 2 is unstoppable with Red Army Blues and my favourite track, the title song with shimmering 12 string guitars and swooning brass. Never bettered in my book.
The additional tracks are good but might not have worked on the original album. Saying that other songwriters would kill for songs like this, such is the strength of Scotts songwriting.
You need to buy this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept the 80's alive, 5 April 2004
This review is from: A Pagan Place (Audio CD)
I have been buying and listening to music from the early 70's until now (although I think the 'Pop Idol' approach by record companies is the death knell of recorded music), and there are only a few albums that I simply cannot get tired of or find anything to complain about - this is one of them.
Aside from the first couple of years and the last year, I always thought that the 80's was one of the worst ever periods for music in general, but the Waterboys were one of the bands that kept my spirit up during this period. To me this album was the zenith of their recording career, and contains the best songs that they wrote.
The best way to open an album is to put a real show-stopper at the start, and that's exactly what 'Church Not Made With Hands' is. From then on it's a roller coaster ride from big brassy productions to more laid back tracks like 'The Thrill is Gone', in which the fiddle draws you in, or the melancholy saxophone of 'Red Army Blues', a narrative with an eminently listenable story based on true events.
Every song is a winner here, and unlike most expanded versions of CD's, the additional tracks are actually very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sends shivers down my spine!, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pagan Place (Audio CD)
As with 'This Is The Sea' and 'The Waterboys', the other two of the wonderful trilogy of Waterboys early albums, this album is packed with classic songs, wonderful instrumentalism (is that a word?!!!) and great vocals. So many of the tracks simply send shivers down my spine, in particular Church Not Made With Hands, All the Things She Gave Me, Red Army Blues and the simply incredible Rags. The bonus tracks are interesting, slightly uneven (although still better than most successful music by most other bands!), but I have to disagree with another reviewer regarding Some Of My Best Friends Are Trains, which, although good, is not (in my opinion) worthy of being placed within the original album track listing - add it at the end, no problem, but not between classic tracks like these. Buy this album - if you love the Big Music, you certainly won't be sorry, whilst if you don't know The Waterboys, get to know them - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calling all the heroes...., 21 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pagan Place (Audio CD)
I left it until I was 30 to discover the music of Mike Scott. Before 2006 I was left rather cold by the blustering celtic blast of his music,assuming incorrectly it was all Irish blarney and bombast.

I stand corrected as " A Pagan Place" reveals an intricate mix of blues,folk,rock and some celtic influence but none of this smothers a unique and exhilirating sound. The booming drums,spiky electric guitars and soulful voice,offset the folky elements,creating a melting-pot of sound and images.

The packaging is terrible for this re-issue and they have fiddled with the original 1984 track-listing but this is a real eighties gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harder, Rocker than later stuff.. a treat, 11 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Pagan Place (Audio CD)
In my opinion, one of their finer albumns, it captures the spirit, anger and harshness of the time. Full of raw energy. The anger, passion and pure spite of All The Things will stay with you. The Thrill Is Gone will stun you. One of my favourites, Red Army Blues, a beautiful haunting cold war ballad will stab at your heart. Worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely superb, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pagan Place (Audio CD)
been revisiting albums from my youth (the 80's), and this one was a great choice, brought back loads of memories and brilliant music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Big Music, 7 Feb 2000
By 
C. Odonoghue - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Pagan Place (Audio CD)
A Pagan Place announced to the world that The Big Music had arrived. The Waterboys were potentially an all time great band until Mike Scott 'headed out west'. 'The Big Music' and 'Red Army blues' are classic songs that hint of the greatness that was beckoning The Waterboys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pagan Place, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. D. O'CONNOR "Daithio" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Pagan Place (Audio CD)
brought this cd on a nostalgic whimsy. Nice that the lyrics haven't diluted over time . not so nice - that the production on some of the minor tracks now sounds very dated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Pagan Place
A Pagan Place by The Waterboys (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews