Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a 'must have' cd
The vinyl version of this cd was the first record I ever bought and to this day it is still my fav record of all time. It is just fantastic. From start to finish this lp is brilliant. 'Do the dog' and 'concrete jungle' are particular favourates of mine. Its no wonder that this LP has been voted into the top 100 LP's of all times - its impact never lessons.
The only...
Published on 2 Sep 2002 by K. Kay

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag
There are some great tracks here, but some weaker tracks, that for me do detract from the album as a whole.

First of all, there is no getting away from the greatness of 'A message to you Rudy' - now winning new fans thanks to it's use in a N**t ad. It still sounds like a breath of fresh air, and there's something special about a band that does its own brass,...
Published on 20 Sep 2010 by K. Tune


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag, 20 Sep 2010
By 
K. Tune "mustard57" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
There are some great tracks here, but some weaker tracks, that for me do detract from the album as a whole.

First of all, there is no getting away from the greatness of 'A message to you Rudy' - now winning new fans thanks to it's use in a N**t ad. It still sounds like a breath of fresh air, and there's something special about a band that does its own brass, rather than using session men ( qv the mighty Dexys ). Any track that has a trombone solo is on the way to being a great listen and this is no exception.

'Too much, Too Young' is definitely evocative, and of its time, but with older ears there is something a little heartless about its lyric 'married with a kid when you should be having fun with me', could now almost be read as a critique of hedonistic youth, rather than condemning early procreation.

My personal favourite is 'Doesn't make it alright'. I find Hall's plaintive, almost artless vocal very touching, with lines like "Some people think they're really clever/To smash your head against the wall/Then they say 'you got it my way/They really think they know it all'".

On the weaker side, "Dawning of a new era", "Do the Dog", "Monkey Man", "Too Hot" are fairly routine numbers, and 'Little Bitch' while being fairly average musically is really quite misogynistic, unless I'm misreading a satirical lyric.

'Stupid Marriage' and 'Concrete Jungle' are strong lyrically, and the Specials sound like they're having a lot of fun with Neville Staple playing the role of a judge, addressing the defendant as 'Rude Boy' on the former, but not quite matched by the music IMO.

Maybe I just don't find ska as exhilirating as some, but in retrospect this album is just too variable to quite deserve it's classic reputation. I think a lot of this rests on the Specials as an idea - a band confidently fusing black and white musicians, at a time of racial tension was a rallying cry for many. A couple of decades on I listen to it purely as a record. I do like the best bits though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Number 1 Ska, 12 July 2013
By 
Mark A. Beard (Dorset , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
SERIOUSLY there is only 28 reveiws for this album, that is outrageous! one complete cretin gave it 1 star ( what a complete pratt) This is by far the most generation defining album, it CHANGED everything after this point, even now, every time I listen to this cd I can feel the raw energy and it instantly takes me back to 1978, this cd was life changing, if you are reading this, WHY?? You should have already bought it and have been through about 3 or 4 cd's, vinyls and cassettes already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
A great CD. Even if you are new to the specials you will be amazed at the quality of songs on this CD. I am a fan of old and still love these albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fatastic, 3 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
This is a fanastic CD, Great music from our era takes us right back to our youth cant stop bopping when its on......Thankyou very much...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Razor Sharp, Raw, and Bloody Essential., 11 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Specials (MP3 Download)
A great album, by one of the best bands of the era. You NEED to own this album. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Jacket but faulty., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
Had to order again as a 3 XL as I normally take a 2 XL which was far too small.
Jacket looks / feel fine but then opened the right hand pocket and the internal seam is not complete at bottom of pocket so disappointed in the ned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This cd didn't play, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
I tried it on 3 CD players but it didn't play at all.
Rather disappointed as it was new not used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece yes, 31 May 2006
By 
J. Smith "seippih lla llik" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Specials (Audio CD)
Whilst it is indeed masterpiece of pop creation and you really must own it. It is still only a pop creation, really very pop and i wouldn't really say it sounded "fresh" on every listen. Its good for a few plays, by which time it will all be in your head already - such is the quality of the songwriting. Buy, listen, love then place on a shelf and hum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Specials
The Specials by Joe Cocker (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews