Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate 'Smooth Operator' .............., 20 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The DVD has been simultaneously released with a 'live' CD though in terms of content the DVD offers a much larger range of material, almost 2 hours of live concert footage plus some backstage filming and black & white stills from the concert.
The concert features a wide range of material from across her career, from the hit singles 'Your Love Is King' and 'Smooth Operator' to the less commercial 'Jezebel' and 'Pearls' but material from most of Sade's albums is featured.
I've never been a big fan though the 'Greatest Hits' album must rank as one of the all-time creators of romantic atmosphere, thus I approached this with some caution wondering how that smoothness could hold your attention for a couple of hours.
I need not have worried. This DVD documents a quite superb musical performance from both Sade and her band, a demonstration of class and professionalism that many artists could only aspire to. Sade's voice is note perfect whether roaring to a crescendo during the sublime 'Is It a Crime' or flowing gently through the uplifting delivery of 'Kiss Of Life'. She is supported by a team of excellent musicians and backing singers that not only provide note perfect accompaniment but that intangible extra buzz that a studio recording rarely delivers.
The stage setting is simple with backdrop colour changing with the mood and the cameras more regularly at medium distance form Sade or band members rather than over-intrusively lingering six inches from the subjects face. Audio is available in either 2 channel PCM stereo or Dolby Digital 5:1. Both options provide an excellent sound stage but obviously the 5:1 gives that additional depth, presence, clarity and atmosphere to the performance. The additional material is passable, the backstage shots add little to the DVD and on a personal note I've never much seen the point of photo galleries on a DVD but the concert performance provides sufficient merit on its own.
If you are a fan this is an absolute must have 5 star purchase, if not and your interest in Sade is a passing one two hours may be a little long for you and it's probably a 4.
I loved it - The performance on 'Is It a Crime' was worth the money on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silky Soulful Sensuality, 18 Sep 2003
By 
DJColzz "DJ MacDonald" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As part of the big North American Tour in 2001. Lover's live creates the perfect atmosphere of the ultimate concert DVD. Almost two hours of the tropical sound of Sade enhances any digitized experience. The extra's are worth a look for sure, backstage footage, message to Sade documentary, king of sorrow promo video, and a set of black and white stills of the tour. This is the best Sade concert DVD, the Sade Live DVD is also available and a worthy addition, but this is the definitive one. Pay your money and enjoy - you might regret not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SMOOTH operator, SMOOTH band, SMOOTH concert!!, 23 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I am a great music fan but this is the first music DVD I have bought. The lover's live concert is going to stay as one of the most elegant ever. It was simple, beautiful and, most importantly, conveyed live music in a way very few artists can do nowadays.
I love a lot of Sade's songs and have come to realise how very good her band is. However, I was still blown away by their overall performance in this concert. All three members of the band were amazing but you can't help but notice Stuart Matthewman on sax and guitar. To her credit, Sade now and then faded in the background and let the others have their moments.
It doesn't matter whether you like Sade or not. If you love good music and good live shows then believe me this is one you are going to treasure for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Track 21, 19 Feb 2012
By 
S. Keeley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
A few decades ago I remember thinking she was pretty good. So in my search for decent DVD concerts to pad out the collection i thought I'd give her a shot. You know how over the years you can hear good stuff, average stuff and naff stuff and at the end of it all there are maybe a handful of tracks that stopped you in your tracks. This would be a decent DVD even without track 21. But if like me, you have never heard it before, it's time you put that right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sade - Lovely Live, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD of an exceptional concert; stunning performances beautifully shot with superb sound quality. The set list is varied and extensive, all the old favourites and numerous very worthwhile newer tracks. I will certainly be looking out for Sade's next tour having seen this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
buy it if you like Sade or like jazz. the response from her audience tells you everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sade:Lovers Live, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the dvd,classic sade in full flight with her fans dancing in the aisles.A good performance overall and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 8 Feb 2014
By 
A. E. Hardman "Keir MH" (Crewe UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The music of Sade comprised much of the soundtrack to the affair I had with the woman who is now my wife of over 20 years, so it will always have a special significance to me. For some reason however the group dropped off my radar and I have just discovered their later releases. Having bought the excellent Lovers Live CD, I didn't need much encouragement to add this live DVD to my collection. A straightforward recording of a concert from her 2001 North American tour, this is one of the best live music DVDs I have ever seen.

Firstly the woman herself: that exotic beauty has hardly dimmed, and if her statuesque body has rounded out to a tiny degree that is no bad thing: she is completely ravishing to look at and you can hardly take your eyes off her. Her voice remains the silky, breathy thing of beauty it always was, and maturity has made it even more expressive.

Amazingly, the band lineup is unchanged from the original album, and they have the tight, close knit sound which only comes from those years on the road together. The musicianship is wonderful and complements her voice perfectly without ever threatening to swamp it. There are plenty of superb instrumental solos to enjoy as the band show off their considerable talents. The backing singers are unusually restrained support her voice without competing with it.

The stage show is simple but dazzlingly effective. Individual solos are flooded with light as Sade herself appears in silhouette. But otherwise the focus stays where it should be - on her. Meanwhile the songs are enhanced by the images appearing on the rear screen.

The only tiny criticism of the whole package is that there is too much footage of the crowd: this is irritating when all you want to see is happening on the stage: apart from this the DVD is pretty perfect really.

Almost 30 years after the release of "Diamond Life" Sade is still the coolest female on the planet.
5 stars? - nowhere near enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Work, 5 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The case arrived in fine condition and the disc plays with no skips. However, it didn't work. I put the disc in and lit some candles for Misty Raven thinking she wouldn't be able to resist. While Sade crooned her magic spell, Raven talked about Jamba Juice smoothies and parlayed into fancy music talk with notes and fractions and what not. Her legs crossed toward me and she pulled her hair over her ear so I thought the concert somewhat effective. But it was not what I expected! I knew she was too classy for Aerosmith, but thought surely Sade would create a tipping point and turn her cultured smarts into animal. In contrast, she kept her poise!

Four stars because it did create an atmosphere, visual and auditory. I can feel it, deep in my coconuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, sultry, soulful, 18 Jun 2011
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Sade floated my boat back in the 1980's when I first got into her music. She was as good then as she is now on this concert production.
Her beguiling voice, sexy and soulful, is well suited to her presence and beauty. The musical backing is first class. All her hits are here, performed brilliantly.
She is a credit to the industry, and I feel hasn't had the recognition deserving of her.
If you like Sade, you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002]
Sade: Lovers Live [DVD] [2002] by Sade (DVD - 2002)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews