Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Learn More Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2002
A collection that celebrates the Irish group's versatility
Reviewer: Neal Clark Reynolds from E. Taunton, MA United States
On the one hand, I sure hope that the Chieftains aren't leaving their traditional roots, and on the other hand, I enjoy their explorations of different musical styles.
These are all cuts from previous albums, so he who has all of their albums probably won't want this one. For the rest of us, there are some realy outstanding cuts. I especially enjoyed Sinead O'Connor's singing of the traditional "The Foggy Dew". That one's followed by The Corrs and "I Know My Love", another traditional with a fresh twist. Ricky Skaggs joining the group for "Cotton-Eyed Joe" was a real high point, spotlighting the relation of Irish traditional reels and jigs to bluegrass. Joni Mitchell is one of the greats, and hearing her own "The Magdalene Laundries" backed by the group is a real treat. And Van Morrison bares his soul in "Shenandoah", again highlighting the Irish influence on American music.
I was a bit disappointed with Diana Krall & Art Garfunkel's "Morning Has Broken", which certainly doesn't compare with Cat Stevens. So you can't win them all. Sting didn't seem appropriate on "Mo Ghile Mear" either.
However, I was pleasantly surprised by "Full Of Joy" with the Chinese Ensemble. That's one where it sounded everyone was having fun. And the closing rendition of Bob Marley's "Redemption Song" featuring Ziggy Marley was a winner.
All in all, if you don't have most of these on other Chieftain albums, you'll want this one
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 February 2003
If you haven't got any Irish music then get this and it'll take you through decades of collaborations. The guest list is impressive and you won't stop finger and foot tapping.
There's plenty of variety and the sleeve notes put some tracks in a nice historical context. I mean a track recorded on new year's day 2000 on Explorer 1 setting sail from Deception Island with ship mates like Diana Krall and Art Garfunkel, the imagery and sound superb. Journey with them to a typical Irish Pub in Dublin 'Live from Matt Molloy's Pub' To be sure you'll be carried off to the Emerald Isle and upto date with the Corrs.
It's pure Guiness sorry Genius, lovely.
11 comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 February 2003
Not only does this give you a journey to Irish Isles through 40 years of one of the countries greatest bands but it features a wealth of International Artist with a love of music.
You'll get a real Irish flavour from the first track 'March of the King of Ladis', the pipes support Sinead O'Connor on the 2nd track and are followed by a very energetic version of 'I know my love' with the Corrs.
The thing about Irish music is that whenever it's played everybody joins in and has a great time and you will do the same listening to this. You'll be beating out the rythym especially to track 4 a right good Cotton Pickin Traditional tune.
Joini Mitchell allows you time to recover and contemplate about the Magdalene Sisters in 'The Magdalene Laundries' watch out soon for the film that features the Sisterhood. This version is typical Joini with lovely instumental backing by the boys.
One of my favorites features Art Garfunkle and Diana Krall's haunting version of Morning has Broken. This track was recorded, New Year's Day 2000 on the Ocean Explorer 1 just off Deception Island, can you imagine the scene.
The final track with Ziggy Marley just goes to show the variety of artists they have joined forces with over the years.
I've never seen them live but as they don't seem to be slowing down there's time yet. In the meantime this CD will do nicely.
0Comment14 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
40 years ago the Chieftains were regularly on the Val Doonican shows playing traditional Irish music and made a series of albums which all had numbers.
Specialist music then but now well in the mainstream
The original lineup has never changed much but the group lasted because they rang the changes with the move to World Music.
I take it that the Stones just added the Satisfation riff unless Mick Jagger has suddenly developed an Irish accent
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2011
As someone who has been buying Chieftains' music since they first formed I liked this and would have given it "Five"!! if it wasn't for worst version I've ever heard of The Foggy Dew, terrible singing, often out of tune, and timing was awful, compare it to Damien Dempsey's or even Allain Stivell's versions!, pity O'Connor was on this Cd at all; rather spolit it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2011
This album shows highlights from the past 40 years with celebritys as Sinead O'Connor, The Rolling Stones en Ry Cooder. Every pieca om this album is a jewel in the crown of the Chieftains as the Kings of traditional folk music
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Recommended to me by a Canadian, this album has lovely versions of songs performed by a variety of top class artists. I will enjoy this album for a long time, and would trust this seller again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
The Chieftains just do the sort of music that has musicality and that makes it good to listen to. If you like Celtic Folk mixed with other good stuff, this is for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
An absolutely fabulous and memorable celebration of what must be the best traditional music group in Ireland. Also fabulous to see live if you get the chance.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
A lot of these tracks with other famous Celebes are very weak - the track with the Stones is abysmal! Should have been called the non-essential Cheiftains!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.