Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jennie bomb- sahara hotnights
firstly id like to say that im not 100percent sure why nobody has reviewd this album?? it is so good, well worth the buy, if you're into punk or punk rock, this is what you want, its a true winner of a buy and basically for the prices that theyre being sold at you should all have a copy!! i hope my reviews helped, and just.....buy it!!
Published on 20 Dec 2003 by Sam James

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Raw energetic pop punk arrogance but little variety
Sahara Hotnights - Jennie Bomb (Album)
These girls could easily be The Hives little sisters, who having seen their brothers rehearsing in their garage, wanted to get a part of the action. This is a comparison drawn not only on the banal level that they are both from Sweden but on the similarity of the music they are producing. The Hives radiate arrogance and it is...
Published on 23 Feb 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jennie bomb- sahara hotnights, 20 Dec 2003
firstly id like to say that im not 100percent sure why nobody has reviewd this album?? it is so good, well worth the buy, if you're into punk or punk rock, this is what you want, its a true winner of a buy and basically for the prices that theyre being sold at you should all have a copy!! i hope my reviews helped, and just.....buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some real grrl power!, 28 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Jennie Bomb (Audio CD)
I heard about Sahara Hotnights through the Donnas and bought this CD knowing none of their songs but I was hooked the moment it went on my stereo. Riffs-a-plenty, this album left me wanting more. I disagree with the reviewers saying the album was samey, it's perfect! Buy this if you like the Donnas - I wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, 10 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jennie Bomb (Audio CD)
From the god-like voice of Maria Andersson to the brilliant drumming skills of Josephine Forsman, this album is one never to be forgotten. These girls can rock!
All from a remote town in Sweden, the 4 girls decided to start a band up before theyd even reached their teen years. By the time they were 15, they'd already recorded their first LP.
Guitar riffs in Alright, Alright (here's my fist where's the fight?) and No big Deal are incredible, and tracks like With or without Control will stay in your head for days.
Outstanding tracks are Alright, Alright, No big Deal and Fall into line. This is a real sing-along album, and so good for air guitar! I challenge anyone to listen to No big Deal and not look in your mirror and mime/air guitar along to it! Buy this album NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!, 10 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jennie Bomb (Audio CD)
From the god-like voice of Maria Andersson to the brilliant drumming skills of Josephine Forsman, this album is one never to be forgotten. These girls can rock!
All from a remote town in Sweden, the 4 girls decided to start a band up before theyd even reached their teen years. By the time they were 15, they'd already recorded their first LP.
Guitar riffs in Alright, Alright (here's my fist where's the fight?) and No big Deal are incredible, and tracks like With or without Control will stay in your head for days.
Outstanding tracks are Alright, Alright, No big Deal and Fall into line. This is a real sing-along album, and so good for air guitar! I challenge anyone to listen to No big Deal and not look in your mirror and mime/air guitar along to it! Buy this album NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good god it rocks!, 12 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jennie Bomb (Audio CD)
When you first hear of Sahara Hotnights, it's inevitable that you're not going to be impressed....four piece rock band, all women, play their own instruments etc. But Sahara Hotnight's sound is both original and bloody good!
The girls are originally from a tiny town in Sweden, and out of utter boredom formed a rock band before they had even reached their teens. Their first LP (C'mon Let's Pretend) was an excellent introduction in to the rock world, and their new album, Jennie Bomb, is a big improvement from their previous work.
Their sound is more punk than it is rock, and this gives the music a definete punch. The guitar rhythms are brilliant, Maria Andersson's vocals give the music a great sound, and the songs are altogether catchy.
As Sweden's current most famous stars, these girls deserve all the praise they receive. Outstanding tracks are Alright, alright, No big deal and On top of the world. I would reccomend this album to anyone who enjoys tsunami bomb, tuuli or letters to cleo. Sahara Hotnights will be remembered in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shouty fast-moving rock/pop at its finest, 28 Feb 2003
This review is from: Jennie Bomb (Audio CD)
Sahara Hotnights are a female version of The Hives - but much better. They blend powerful thrashy guitar chords with a melodic tune and quality singing to produce a great album.
I gave the cd 4 out of 5 stars simply because some of the tracks are a bit samey but I'd recommend buying this album to anyone, especially The Hives fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hotnights Make Them The Hottest Nights, 26 Mar 2003
This review is from: Jennie Bomb (Audio CD)
Sahara Hotnights, an almost unknown, and unrecognisable band. but why? I'm not saying i want all 10 year fans to 'mosh' along to this album, but this is a good album, and deservedly so should receive more acclaim than i feel it has, and possibly ever will. On first hearing "Jennie Bomb" the obvious contrasts to the "Yeah Yeah Yeahs" sprung to mind, but in all, that was a hastened decision and Sahara Hotnights are in a much different mould to the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and that is saying something for both bands.
Sahara hotnights burn of the different edge some people feel, songs off the album just make you want to join along and make yourself part of the whole experience.
As all albums have flaws, so does this one, but the power and venom in such songs as "No Big Deal" and "Down And Out" make this a standout album, even if it won't standout to over 99% of the population.
Never what a classic could be, but so much more in it's own styles and passion.
A fan of something good from the stream of Yeah Yeah Yeahs will be impressed, and a fan of music should appreciate the power music that this music brings to the forefront.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Raw energetic pop punk arrogance but little variety, 23 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jennie Bomb (Audio CD)
Sahara Hotnights - Jennie Bomb (Album)
These girls could easily be The Hives little sisters, who having seen their brothers rehearsing in their garage, wanted to get a part of the action. This is a comparison drawn not only on the banal level that they are both from Sweden but on the similarity of the music they are producing. The Hives radiate arrogance and it is certainly an attitude that isn't missing from Sahara's four girl line up. The opening track is a real blast of energy. For all the posturing the title of the first track conjures up 'Alright, Alright, (Here's my fist where's the fight?)' the music definitely gives the impression that the girls can live up to their promises. With its punk rock tempo and repetitive melodic chorus they do raw pop punk much better then Wheatus or Sum 41. The second track is soon to become their first single release in the U.K. It kicks in with an equally fervent guitar riff, and has the same arrogance of youth coupled with an urgency that makes the band and the listener feel invincible. However as the album progresses you soon begin to realise that although the band have a lust for life they have little variety and track after track begins to merge into each other. Whirlwind reaper' tries a more sombre reflective approach yet they make little effect on an album that repeats a punk sing-a-long formula once too often. The album packs a punch initially but the listener is soon dulled to the impact as what starts off as hopeful youthful enthusiasm looses its conviction along the way. Girls you're gonna need a couple more ideas if you are going to rival your fellow country men...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jennie Bomb
Jennie Bomb by Sahara Hotnights (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews