Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars10
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2002
Be warned, if you buy this on the assumption that Telepopmusik are another French dance act...they are not. That isn't to say you won't enjoy this though. The best songs on this CD are undoubtedly the ones that feature the Bille Halliday-esque vocals of Angela McCluskey (Breathe, Smile, Yesterday was a lie) but undoubtedly the best song is 'love can damage your health' which is a more than sufficient replacement for the lack of Portishead material of late.
However, the pace picks up with humerous hip-hop tinged 'animal man' and 'da hoola'. Where the cd is let down is ' let's go again' which features probably the most annoying vocals you'll ever here!
I personally like this cd because it does offer a journey through different genres, but the reason i didn't award 5 stars is because i don't think they particularly sit well together, it sounds like a greatest hits compilation that records the progression of a group's styles through the years.
If you want a relaxing but dancable record i suggest you buy this cd and make your own minds up.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2003
Comparing Telepopmusik to Daft Punk or Air is lazy and somewhat crass. OK, so they're French, but that's where the similarities end. There are some elements in the mix that could be considered as "chill-out" or "ambient" but if you're looking for yet another album to play quietly in the background while you have all your 30-something friends round for a polite dinner party, then stick with you Zero-7 or Lemon Jelly.
If on the other hand you want to hear an album with challenging but rewarding bits of experimentation, combining the sound of Peaches/ Kitty Yo style hip-hop/blip-hop with elements of free jazz and some lovely electro-pop, then get this. The production is detailed and rather than being a "genre-hopping" mess, it unites different sounds under one style.
I would call this album "intelligent experimental leftfield pop". If that sounds like your thing, you'll love it. My favourite album in a long time.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2004
Stylish and cool. This album is similar to Morcheeba's style in that it mixes dreamy female vocals with intelligent rap, melodic music and heavy beats. It's relaxed but up-beat.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2002
I found this album a disappointment. After reading the reviews in the music press I expected something similar in quality to Royksopp or Air but I think it's a bit patchy. Basically any of the tracks featuring female vocal = good/ambient/engaging any track featuring a rap = bad/jarring/ice ice baby. So either programme the cd player to ignore the latter or buy Bent's or Sound5's albums to hear how it should be done.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2009
An interesting mix of music - not what I expected but pleasantly surprised. Quick delivery and easy ordering however, not sure I would pay £10 for the CD having heard the contents before ordering! Unless you know you are into this kind of music, I feel it is rather a risk!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2003
I first heard this album in a coffee shop in Amsterdam and instantly fell in love with it. Laid back trip-hop and superb vocals from Angela McCluskey on three tracks made it the perfect album to listen to that particular afternoon. Back in real life, apart from the slightly odd 'Animal Man' and 'Da Hoola' which although OK don't really sit right with the tone of the rest of the album, it still sounds fantastic. One of my favourite albums for years, I can listen to it every day and not get bored.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Really cheap way to buy CD's - good quality and would buy again (but a different CD!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2003
This is an album that's mellow but can't get boring. It ranges from dreamy, melodic trip-hop to funky, Morcheeba-esque hip-hop. The album starts with female vocal songs at the beginning and ends up with more of the male MC-ing towards the end, so if there was anything I'd criticise it for, it would be that they could have shuffled the tracks a bit better. Overall though, this is a gorgeous album and it creates a warm, relaxed and fun atmosphere.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2002
Télépopmusik is another Daft Punk, is another Air, and so on and on and on. This album doesn't disappoint, it just doesn't excite. Tracks like 'Breathe' have everything you'd want and expect of a French electro-dance-pop outfit, and remixed this number has cracked the dancefoor. But. Where Télépopmuzik hits it deft stride is in the usual immaculate, ironic fusion of Johnny Halliday/Treacle pop instrumention and delicious Chicago House/80's disco - the same stomping, lilting ground paced out by Air/Daft Punk et al. Do we need this? Yes and no. Yes, if you want to be an Francophile anorak. Yes, to give Télépopmuzik their due, they are 'good'. No, if you want to move on. No, if individuality means anything to you. If 'Love can Damage Your Health' then you will love Genetic World, get it?! Eh?!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2002
This is what I would class as a 'nice' album. Its non-offensive to those who like Air, Daft Punk etc... and its nicely melodic. However, this is not a ground-breaking album and if thats what you're wanting head more towards the likes of Mirwais.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£18.19
£14.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)