Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film!
This film sees Anne now the teacher of Avonlea School. Her best friend Diana Barry gets engaged and married, and Anne too receives a proposal of marriage, from the dashingly handsome Gilbert Blythe. Anne refuses however. Her old teacher Miss Stacey then writes to her telling her of a teaching post available at a private girls' school. Anne goes and teaches there for a...
Published on 18 May 2007 by Alice

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5* film but poor quality DVD
This production - including the first part - is one of the finest filmsever made. Many reviewers and fans have said the same, often witheloquence and undisguised emotion. All the more sad then, that the qualityof both DVDs is poor. They are variably grainy and have occasional soundout-of-sync. In the case of the Sequel - more than half the film suffersout-of-sync audio...
Published on 25 April 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film!, 18 May 2007
This film sees Anne now the teacher of Avonlea School. Her best friend Diana Barry gets engaged and married, and Anne too receives a proposal of marriage, from the dashingly handsome Gilbert Blythe. Anne refuses however. Her old teacher Miss Stacey then writes to her telling her of a teaching post available at a private girls' school. Anne goes and teaches there for a year. At first the teachers and students don't really like her, but Anne soon wins over everyone there. She dreadfully misses Green Gables, so, after a year, returns home. On coming home, she receives some bad news. Gilbert Blythe is dying. Anne now realises where her heart lies, but will it be too late?
A wonderful sequel to the first amazing Anne film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - but the DVD has poor quality sound, 11 Oct. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anne of Green Gables as an entirety entertained me and my sister many times on rainy schoool holiday days. It is just a charming film with great performances, music, dialogue and a beautiful location. It is filmed with such love and care you can tell the people who made it believed passionately in it and fell under the spell of the island and the characters of the story. A must for soppy romantics everywhere. On the minus side: as has been mentioned elsewhere the sound is slightly out of synch which can be distracting. But I do not let it spoil my enjoyment of a wonderful piece of classic film that will get played repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5* film but poor quality DVD, 25 April 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This production - including the first part - is one of the finest filmsever made. Many reviewers and fans have said the same, often witheloquence and undisguised emotion. All the more sad then, that the qualityof both DVDs is poor. They are variably grainy and have occasional soundout-of-sync. In the case of the Sequel - more than half the film suffersout-of-sync audio. This is just careless, and nothing to do with videocompression or other technical constraints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anne Shirely finally realizes the truth about GIlbert Blythe, 3 Oct. 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
The original mini-series of "Anne of Green Gables" ended with Anne (Megan Follows) on speaking terms with Gilbert (Jonathan Crombie), but still the only person in Avonlea who does not know that the two of them are meant to live happily ever after. "Anne of Green Gables" is adapted by writer-director Kevin Sullivan from the second, third, and fourth novels in the series, drawing primarily on the last one, "Anne of Windy Poplars" for her experiences teaching at a girl's school. There is also a major subplot regarding a rich widower who seems to offer Anne everything she has ever wanted that is largely Sullivan's creation; Morgan Harris (Frank Converse) is much older than Anne's other beau in the series. The important thing is that he keeps the ending of "Anne of the Island."
I am sure most of you love all of the Anne books and the first two films, which means the issue is why you should also pick up the DVD versions. The answer is simply the director's commentary. There are a few missing scenes, several of which are alternative takes, and some behinds the scenes still photographs, but the chief charm here is listening to director Kevin Sullivan talk to the film's editor about the production (she does not have much to say; I think she was there to give Sullivan a real person to talk to during the almost four hour film). From this commentary you will learn where many of the scenes were shot on PEI but mostly around Toronto (we tracked down several of them on the journey home from PEI, including THE BRIDGE), what he took (and why) from the three Lucy Maud Montgomery novels this film was based on, Dame Wendy Hiller's accident that almost made her quit the film and the scene she insisted Sullivan shoot for her, and loads of other fascinating little details about the production and the performances.
This is certainly an above average commentary track and fans of the film will not be disappointed. It would be nice if the DVD features closed-captioning, which I like to turn on while doing the director's commentary, but despite this rather odd omission, I think fans will enjoy this addition to their collection. Besides, it is not like we have not already pretty much memorized the entire show. Final Note: If you watch the opening scene of "Anne of of Green Gables: The Sequel" or whatever it is being called this time around) you will see Anne Shirley bicycle by Dalvay by the Sea, the "White Sands" hotel from the "Avonlea" series. I mention this because I stayed at the hotel for a couple of days at the start of my honeymoon on PEI, where I picked up both of the "Anne" DVDs after seeing the musical version of "Anne of Green Gables" in Charlottetown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this..........., 1 Aug. 2009
By 
S. vaughan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Anne of green gables. Don't buy it for the extended bits as they aren't great. But that is to be expected considering how long ago it was filmed. A classic that you have to own on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure nostalgia, 10 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables: Sequel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Anne Shirley took me back to my teenage years. Just loved the story. Myself and the girls had an Anne of Green Gables day and just wallowed in nostalgia and Gilbert Blythe. Pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have the video, pick up the DVD for the commentary, 22 July 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
If you watch the opening scene of "Anne of Green Gables - The Continuing Story" (or the "Sequel" or "Part II" or whatever it is being called this time around) you will see Anne Shirley bicycle by Dalvay by the Sea, the "White Sands" hotel from the "Avonlea" series. I mention this because I stayed at the hotel for a couple of days at the start of our honeymoon vacation here on PEI, where I picked up both of the "Anne" DVDs after seeing the musical version of the first novel in Charlottetown.
I am sure most of you love all of the Anne books and the first two films, which means the issue is why you should also pick up the DVD versions. The answer is simply the director's commentary. There are a few missing scenes, several of which are alternative takes, and some behinds the scenes still photographs, but the chief charm here is listening to director Kevin Sullivan talk to the film's editor about the production (she does not have much to say; I think she was there to give Sullivan a real person to talk to during the almost four hour film). From this commentary you will learn where many of the scenes were shot on PEI but mostly around Toronto (we tracked done several sites on our way home including THE BRIDGE where Gilbert proposed to Anne in the final scene), what he took (and why) from the three Lucy Maud Montgomery novels this film was based on, Dame Wendy Hiller's accident that almost made her quit the film and the scene she insisted Sullivan shoot for her, and loads ofother fascinating little details about the production and the performances.
This is certainly an above average commentary track and fans of the film will not be disappointed. It would be nice if the DVD features closed-captioning, which I like to turn on wh ile doing the director's commentary, but despite this rather odd omission, I think fans will enjoy this addition to their collection. Besides, it is not like we have not already pretty much memorized the entire show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the DVD of Anne of Green Gables the sequel which I'd seen it many times on television as a child and wanted to watch it again. It was still brilliant. It's the continuation of the story of an orphan girl who is adopted by elderly sister and brother farm owners. Anne is now grown up and goes to teach at a girls' school where she comes up against a frustrated colleague who dislikes teaching and dislikes Anne. Of course, Anne's beguilling nature wins her over. A cast of wonderful characters, I was laughing and crying most of the way through. I also love the sound track to it. Like Anne of Green Gables, this Sequel is also a Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anne of Green Gables the sequel., 8 July 2011
This review is from: Anne of Green Gables: Sequel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The film is good. It is funny in places. Particularly when Gilbert Anne's friend lands head first in the brook, and when Anne meets Emmalyne's Father and Grandmother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne, 28 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember this series on TV and was swept away by it. It swept me away again, it never fails to touch my heart, make me laugh and make me cry. i have watched it time and again. the first 2 are great but the third dvd was a disappointment. The Anne Shirley and Gil cat and mouse courtship has you aching to see them team up...but of course that would spoil the anticipation. The scenes between Anne and Matthew are some of the most heartwarming and heartbreaking i have ever seen. just wonderful....dont hesitate just buy it....TV at its very very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anne of Green Gables: Sequel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£10.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews