Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe versus the Volcano
Simply put the best feel good film of all time. My favorite film. Better than the Entire Lord of the rings, and I believe even Casablanca. Like all films some people will hate it, others like it, and still others adore it. I am one of these last set of others.
Joe is plucked from a meanlingless life, into an adventure whose final chapter must mean the end of his...
Published on 10 Mar 2004 by vaughnstewart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Two cheers
If you (like me) are one of those people who read Animal Farm and thought it was just a slightly implausible story about talking animals, you'll find this film rather childish and tedious. However, when you read the reviews (and Hand of COD's in particular, as s/he has put a lot of work into analysing the symbolism) you realise that it's actually a rather clever film, one...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by xmfclick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe versus the Volcano, 10 Mar 2004
Simply put the best feel good film of all time. My favorite film. Better than the Entire Lord of the rings, and I believe even Casablanca. Like all films some people will hate it, others like it, and still others adore it. I am one of these last set of others.
Joe is plucked from a meanlingless life, into an adventure whose final chapter must mean the end of his life. He has one month to live like he has never lived. And he does.
Who else would ever have the excuse and need to purchase luggage like that!
I believe this film is really for a select group of people who want to live the key line "My father says almost the whole world's asleep. Everybody you know, everybody you see, everybody you talk to. He says only a few people are awake. And they live in a state of constant, total amazement."
Its for people who don't need any sort of drug to feel high. For people who just need an occasional reminder on what life's priorities really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A leap of faith, 24 Aug 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joe Versus The Volcano[1990] (DVD)
Most people will recognize their work place and co-workers here. The single flower trying to survive at the beginning is impressive. There is appropriate music and three Meg Ryan's (DeDe/Angelica Graynamore/Patricia Graynamore.) The cast lineup was perfect for each part. There is not a dull moment and everything is relative to the message.

My favorite Scene is where Joe purchases luggage. I would like to find that store.

Luggage Salesman: This is our premier steamer trunk, it's all-handmade, only the finest materials. It's even watertight, tight as a drum. If I had the need, and the wherewithal, Mr. Banks, this would be my trunk of choice.

Joe Banks: I'll take four of them.

Luggage Salesman: May you live to be a thousand years old, sir.

Right after that I would pick the moon on the ocean scene; here Joe is in the vast evening ocean and a huge moon is rising on the horizon.

So get out your orange soda sit on your trunks and watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie for the whole family, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Versus The Volcano[1990] (DVD)
I had this film years ago on vhs but sadly moved onto DVDs over time so I haven't seen it for a very long time. What a great movie. This film has loads of great bits but my favourite bit is the water scene when the massive moon starts rising and fills the night sky. Plus the bit at the end with the volcano. Won't spoil it but definitely something not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good viewing, 30 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. Kenneth W. Jones (south wales u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Versus The Volcano[1990] (DVD)
i watched this film years ago, had forgotten about it, so pleased to have bought it as it is a good family view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanks Comedy Classic, 26 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Versus The Volcano[1990] (DVD)
The opening is designed to draw the viewer into the depressive, oppressive, uninspired work-a-day that the Hanks' character slogs through; its design reminds me of the film "Brazil" in its surrealist tone, and is the contrast with Act 3 of the film, on a tropical island. There's alot of subtle and not-so-subtle humor, and the 3 characters played by Meg Ryan mirror Hanks' arc through the film. A great laugh for a Saturday night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A leap of faith, 12 April 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joe versus the Volcano [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Most people will recognize their work place and co-workers here. The single flower trying to survive at the beginning is impressive. There is appropriate music and three Meg Ryan's (DeDe/Angelica Graynamore/Patricia Graynamore.) The cast lineup was perfect for each part. There is not a dull moment and everything is relative to the message.

My favorite Scene is where Joe purchases luggage. I would like to find that store.

Luggage Salesman: This is our premier steamer trunk, it's all-handmade, only the finest materials. It's even watertight, tight as a drum. If I had the need, and the wherewithal, Mr. Banks, this would be my trunk of choice.

Joe Banks: I'll take four of them.

Luggage Salesman: May you live to be a thousand years old, sir.

Right after that I would pick the moon on the ocean scene; here Joe is in the vast evening ocean and a huge moon is rising on the horizon.

So get out your orange soda sit on your trunks and watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wacky and adorable, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Versus The Volcano[1990] (DVD)
This so 'old' by modern standards but wacky and adorable and there are wonderful glimpses of Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan in their early career. She plays three parts in the film and is quite brilliantly different in each. Makes you realise what a great actress she is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joe versus the Volcano, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe versus the Volcano [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Received in Excellent condition and what a brilliant film to watch takes you out of this world and into Joes (Tom Hanks) brillaint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 21 Nov 2010
By 
C. H. Forrest (fife scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joe versus the Volcano [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Not many liked this movie but i did as i like Meg Ryan & Tom Hanks very unusual film with a fantastic version of 16 tons which you get the video as an extra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Two cheers, 18 Feb 2010
By 
xmfclick (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joe versus the Volcano [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you (like me) are one of those people who read Animal Farm and thought it was just a slightly implausible story about talking animals, you'll find this film rather childish and tedious. However, when you read the reviews (and Hand of COD's in particular, as s/he has put a lot of work into analysing the symbolism) you realise that it's actually a rather clever film, one that's meant to be inspirational. But for those of us who don't immediately try to look below the surface and seek out the deep, hidden meanings it will be a rather irritating piece of work, especially the last third, where the acting (and the sets) would not be out of place in a school play put on by 15-year-olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Joe versus the Volcano [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
3.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews