Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars48
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.16+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

There are moments, many of them in fact, on this haunting recording of Peter Gabriel's soundtrack to Scorsese's film The Last Temptation of Christ which are so moving they bring tears to the eyes.
There can be no doubt that Gabriel was inspired, all those years ago, to some of his most broodingly lovely music, most of it purely instrumental, with the voices of PG and others occasionally heard in the mix of ethnic instruments (including the duduk, tabla, arghul, and the uniquely evocative, lonesome-sounding 'ney' flute) along with synths, a variety of keyboards and the violin of Shankar.
Jon Hassell is heard to good effect on trumpet, and on the long, astonishing track Passion we hear the vocals of both the late Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Youssou N'Dour. Bill Cobham's drumming is a bonus on a couple of tracks too.
Peter Gabriel is one of the few truly eclectic British musicians, with not only a genuine feeling for the many and various musics of the world, but with a voice that harks back to his vintage Genesis days while sounding like no other - a huskily angelic voice in the wilderness, if you will.
This is by anyone's standards hauntingly beautiful music, on its own terms. Rarely has a director been so lovingly or so lavishly served by a musician. This isn't simply a score, but a sequence of varied, emotionally powerful pieces which come together to make a timelessly lovely work of art.

Overwhelming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2003
After the success of 'so' it would had been obvious that gabriel was going to go for a commercial success, but he defied everything by going for a soundtrack album. alltho soundtracks sell like anything, proper soundracks(score music) hardly sells. but with this, gabriel strikes platinum with his best contempery album. as the film was set in the holy land, Gabriel uses the instruments of that country very well, he blends it with that of synths, keyboards and drum machines. and in the moments where his voice begins to take a role, it inlightens thats of the haunting serenity. he took his voice as another instrument not a lyrical means of support. on the track 'A Different Drum' his vocals are imence, he creats a totaly differnt Genre.
This album at this price is a total Bargain, i would advise any one who is a fan of 'Chill-Out' or 'Soundtrack Music' to Buy it.
Rob
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2006
I only discoverd this album by accident in the late 90's whilst on a trip to Holland. Being a (relatively new) huge fan of Peter Gabriel's later albums (So, Us - both excellent by the way) I was intrigued by this album - thinking for some reason that it may be similar to So or US. Boy was I wrong! Instead it was quite possibly the most amazing instrumental album I had/have come across and has led me to a whole new world of instrumental/ambient music.
Every piece of music on this album is amazing, and for those budding amateur muscians out there, this album demonstrates the creativeness possible with simple layering of sounds and samples (though nothing about the making of this album was simple I'm sure)
If you enjoy this album then I also strongly recommend getting Long Walk Home - Music From Rabbit-Proof Fence (also by Peter Gabriel) which although slightly different (in a darker way) from Passion is still a brilliant instrumental album.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Some beautiful - and surprising - music from Mister Gabriel on this soundtrack for one of Martin Scorcese's weirder - and weirdly boring - movies.

There's so much to love on this, from the Eastern rhythms melded with Western melodies ( and vice versa, ) through the gorgeous and epic arrangements, to the highs and lows of the alternately aggressively full-on or melancholic movements.

Sometimes the clunk of Garbriel's Fairlight can disjoint the overall mood of the piece, but it's still an emotional mixing of ancient and contemporary that works wonders.

Best track by far is the haunting "Passion," a slowly building piece of ambience topped off with a perfect blend of Nusrat Fateh Ali Kahns gorgeous Qawwali longing and Aled Jones fog-clearing trill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I heard track, The Feeling Begins, a long time ago and found it 'haunting'. Have been trying to find it for ages.
The whole cd is great - very different.
Would recommend it to people who like slightly unusual music.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
After so long, I had expected a CD version packed with extras - digitally re-mastered with a PC interactive element, say. This overdue re-release allows those of us who bought the Vinyl double-album last time round (1989) to listen to this masterwork again without having to dig out or rent obsolete bulky hi-fi equipment. Even without extras, this is well worth the price. Logging the tracks into one's ipod library, there was scarcely one I could mark down to a 4-star - in fact, albums like this beg for a 10-point yardstick to seperate the truly brilliant from the merely very good. I found myself listening to whole tracks as I ripped them, and replaying several of them endlessly, especially the more overtly devotional sounds of the two "With This Love"s.

I think this is a work of art of historical merit - this will be listened to and appreciated for hundreds of years, if our civilisation lasts. It is rare that you can say that about pop-music, but this album changed musical history. It has to do with the intrinsic power of the source material (the Gospels) when taken seriously as something to create music about, and not just the idea of fusing world music and prog-rock long-form ambitiousness. This album inspired a new genre of epic progressive electronica and fusion music, as well as changing the landscapes of both film-scoring (e.g. the Gladiator score) and worship music and methods for modern churches.

Forget history, however. What matters is how this music makes you feel, and the emotional and (for the informed, and brave) spiritual voyage it allows you to take. Here is an insight into hope in the midst of darkness and defeat, and transformation in defiance of the mundane and meaningless. He is Risen: Alleluiah!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
Timeless piece of music. Unique and brilliant. A true master piece. I,be downloaded the album on my phone, and own the cd aswell. Highly recommended for music lovers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
I first discovered Peter Gabriel's Passion - Music for "The Last Temptation of Christ" living in the States in 1992 I think and have loved it ever since, I bought the CD again as my old CD has been taken all over the place and is looking decidedly worse for wear as it has been played so many many times! It is a wonderful sound track and just terrific as music without any visuals (wasn't that keen on the film but love love love the CD). A wonderful array of musicians creating this marvellous CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
enchanted, wonderful peace of music, very relaxing, the meaning of Christ wonderful, excellent xxxxxxxxxx lovely amen amen amen amen
x
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Absolutely beautiful and stunning soundtrack album by Peter Gabriel for the Martin Scorsese film.

Haunting, Middle Eastern influences abound on this stunning mixture of ethnic influences - you can see where his ideas for the One World Record Label came from, and he uses many of these African and Middle Eastern artists on this record.

A stunning, mind blowing five star must buy.

Very Highly Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.64
£8.50

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)