Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the original...
This film was Sylvester Stallones breakthrough and he knew it before he'd finished writing the script. Most people know the story of Rocky so I'll not go into the details too much (except to point out the deliberate mistake in another customers review- he actually loses in the end). But the DVD has some really great extras which are worth mentioning.
Sylvester...
Published on 10 Dec 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rocky goes down in the 1st!
Firstly I must confess that I'm a huge Rocky fan and have watched the films many many times, Rocky, along with Rocky 3 being my favourites. You must have been living in the deepest darkest sewers of Philadelphia if you haven't ever seen this movie, and there's not many people I know that don't love these movies. However, the transfer on this one is punching well below the...
Published 19 months ago by CharlieMbro


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My favourite movie of all time!, 4 Nov 2003
This review is from: Rocky - Special Edition [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
I was first introduced to the world of Rocky at the tender age of 9. I wasnt really intrested in boxing at the time but thought it looked good at the time. The first was very good it set the scene and the characters, unknown to me that even more was yet to come.
The second wasnt the greatest, with a rematch with Apollo Creed, but was quickly imoprved with the third.
A fantastic debut for the King of tough, MR T (why?) and this was a great piece of action.
But what did it for me throughout all the rocky films, was the 4th instalment. What a fantastic film. I was gripped by the action and the boxing of the ever growing Dolf Lungdren. This film was great and i was so excited by this movie.
but the final one let em down a bit but was still great.
I highly recommend this go and buy it you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's a knock-out, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rocky [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
this is in a series of the best film ever my personal fav is rocky 4 but this is still the second best film EVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U caint beat a good story(hehe), 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rocky films are the best I am fan of the actor and it has funny bits to make u laugh best story in ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is nothing quite like Rocky, 14 Jan 2007
By 
I. Thomson "The music, book and film fanatic" (Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I will admit this now, before i start the review. Rocky is my all-time favourite film, something you probably didn't know about me.

Rocky follows the story of Rocky Balboa, a boxer whose career takes a tough turn, subject to fighting mediorce talent and dealing with a fierce timekeeper, the owner of the gym. His days are dominated by being a lone shark for a lazy boss and mainly boxing matches at night to scrap up money. Rocky idolises the current Heavyweight Champion, who he claims "took his best shot", but when a disaster strikes with his fortcoming match with Mac Lee Green, a boxing promoter comes calling and Rocky's life changes.................

Rocky is a simple film with a low budget made under one million dollars. The most important aspect of this, is what happens to the central character, the focus and subsquent change, the chance he receives. What you've got to remember about Rocky is it came out at a time, when America was on a real downer (Vietnam and Watergate and were led by a hen-pecked president who wasn't well liked) and the aspirations of the American dream for Rocky harlicking back to a Frank Capra sentimental 30s style, winning a lot of the hearts of people. Rocky was also a lucky film at the right place and at the right time, being set in the bicentential of the existance of the USA and in the first capital, Philadephia, where English-American politician Ben Franklin revoluntionsed American politics, hence the whole American dream concept. Rocky probably might not have worked so well, if it didn't have this weight behind it.

What i loved about Rocky could be made up in the following points which are: his desire to make his voice heard; his kindness and wanting to be understood, where his intelligance lacks and the determination to prove himself worthy.

Often regarded as the born to play role, Stallone made Rocky an outcast, where teasing and patornising comments, hurt him personally as his he always considered a retard. Stallone makes Rocky feel, he can do this, but doesn't withstand any oppertunity without real guidance. You care about Rocky, because he isn't nasty, selfish or bitter, he is a geniune human being, a man who wants society to notice his kindness rather than inteligance.

Talia Shire co-stars as Adrian the shy girl who works in the Pet Shop, whom Rocky has affection for, but is bullied by the more experienced and able Gloria. Her performance shows the boost in her confidence during, especially with the encouragement by Rocky, who they draw together since they are able to fill in gaps of judgement.

The scene stealing performance however, belongs to Burgess Meredith as Mick, the fierce timekeeper who is protrayed as a fragile, broken hearted man, unfulfiled by his once miserable boxing career. His temper, often gets the better of his personality and often struggles to understand Rocky's stance.

Other performances of noteworthy include the abusive, arrogant, dependant on drink, Pauline, Adrian's brother and the role of Apollo Creed, who was not only patrotic in his finest stride, but willing to take a gamble to please his nation.

The editing of Rocky focuses on Rocky's friendship with Paulie; his apparent, gentle relationship with Adrian who encouraged him to go all the way, Rocky's training sequences, especially the touching run to Phildelphia Art Museum, a glowing moment and the long dragging fight.

The music to Rocky is enthuastic with the introduction of the thumping muted trumpet fanfare right through to the closing slender, but soft operatic of a string quartet, highlighting the feelings that we have just witnessed.

Rocky was definteley the worthwile winner of Best Picture, a true landmark in film. Rocky changed cinema altogether with a downbeat American white-collar community in the abstrait, which a man wants to escape from to succeed. Rocky is a classic and don't you "ever" forget that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocky [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
Happy with service. Happy with product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good quality and fab item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocky [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
quick service, dvds good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rocky- NOT the definitive edition, 15 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD was listed as a "Box-Set" but in fact was just the first film in the series. Still ok at the price I paid but for a little more I could have got a proper Box-Set with all the Rocky films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocky - Special Edition [DVD] [1977] (DVD)
love this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Newly Remastered Version (4K), 12 Feb 2014
By 
Lee (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just in case people are wondering, this Steelbook is the 4K Newly Remastered Version.

The cover artwork could have been better!, but I other than that I am more than happy with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocky - Special Edition [DVD] [1977]
Rocky - Special Edition [DVD] [1977] by John G. Avildsen (DVD - 2001)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews