Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the critics
Very surprised at tales of poor reviews - why? This is a great album with a really distinctive sound compared to other albums - very 'soul' in the best possible way. It seems to me a pretty distinctive departure in Young's canon, at times similar to the feel of some of the slower cuts on 'This Note's for You' - but more subtle/less stylised.
Aside from a weak vocal...
Published on 12 April 2002

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of Young's weakest albums
I suppose when you have an artist with such a multitude of albums as Neil Young does, you're obviously going to have some misfires along the way. And this is one of them.

This album is mainly composed of soft electric guitar intermingled with a distant bluesy influence. The result is a flat, lifeless sound indicative of The Drifters having a bad day at...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by Gigoer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil on Excellent form!, 10 April 2002
By 
Squonk (Runcorn, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Are You Passionate? (Audio CD)
AYP? has hit this long standing Neil Young fan right between the eyes; it's a superb album.
Reminds me of a hybrid between Neil's very first solo outing, (and arguably his most soulful record to date)? with elements from 'Sleeps with angels,' 'Freedom,' 'Broken Arrow,' and 'This notes for you.'
I am not going to single out any particular tracks here; this CD is well arranged as a whole and delights with each playing.
Tighter that a Crazy Horse album thanks to the superb musicianship of Booker T and the M.G's, and with more overdubs, while retaining very much the warts and all live feel of a typical NY+CH set. Absolutely superb.
O.K. I've got to tell you: 'Goin' home' is a killer! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Quiet Storm, 8 April 2002
This review is from: Are You Passionate? (Audio CD)
Wow, this album has had some pretty poor reviews, and I have to say I expected the worst. Let's Roll whatever the sentiment, is a pretty ropey old song - hardly Ohio revisited. If the question is 'Are You Passionate' the answer from Neil is certainly less than sure - he sounds reflective, pensive, and a little concerned about the world and family around him, but not necessarily passionate.
Despite all this he plays a blinder here, overcoming the rather maudlin and frankly dull tone of his last studio album (Silver and Gold), he returns to the muted soul of This Notes for You and does so with style and aplomb. From a man of his age we have no right to expect music so engaging and personal - long may he run from the ever awake rust...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, not passionate, 15 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Are You Passionate? (Audio CD)
I think Neil Young is great anyway, but this album is a lot better than I expected it to be, given the 'so-so' reviews it had. I had to listen to it a couple of times to really get into it but particularly like Mr Disappointment and She's A Healer.
My one criticism is that AYP lacks an emotional depth that has made Neil's past music so endearing. It's not up there with 'Harvest' or 'On the Beach', albums where Neil Young's anguished emotions seep through his music and lyrics. Instead, I get the impression that NY is struggling and having to search hard for feelings to actually write music about.
If you like 'Harvest Moon' or 'Sleeps with Angels' you will definitely like AYP. This is a good album that mellows the more you hear it. I just can't imagine anyone getting that passionate about it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing - the critics are right for once, 14 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Are You Passionate? (Audio CD)
Neil is a poor shadow of himself on this album. The singing is weaker than ever, the lyrics crass and the once-great guitar playing is absent. Give this one a miss. To sum up: this is a very disappointing album. The critics are right for once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Disappointment? - Not for Neil fans, 15 April 2002
By 
Dr Roots (North East of England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Are You Passionate? (Audio CD)
This is a much better album than some of the music press reviews would lead you to expect. Most critics seem to love the Crazy Horse thrash and/or the acoustic Neil but few are prepared to go with him when he tries a third way! This is Neil going for the soul-lounge vibe. It could've been better if Steve Cropper had been available (it's not really the MGs if it's not Steve on guitar)on second guitar (no offence to the great Pancho who is simply great in the Crazy Horse context)and it would have been interesting if Steve had witten a couple of numbers with Neil to replace the weaker tracks here. However, I'm sure most Neil fans can find a reasonable amount of material to their liking in the 66 minutes available here. My favourites are "Mr Disappointment" (clever arrangement with dual tracked vocal); "Are You Passionate?"; "When I Hold You In My Arms"; and "She's A Healer".
"Going Home" is a great Crazy Horse number from last year's tour but seems out of place in this collection. However, who knows how long it'll be before we have another album of Crazy Horse originals??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dismal., 25 Sep 2006
By 
Johnnybluetime - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Are You Passionate? (Audio CD)
I used to count myself as a hardcore Neil Young fan,but over the last 5 to 10 years I've had to reassess that.It seems the real hardcore fans have taken over the reviews on amazon as even very poor ones like this get 4 stars.They should back off and try to assess him a little more objectively,because his output has always been very variable and it does no one any favours if they just indulge in blatant a*se licking.

THIS ALBUM By any standards is actually worse than Greendale,an intermittently crap album,and Prairie Wind,which is so crap it's the last NY album I shall ever buy.I've always liked his guitar playing,but too often his lyrics are embarrassingly sophomoric and despite his now slavish following,because of albums like Living With War (Radical - confirmed Reagan supporter slags off Bush,yeah very consistent,Neil,and not at all jumping on a bandwagon.) he has shown his contempt for his audience a bit too often for my liking.If he wants to release shite like this he should do so at a reduced price and take less royalties for banging out more substandard product.NY (and his fans) should take a look at Dylan and learn a salutory lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Are You Passionate?
Are You Passionate? by Neil Young (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews