Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't mention Chill-out
I'm not going to do the obvious and put this album in the much lamented 'chill-out' box just because the songs are slower than 120bpm (not all of them are, 'Flite' is about 140bpm and is in 7/8 time!), but if you like Zero 7 then you will love this album. Gilles Peterson puts it like this "Don't say 'chill out' or 'hardcore' but think both".
The Cinematic Orchestra...
Published on 17 Aug 2004 by felicks

versus
8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated
I was one of those people who ran out to the shops back in May to buy this record with pretty high expectations generated by the general hype and nonsense spouted by GP et al.
And yes, at first, I have to admit that I was rather impressed by the level of musicianship and relative originality of this record, so much so, that I was itching to catch a glimpse of these...
Published on 21 Oct 2002 by A. Newman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't mention Chill-out, 17 Aug 2004
This review is from: Everyday (Audio CD)
I'm not going to do the obvious and put this album in the much lamented 'chill-out' box just because the songs are slower than 120bpm (not all of them are, 'Flite' is about 140bpm and is in 7/8 time!), but if you like Zero 7 then you will love this album. Gilles Peterson puts it like this "Don't say 'chill out' or 'hardcore' but think both".
The Cinematic Orchestra share a common laid-back, jazzy, left field approach to music with Zero 7, but it is there that the similarity ends. The Cinematic's are clearly more influenced by Hip-Hop, with heavy, plodding beats and scratching running alongside clarinets, organs and harps. They even get the UK Hip-Hop legend Roots Manuva to provide vocals on 'All Things to All Men'.
There is a warmth and roundness to the sound of this album that makes you feel like you are wrapped up in a blanket on a winter day. The tracks are what I would describe as epic. This isn't because they're long (though the longest track stands at over 11 minutes); it means that they are big on sound, like Zero 7's 'End Theme'. Each track builds through a complex layering of instruments that mean you are still discovering new things on the 100th listen.
This sound is very well summed up by the name of the band as is sounds very cinematic. This doesn't mean that it sounds like the soundtrack to a film, but rather that it is to mainstream music what well made cinema is to television.
As the Orchestra part of their name suggests, the sound is made up, quite heavily, from traditional instruments ranging from the double bass and harp to the clarinet and saxophone. However, alongside this are cleverly manipulated injections of electronic sound that help to fill out the sound and separate it from traditional jazz, but without feeling obtrusive.
In short, this is an album of true music that is both aurally and emotionally moving. Whether you want some relaxing background music, or the musical equivalent of a good book that you can really get into and think about every word, this is the album for you. One of my all-time favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure jazz genius, 18 Mar 2003
This review is from: Everyday (Audio CD)
Being an avid fan of Gilles Peterson's brilliant Worldwide show on Radio 1, it was back in 1999 when I first got a taster of things to come from the Cinematic Orchestra, with their debut single 'Channel 1 Suite', which was also taken from their unique debut album 'Motion'. Following the Orchestra's every move carefully from then on, I was excited when I heard that in 2002 they were to release their second LP 'Everyday'. Having not heard a single track from the album before buying it, I fell in love with it after the very first listen. It was clear to see that the Cinematic Orchestra had matured and progressed musically, and that 'Everyday' was going to be a current day jazz masterpiece! Without a single bad, or slightly out of place track on the LP, 'Everyday' just kept on sounding better and better with every play. From the opening track entitled 'All That You Give' which features legendary jazz singer Fontella Bass, to the quite simply brilliant 'All Things To All Men' with Roots Manuva on vocals, the Cinematic Orchestra have crafted a brand new form of jazz that can placed with the many others that sit proudly with that specific genre! Most of all, it is their sound!! Whether it be dinner jazz, latin jazz or acid jazz that you are a fan of, take time out to listen to 'Everday' and prepare to be amazed. Pure jazz genius!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyday isThe Best !!, 18 May 2002
This review is from: Everyday (Audio CD)
This album is really one to watch. The laid back UK Cinematic Orchestra's form of nu jazz chill out's a musical treat of sheer beauty and musical images. The sound is a crossroads of contemporary jazz, classicall and light drum and bass , with the opening track All that you give being sung majestically on this downbeat groover by the golden voice of veteran soul /gospel diva Fontella Bass. British rapper Roots Manuva joins the team on two tracks for a perfect collaboration similar to Greg Osby's sound. I didn't find a dissapointing track on the 7 and do urge you to give this a listen as away from the general electronics and studio mixing of a lot of the nu jazz , Cinematic Orchestra have real instruments being played haunting saxes and harps, almost some tracks easing into heartbreaking movie themes, but the emphasis on Everyday is over powered by the artistry of Cinematics instruments played to perfection. .A good post club after hours wind down collection.
It's suprising to see that Britain and Europe can produce some of the best jazz these days, The best is without a doubt how I will describe The Cinematic Orchestra's Everyday. You'd be a fool to let a day go by and pass this one by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's never too late to be startled, 1 Jun 2004
By 
M. A. Alcroft - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everyday (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of hearing it as background music on the late, lamented JazzFM (now the monstrosity SmoothFM, in the North at least). I was 47 at the time and thought i'd "outgrown" popular music. This album proved me wrong and I've subsequently bought every other Cinematic Orchestra album. They are all simultaneously cool and yet emotional; moody and atmospheric, but filled with light and optimism. You can concentrate on listening to them or put them on in the background: it works both ways and I don't think they'd mind.
Buy all their albums and provide them with enough money to keep doing it - they deserve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is sheer genius on a cd., 9 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Everyday (Audio CD)
This album has completely blown me away. It is a frighteningly smooth mix of chillout and hardcore beats. Who would have thought you could get Fontella Bass and Roots on the same album. Swinscoe has and it has worked an absolute treat. All Things To All Men is a briliantly original track and the drums throughout the album seem really fresh and very cool. It all works so well and yet there is no rush. There is time to relax between the tunes on this album. The last album was good but this is scarily superior and all I am left to say is bring on the next work of fusionary art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What would the BEEB do without this album?, 15 Feb 2006
By 
Steve Arnold (Newbury,, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Everyday (Audio CD)
If you've ever wondered where the BBC sound mixer gets all the laid back link music -It's this album or Zero7 'when it falls'.
Despite getting annoyed with the BBC for being less than imaginative, this recording is brilliant. It is never far from my car and chills me well on the way to work. It is always a pleasure to listen to. I am waiting patiently for the next masterclass in supreme chill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year - no question (well Jazz anyway), 10 July 2002
This review is from: Everyday (Audio CD)
Jason Swinscoe apparently got fed up with traditional instrumentation ad as a result made the impeccable but inconspicuous 'Motion' debut. History proclaims that second albums can be, by all accounts, a bitch! Not so on this assures sophomore LP. 'Every Day' takes jazz, as in the proper stuff with brass and horns (not fricking Morcheeba) and produces one of, if not THE, dance/jazz crossover albums of this year.
Those tempted to label it nu-jazz beware both Swanscoe and Giles Peterson will have something (less lazy) to say. Not as worldy as 'One Giant Leap'(thank god) nor as pompous as perhaps 'UNKLE', this old style jazz in a shiny new wrapper. Have a glass of Merlot, a smoke and chill out. Fontella Bass (on 'Evolution') and Roots Manuva (on 'All Things to all Men') make welcome vocal appearances and every track on this record soars, glistens and spellbinds.
A little like mercury prize nominees '4 Hero', 'All That You Give' is a gospel tinged wonder better than anything 'Zero Seven' could muster, Lalo Schifrin would be suitably impressed.
Rap, Jazz, Soul hybrid in a contender for album of the year shocker? Not really just broaden your horizons once in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds good with the vocals, 17 May 2002
By 
A. Shihab "ahmy" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everyday (Audio CD)
Cinematic Orchestra's "Everyday" is a journey into soul and jazz of the 'cinematic' variety. Often, the music is dark and conspiratorial. Whereas previous output by this band has verged on abstract and moody -- for those dark thriller-type films -- three tracks on this album feature the deep, soulful vocals of Fontella Bass and one track: "All Things to all Men", features rapper Roots Manuva. That leaves only three tracks without vocals. So, it is not too abstract this time, the cinematic voyages are more restrained. Necessarily, because of the human vocals, there is a slightly more tangible emotional connection. Fontella Bass's voice imparts a certain rugged majesty to things.
Mind you, she doesn't sing really. She is almost a musical instrument using her voice and the little words she utters for mood and atmosphere purposes. The framework is jazz, abstract, and voyeuristic. But less so than before. This perhaps can be a selling point. Hopefully more people will come on board the ship!
This album is certainly a Cinematic Orchestra one, you know it very soon after you start listening; fans will not be disappointed. The trademark things are here: the long build-up intros, the sweeping horns, the introspection, the long tracks. This time though there is much improved rhythm, with better drums and beat. One track in particular: "Flite", is just a great, fast, driven piece with excellent contribution from the drums, perhaps my favourite on the CD.
If there is a sound that may well be a signature tune of the Cinematic Orchestra it is the one that appears in about the third minute of "The Man with the Movie Camera". We've all heard it before on the previous "Motion" album but here it is reworked and presented again, with a lot more drums and rhythm and, therefore, arouses feeling of gusto and purpose. The track gradually becomes soundtrack for a chase of some kind, then it relents. The Cinematic Orchestra's tracks can sometimes be almost disjointed pieces stitched together seamlessly so that if you aren't paying attention you think it is all one long stream.
Overall, this album is very listenable and a better-crafted product than their previous output. It is good that they have included vocal elements into their experiences. I hope they carry on with their voyeuristic explorations: better, more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, beautiful, 'intelligent' music at its best..., 9 Aug 2002
By 
This review is from: Everyday (Audio CD)
This album is utterly sublime. Buy it, lock yourself in your bedroom, lie down, close your eyes, turn the stereo up loud and enjoy.
'Everyday' is a fusion of experimental jazz, deep, deep soul, smoky blues and subtle hip hop undertones but don't be mistaken into thinking this is a 'heard it before' attempt at nu-jazz. There is nothing to match the sound of the Cinematic Orchestra. Try to think of the most truly beautiful, provocative, awe inspiring and thought provoking music you could possibly ever hear - and you'll be somewhere close.

There are only 7 tracks on this album, but each one is so beautifully crafted and a masterpiece in its own right - particularly in my opinion, tracks 5 and 6. Definitely turn it up loud for track 5 with Roots Manuva - this track's sooooooooo good.
I think this will be the best album of 2002 that I'll buy.
If you're into Giles Peterson, DJ Shadow, 4Hero, etc, get this. If you've never heard of Cinematic Orchestra, waste no time in getting this album. This is 'intelligent' and 'beautiful' music at its best - you will NOT be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyday, it gets better, 25 July 2002
This review is from: Everyday (Audio CD)
Blimey. Well, if you are wondering whether or not you should buy this album, don't hesitate any longer! You're only missing out!
Plenty of other reviewers have heaped plaudits on this work of genius, and they are all well deserved. It is glorious. And I don't even like jazz all that much....or do I....? Hmmmm.
Stunning. Don't just sit there - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everyday
Everyday by Cinematic Orchestra (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews