Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will remain on my deck for a long time
I have just 'discovered' Abraham, and what a find! The smoky singing style reminds me a bit of Sam Brown ('Stop' and currently with Jools Holland) and, with the amazing haunting melodies and unusual lyrics, has been on, and remains on, my CD deck and shows no sign of moving.
Published on 5 Feb 2006 by R Banner

versus
9 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A BIG Disappointment
Having read the other reviews, i was expecting great things. It just goes to show that you cannot always trust the majority. I have to side with the reviewer that likened this bland album to elevator music (musak) or some such like. The two collaborators are obviously talented, yet i feel that the ridiculously pretentious lyrics and overly complicated score (if music can...
Published on 30 Oct 2005 by colmcox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will remain on my deck for a long time, 5 Feb 2006
By 
R Banner (Rubery, West Mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue For The Most (Audio CD)
I have just 'discovered' Abraham, and what a find! The smoky singing style reminds me a bit of Sam Brown ('Stop' and currently with Jools Holland) and, with the amazing haunting melodies and unusual lyrics, has been on, and remains on, my CD deck and shows no sign of moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars analsalid, 20 Sep 2005
This review is from: Blue For The Most (Audio CD)
What a refreshing album. So nice to hear something slightly jazzy/ambient, the singers voice grabs you from the first track, and all the way through gives you a sense of uplift.
Great to put on if you decide on a lazy day. Looking forward to them bringing out new material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Often Beautiful - Quirky and Cool, 22 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue For The Most (Audio CD)
This music sits somewhere between Mandalay, Sarah McLachlan and Beth Orton. Quirky arrangements, thoughtful production create a very unique sound.
Comparisons with Goldfrapp would be misleading, as this album does not have the cohesive, cinematic quality of Felt Mountain. However, the pattern of melodic female vocals over "interesting" instrumentation does exist here, and has echoes of material by Goldfrapp, Mandalay, Mono (whose only album Formica Blues must be the epitome of this style and reaches levels that few others achieve), Violet Indiana, Blue States at al.
Great listening overall, should definitely be experienced late at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of the buildings are lit up like fireworks..., 18 Dec 2002
By 
A. Knibb "alexknibb" (Bristol, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue For The Most (Audio CD)
Phew, what a corker.
It's not often you get real 'growers' these days, but this is one and no mistake. I've had it in my car now for about three months straight, and I'm not getting bored of it yet.
There are three main stand out features of this album. Firstly, and perhaps obviously, the songwriting. Each of the songs are wonderfully subtle and are lyrically equivalent to something you'd expect from Moloko if they ever calmed down. Secondly, the production is second to none. The beats and clipped samples are appropriately used and seem to fit around Rachel's voice like the packaging around my last amazon.co.uk purchase. Finally, the diva's voice herself. It's sultry, smooth and wonderfully playful in places.
This CD is closest, AURALLY, to Dido, but to compare the two would be absurd and an insult to these guys. This is a million miles further down the road and, unlike Dido's offering, will stand repeated listening well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, gentle, touching album, 1 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue For The Most (Audio CD)
This album is excellent. I don't know how to describe - it's kind of haunting, evocative and melodic. It has some brilliant lyrics which I find just conjure images brilliantly. 'Quirky' arrangements - that sounds about right, and it is 'haunting'.
I really like this album, dammit. It feels a bit middle-aged, and it certainly isn't my usual dance fare, but it's worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what happened to this ladie?, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Blue For The Most (Audio CD)
One of my best albuns... how come she disapeared? Her first album, 'on the surface' very "experimental", dark (I think they where a duo back then)never reached the excelence of this one, although it was very good. But here we find beautifull melodies expressing dark and shinning feelings without being depressive. Weel written, cmposed, and singed... come back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quite successful take on an ailing musical format, 30 Mar 2002
By 
M. Brown (Cardiff United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue For The Most (Audio CD)
This is an interesting album, if not a completely compelling one. Rachel Cuming's voice isn't quite as enchanting as her looks, but at times she does things vocally that impress and indicate a greater talent than at first seems on show. The album starts off in a kind of bland way, with Magpie. However, the album does gradually become more and more interesting. Rachel's lyrics are frequently oblique and don't entirely work, but she is saved by the ingenious musical backings by Lee Jones. For me, it's the backing tracks that provide the most compelling listening, rather than Rachel's voice. Her enunciation and phrasing are slightly irritating at times, with their south England properness, though for the majority, these things do not impinge on the tracks. The album's musical ingenuity ultimately wins over the casual listener, who is perhaps sick of trip hop and its bland latter day excesses. It's not as good as the Goldfrapp debut album, but it's better than the average stab at this kind of thing, and is an album that deserves repeated listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A strange and striking sort of music..., 14 April 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue For The Most (Audio CD)
This CD is the best I've heard for a long time. It was just so refreshing to hear something that doesn't follow the usual formulas and leaves some room for interpretation. Rachel Cuming, the singer, also wrote the lyrics - which are often elliptic, poetic, and touching. The album starts off brilliantly with the track Magpie. Don't ask me to explain what exactly it all means, but I can listen to that song over and over again. Rachel Cuming's singing is really something special, and the self-harmonies are fantastic. The musical backdrop provided by Lee Jones is impressively creative, quirky and plays off against Rachel's singing. There's no real point trying to find some better known combo to compare Abraham to. The whole charm of this CD is the individual style and the unexpected turns taken by both the music and the text. Something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great, 10 Sep 2005
This review is from: Blue For The Most (Audio CD)
This is great melodic, chilled out music. Silking smooth vocals, and intelligent lyrics. If you like that kind of stuff, then buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So relaxing, 1 Oct 2009
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue For The Most (Audio CD)
Amazon handily reminds me i ordered this in 2004; every now and then iTunes genius pops up a track from Blue for the Most and i spent the next 30 minutes listening to a refound friend in chilled out bliss. If you want to dip your fingers try City For Us or For All The Times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue For The Most
Blue For The Most by Abraham (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews