Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, very enjoyable.
Not the originals and so not the best.
However this is a tremendous selection of t.v. themes that still evokes a memory or two.
Also great for a nostalgic quiz when on a long car journey.
Great value, still enjoyable.
Published 15 days ago by S. Broadbent

versus
136 of 143 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Check before you buy
I have only given this album one star, simply because it is a cover version not the original.There can be no comprimise, only the original will do.How can anyone substitute the original spoken word in various TV themes, that particular voice from the past that lingers in your memory.Albums like this are okay I suppose for people who are too young to have those memories,...
Published on 22 Oct 2003 by K. Higgins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

136 of 143 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Check before you buy, 22 Oct 2003
By 
K. Higgins (Warrington, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Greatest TV Themes (Audio CD)
I have only given this album one star, simply because it is a cover version not the original.There can be no comprimise, only the original will do.How can anyone substitute the original spoken word in various TV themes, that particular voice from the past that lingers in your memory.Albums like this are okay I suppose for people who are too young to have those memories, but for those of us who do, it is a dissapointment.Check the small print before you buy.I will from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars why can you never get the origanals, 25 Oct 2002
By 
T. D. Rumble (U.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Greatest TV Themes (Audio CD)
this is not the album tv theme fans want.
for one thing some songs such as little house on the prarie arent any good hold no cult value and who would play in in the car.
I think theyve just thrown any old tune together
the knight rider tune is rubbish after half way threw you wouldn't recognize it.
this is a good album for the money but they left out so many more good tunes like street hawk and knight rider 2000
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


108 of 123 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its going in the bin, 23 April 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest TV Themes (Audio CD)
A complete waste of money - these are NOT the real theme tunes as heard on TV, they are covers. They are close to the originals but they are just slightly off, which makes them really really bad.

Painful to listen to, a complete let-down. Its going in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS, 1 April 2010
This review is from: 100 Greatest TV Themes (Audio CD)
I bought this album because i was presenting a soundtrack show for my student radio station. I listened to it once then it went straight in a charity bag. They were mostly all MIDI files. From what i can remember there was no mention of the sound quality on the outside of the box. I couldn't use a single song for my show. A complete waste of money. If i could rate no stars i would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 100 Greatest TV Themes, 19 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: 100 Greatest TV Themes (Audio CD)
As stated by others, these are covers and not originals.
A waste of money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, very enjoyable., 10 Nov 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest TV Themes (Audio CD)
Not the originals and so not the best.
However this is a tremendous selection of t.v. themes that still evokes a memory or two.
Also great for a nostalgic quiz when on a long car journey.
Great value, still enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not originals but mostly good quality renditions., 17 Oct 2006
This review is from: 100 Greatest TV Themes (Audio CD)
Don't be put off by the fact that these are not original recordings. They have been reproduced with no expense spared - full orchestra with good musicians doing solos pieces, many of which are almost identical to the original recordings. I play the saxophone myself so I am quite picky about what recordings I buy - I wouldn't accept one bloke with his casio keyboard trying to recreate these classics.

Having said that, it is by no means perfect. Some of the tracks are a bit weak and not convincing at all but then you are getting 100 themes (must have taken an eternity to record). One plus with these recordings is that many themes are extended versions, if you bought original recordings you would mostly be getting very short tracks indeed. Some of the extended material is good and some isn't so great. My advice is that if you are after a specific theme, check out a website that lets you hear a sample first to make sure you will not be disappointed. If you just want to add these tunes to your collection then go ahead and buy it - it's excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant, just what I wanted I am a DJ and wanted this for a Quiz Night. It worked out fine,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Greatest TV Themes, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest TV Themes (Audio CD)
This is a great CD offering a vast selection of TV theme music from 60's onwards. I love to listen to the music and try to remember the programmes or adverts that music was used for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good music, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Michael A. Brady (Gt Britian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Greatest TV Themes (Audio CD)
should remind you of some great music of some tv shows some you had forgot about and liked to be reminded of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Greatest TV Themes
100 Greatest TV Themes by Henry Mancini (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews