Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Bob James
Almost everyone will know Bob James for the theme to Taxi, some will know him as a member of Fourplay. His music spans so many styles and to have such a variety of music by this great pianist on 2 CD's is really exceptional. I find this music very relaxing and enjoyable. Bob James is a true great of jazz piano, and this superb collection is a good way to experience his...
Published on 3 Oct. 2009 by Dr. John A. Milne

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misread
Nothing like I had expected, though it was my fault for not reading the item description properly!! It was all covers of songs by the same instrumental group. I will put this one down to experience!!
Published on 8 April 2013 by Emma


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Bob James, 3 Oct. 2009
By 
Dr. John A. Milne (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Collection: 24 Smooth Jazz Classics (Audio CD)
Almost everyone will know Bob James for the theme to Taxi, some will know him as a member of Fourplay. His music spans so many styles and to have such a variety of music by this great pianist on 2 CD's is really exceptional. I find this music very relaxing and enjoyable. Bob James is a true great of jazz piano, and this superb collection is a good way to experience his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying, 25 July 2011
By 
E. Brightwell (Marlow, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection: 24 Smooth Jazz Classics (Audio CD)
I have listened to samples of the tracks on Bob James other albums, and if you like smooth jazz and synthesisers then this collection does genuinely seem to be a collection of the "best" ones, and is well worth buying as your first album of his work. It really is "smooth" and does not include his avant garde and experimental work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still good after all these years, 12 Mar. 2009
A Kid's Review
I downloaded this to relace my Bob James Records and Tapes.

The trouble with compilations is that they may not correspoond with your favourite tracks, for example no "Brighton by the Sea" from the "H" album but "Re-united" instead which is a very good substitute. The selection here is not bad, and to be honest I haven't got some of Mr. James later offerings so I don't know all of the tracks.

A good buy, certainly cheaper that buying all of the back catalogue, replacing all the records and tapes and cheaper than buying a USB supported turntable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT JAZZ, 5 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection: 24 Smooth Jazz Classics (Audio CD)
Thoroughly enjoyed double CD of The Essential Collection: 24 Smooth Jazz Classics - Bob James. Will definitely get another one of his CDs - excellent for background music and late night relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smmooth jazz, 15 July 2011
By 
L. Aridegbe "ladi" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Collection: 24 Smooth Jazz Classics (Audio CD)
If you love what is now described as 'smooth jazz', you'll love this beautiful compilation. It's more like a 'hits' album. If, like me, you love reminiscing and you had listened to some of the remastered tracks in the past, you'll enjoy this new set the more. Ssmmooooth indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yep, that's him all right..., 27 April 2014
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection: 24 Smooth Jazz Classics (Audio CD)
Wow..great album done by a phenomenon in music...the man can do anything, and has done most of it from keyboards, amazing composition (theme to Taxi for example) TV, live, Fourplay, you name it...a must have for smooth jazz freaks, which I admit to being, as witnessed by my jazz show-- [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Collection. Excellent sound quality., 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection: 24 Smooth Jazz Classics (Audio CD)
Beautiful collection of Bob James music. Excellent sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection: 24 Smooth Jazz Classics (Audio CD)
All OK - Brilliant CD - Many Thanks for prompt service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misread, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection: 24 Smooth Jazz Classics (Audio CD)
Nothing like I had expected, though it was my fault for not reading the item description properly!! It was all covers of songs by the same instrumental group. I will put this one down to experience!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Collection: 24 Smooth Jazz Classics (Audio CD)
excellent album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews