Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect introduction
I bought this album on the strength of TV/movies featuring some sort of Cuban scene featuring Cubanesque background music and a vague recollection of hearing the names Beni More and Tito Puente. It's a risk that hasn't always paid off, but Cafe Cubana was most definately an excellent buy.

I have since given it away twice and so have to keep re-buying it - a...
Published on 9 Nov. 2009 by Mr. B. Fell

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't get that Django effect.
Apart from the first track, I don't think I liked any of the rest. An absence of the cool Brazilian type stuff for me.

Buena Vista Social Club stuff by the old Cuban boys is much more like it for me.
Published 17 months ago by R Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect introduction, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. B. Fell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cuba - Cafe Cubana: Guitars Cigars and Cadillacs: the Greatest Cuban Music (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of TV/movies featuring some sort of Cuban scene featuring Cubanesque background music and a vague recollection of hearing the names Beni More and Tito Puente. It's a risk that hasn't always paid off, but Cafe Cubana was most definately an excellent buy.

I have since given it away twice and so have to keep re-buying it - a sign of a great CD. I have also bought several other Cafe ... titles on the strength of this CD; they are good, but this remains the creme de la creme.

I just wish I spoke Spanish so I could tell what they were singing about, but then maybe that's part of the fun of this CD: it reminds you of that foreign holiday, sat in the heat suppping your drink, not having a clue what people are saying but just watching the world go by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 4 July 2011
This review is from: Cuba - Cafe Cubana: Guitars Cigars and Cadillacs: the Greatest Cuban Music (Audio CD)
Having been given a Bueno Vista Social Club CD I was looking for other music in the same vain but witut spending a lot of money in case I didn't like it. Well I got all that I wanted and more as this is such great value for money and the music is brilliant. I play itin th background in my cafe where I lso play Big Band and Jazz music so the quirky style fits right in. Would recommend this CD any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holiday in Your Home, 1 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cuba - Cafe Cubana: Guitars Cigars and Cadillacs: the Greatest Cuban Music (Audio CD)
I wanted some music to relax to, something different to the many chill out albums on the market at the moment. And what better than something that reminds you of being on holiday! Lazing in a small bar by the beach, cocktail umbrellas and lime topping every drink. I love it. The smell of the air and light breeze making the candle lamps shimmer. This is exactly what this album says to me. The songs are similar all the way through, with the bongos, pianos etc, yet different in there own little way. It is a peaceful album which also contains a bit of fun and spice. Perfect for those barbeques in summer at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance or Listen to, it is a delight!, 23 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba - Cafe Cubana: Guitars Cigars and Cadillacs: the Greatest Cuban Music (Audio CD)
I have several of the "Cafe" series, and this is the one I like the best. It has some smooth sounds for background listening, plus you can salsa dance to most as well. I have never been to Cuba, but I can imagine it is an authentic sound. Some of the tracks seem like they were recorded long ago, and are now given a fresh airing. Overall the whole CD is a delight, with no filler. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cuban music at it's best, 20 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Cuba - Cafe Cubana: Guitars Cigars and Cadillacs: the Greatest Cuban Music (Audio CD)
after visiting cuba a while ago i wanted to to have some music to remind me of a great holiday this is cuban music at it's finest.. brilliant well priced love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Mother's Day, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba - Cafe Cubana: Guitars Cigars and Cadillacs: the Greatest Cuban Music (Audio CD)
Got this for my Mum for her Mother's Day gift. I've been to Cuba and love the culture, and she loves Hispanic music, so this works well as a gift. I've just had a listen and the songs are all really relaxing. I don't drink, but this album definitely made me want to indulge in a Cuba Libré (preferably in the sun....).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba - Cafe Cubana: Guitars Cigars and Cadillacs: the Greatest Cuban Music (Audio CD)
Fantastic, fun, great, love it, it's fantastic, light your soul. Al good, more please need more it's great love love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They loved this in California., 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba - Cafe Cubana: Guitars Cigars and Cadillacs: the Greatest Cuban Music (Audio CD)
This album was sent to Los Angeles for a xmas present,were they love this Latino music,they have listened to it and they really love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It will leave you dancing, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba - Cafe Cubana: Guitars Cigars and Cadillacs: the Greatest Cuban Music (Audio CD)
Great collection of classic Cuban sounds. There is variety, but the songs are well positioned to create a smooth transition from one to another. Uplifting and soothing music. A great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't get that Django effect., 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba - Cafe Cubana: Guitars Cigars and Cadillacs: the Greatest Cuban Music (Audio CD)
Apart from the first track, I don't think I liked any of the rest. An absence of the cool Brazilian type stuff for me.

Buena Vista Social Club stuff by the old Cuban boys is much more like it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews