Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous
What evocative sounds these recordings contain. To some they will summon up visions of long and lazy afternoons sitting outside a cafe in Paris, to others they will trigger fond associations with Woody Allen movies, but to all, surely, they will encourage a sense of playful delight in the brilliance of the performances. Dating from the mid to late 1930s, this CD is a...
Published 1 month ago by HelenT83

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An acquired taste
I bought this on the strength of a tune in the film 'Chocolat'. A bit more Jazzy than I expected, but it's growing on me.
Published 21 months ago by Robotech


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 21 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swing In Paris (MP3 Download)
What evocative sounds these recordings contain. To some they will summon up visions of long and lazy afternoons sitting outside a cafe in Paris, to others they will trigger fond associations with Woody Allen movies, but to all, surely, they will encourage a sense of playful delight in the brilliance of the performances. Dating from the mid to late 1930s, this CD is a treat from start to finish. The recordings themselves are, of course, a little scratchy, but somehow this only adds to the charm of the experience of listening to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Sean "Sean" (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grappelli Swing In Paris (Audio CD)
A very enjoyable album. Great guitar and violin playing. If you like Jazz guitar and violin you will like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An acquired taste, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grappelli Swing In Paris (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strength of a tune in the film 'Chocolat'. A bit more Jazzy than I expected, but it's growing on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb CD. Just Listen to the track "Moonglow"., 17 Sep 2012
By 
D. Njoku (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grappelli Swing In Paris (Audio CD)
A very good CD with some excellent renditions of course, but my favourite track; the track that has caused me to acquire a second copy of the CD is the track "Moonglow".
A most caressing rendition that embodies the essence of artistry. A brilliant example wherein musical notes are being taken and woven into the most intriguing romantic artistry. It's like using paint to create a touching masterpiece, but in this instant musical notes are the colours being used to create the image instead. So deeply touching, as though pleading; soothing and caressing. Just listen to the beautiful artistry of these wizard musicians on Moonglow, and if you know how to listen music, you'll get the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... with others - any slight cracking adds to the enjoyment - can't keep still when this is playing, 16 Dec 2014
By 
Liza "Liza" (Midshires of England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grappelli Swing In Paris (Audio CD)
I agree with others - any slight cracking adds to the enjoyment - can't keep still when this is playing, much to my daughter's embarrassment. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grappelli Swing In Paris (Audio CD)
Nice to hear these old recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grappelli Swing In Paris (Audio CD)
A great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grappelli Swing In Paris
Django Reinhardt & Stephane Grappelli Swing In Paris by Django Reinhardt (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews